Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      I love this recipe, made it three times so far. They do rise nicely actually (I've posted a pic), and I do feel for every poster who got flat or sunken tops. Whoever braves baking deserves stellar results, for baking is not for the faint of heart.

      Here's what I think:
      I don't know how essential the eggs' temperature is (frankly, I never take the time to pre-warm the eggs; by the time they're mixed with the fat and sugar or beaten fluffy they're not going to be that cold anyway). But:

      A. When the recipe says in steps 6, 7 and 9 "With the mixer on low speed", "Beat just until smooth" etc, etc., keep in mind that muffin batter needs to be mixed very, very little, so the dry ingredients are just moist. To me that means no mixer for mixing, but a wooden spoon, and "mixing" means lifting up and down with the spoon through the batter about 5 times, not more (5 turns for the dry ingredients, 5 for the yoghurt, etc) until the batter is barely mixed. Beat it more than that, and the wheat gluten will do something funny (resulting in dense muffins), the air from the beaten egg whites (that's supposed to make the muffins fluffy) will go wasted, etc.

      B. Try mixing the baking powder with lemon juice before adding it to the batter. It will foam a lot, and that's exactly what it's supposed to do.

      As one of my friends says, baking is a completely different beast compared to regular cooking. It's a bunch of chemical reactions, so you need to be careful with the amounts, the mixing, and temperatures. Nothing like that in soup or steak. :-) Here's to great, fluffy muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      The reason they were flat is probably due to the eggs being cold (straight from the fridge). When baking, eggs should be used at room temperature. You can either take them out 20-30 minutes before use, or put them in a bowl of warm water while you are doing your prep work.
      I made them and they turned out very well, tasty too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      I didn't have any trouble with this recipe not rising but I made some alterations to the recipe based on other muffin recipes I've cooked. Firstly, I did not separate the eggs and go to the trouble of mixing the whites and what not because I've never had to bother with such nonsense before to get fluffy muffins. I just mixed the eggs, whole, when the recipe says to add just yolks. 2)I increased the amount of lemon juice to 3 tablespoons instead of the 2 that the recipe calls for. This is just because I like extra lemon flavor but find adding too much zest just makes things bitter. In the end the muffins were light, fluffy and delicious. Love that these aren't overly sweet. I've written this recipe down for future use.... With my little changes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Great tasting muffin (I substituted 1/2 t. pure lemon extract for the lemon zest). My muffins also did not rise as much as I had hoped, however I had left over batter and I poured it into a small bread pan and it rose and looked just beautiful! I also used muffin liners, because I made these for my students as an end of the quarter treat- however you are better off just greasing the pan rather than using muffin liners.<br/><br/>I think that a stand mixer vs. a hand held mixer makes a difference in beating in the yolks and creating the peaks for the egg whites. I will try again- not as pretty as I like- but they are very flavorful! My baking power does expire this month so maybe this is another thing to look at (baking powder and baking soda freshness)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      These fell. I added 1/2 tsp lemon extract to help with flavor as I didn't have fresh lemons. Way to sweet. These tasted like cake and gave you a hairy tongue from the sugar like they were cake as well. I also cut the amount of poppy seeds by half as it would have been too much. No one here liked them tat much, but they did eat them they all said too sweet for a muffin, and texture was too cake like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      I added a T of water because the batter seemed a hair dry (maybe it wasn't, but it just seemed that way). Next time, I would instead add a T of lemon juice, just to make it a bit more lemony (I didn't use zest, since it is hard/expensive to find organic lemons in my area). Other than that, it was fantabulous. I used the cheapest, most "sticky" muffin tin imaginable, and they still slid out, no problem. They rose beautifully. The texture was light, it had the right ratio of poppy seeds, it wasn't too sweet, everything was wonderful. I really enjoyed making these as well, but then, I really enjoy baking. I will definitely be making them again. (but not before I have a drug test--hahaha)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      This recipe turned out perfect, definitely a keeper. Very light and soft, just the right amount of everything and flavourful. I made my own buttermilk (Emeril L. Recipe). Try it, you won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Wonderful muffins! I did the plain yogurt option and they were very moist. The only changes I made to the recipe were to substitute 1/2 tsp lemon extract for half of the vanilla extract and put in less sugar (about 1/2 cup). They were just the right amount of sweetness for us. They had nice lemon flavor but as a lemon lover, I want more..... so I will put more lemon zest in next time and use only lemon extract. I did let the eggs come to room temperature and my muffins rose nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      These have good real lemony flavour and they are nice and moist. I really wanted to love these but they just didnt quite meet my expectations. They didnt rise like I expected and I would have preferred a more yellow muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Fantastic. I made these in a pinch when I didn't have a box of lemon poppy seed muffin mix around. I used muffin tin liners & regular milk since I didn't have yogurt or butter milk on hand. I was not able to get my whites to soft peaks & I was running out of time to try, so they went into the mix rather foamy & that was all. They came out perfectly domed. I softened the butter a bit in the micro, but didn't melt. I separated the eggs early on, so they did warm a bit before they went into the mixture. I agree that there was very little mixing that happened toward the end of recipe prep & it was by hand. I don't bake cakes or muffins from scratch, but this was easy, if not a little time consuming. Will do again... everyone loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      My Father-in-law loves lemon poppyseed muffins and I only bake from scratch so I looked around and discovered this recipe. It was perfect. It's more time consuming than most muffin recipes but the resulting muffins are worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Wow, I love this. Dare I say this is better then my grandma's?! I followed the recipe exactly, I used the yogurt option, and they turned out amazing. I do think this should be called cupcakes not muffins! I also made a icing with yogurt, icing sugar, lemon zest, and lemon juice, to top them with. They where so good! Thank you. MAKE THEM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This recipe was absolutely amazing! I had no problem getting "muffin tops". I used plain yogurt and mixed by hand. My whole family thought they were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      I switched the flour to rice flour, used lemon yogurt instead of plain, left out the zest, added 1/2 cup of milk and a tsp of xanthan gum, and voila! Yummy gluten free lemon poppy seed muffins. :) Thanks for a great, easily converted recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      i made these this morning and was so happy with them. They rose beautifully and smelled delicious. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      These tasted good, but the recipe was fussy and the muffins turned out flat. I don't think I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      I've made these a couple times now. The flavor is good, but not quite as lemony as we'd like. I think I might try some lemon greek yogurt instead of the buttermilk next time. They are a little dry and crumbly, but that is due to the butter. I think I rather have the butter flavor than the moistness of oil in these muffins. I have some trouble with them sticking in my non-stick pans (even with spray). A nice muffin though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Excellent muffins! The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that I mixed them up using the regular muffin method, and they came out just fine--fluffy and flavorful. I used cast iron muffin pans and they didn't stick at all--just loosened the tops a bit and they flipped right out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I used a min-muffin tin, and the muffins were stuck to the pan. I used non-stick spray liberally, so I'm not sure exactly what happened. They taste very good though. I'd recommend using muffin tin liners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe. I had recently made Lemon Curd(#61278) and this time when making the muffins I poured 1/2 the batter into paper lined muffins tins, spooned 1 tsp. of Lemon Curd in centre and topped with remaining batter. Although my muffins weren't peaked but flat (probably due to curd)NOBODY complained. I'm thinking of trying them with oranges rather than lemons next time.( FYI - I don't always have plain yogurt or buttermilk so I have substituted sour cream and they still turned out.) Thanks for a great recipe KC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.8
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    37%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 54.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 248.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites