Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon-Poppy Seed Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon-Poppy Seed Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2013

      I also thought the batter was too thin but they turned out awesome. They were a little on the small side for what I think of "cupcakes"- the batter filled each muffin slot to about 1/2 way (a little more then 2 TBSP each). When cooked they didn't even rise up to the top of the muffin tin... so they are kind of a cross between a mini-muffin and a normal muffin which I actually found perfect for little hands! I didn't find these absurdly sweet either, which is a problem I find with most cupcakes. Delicious! Even my super picky boy gobbled these up! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      nice lemon flavor. batter was thin when i put it in turned out fine mr picky liked it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      Lemon, poppy seed and low fat - how could I not give these a try! Happy I did as they are very good. The glaze is wonderful - have a copy close at hand in my recipe drawer for times when I am wanting a lemon glaze - looks and tastes great and that's a good combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Well based on the fact that in less than 20 minutes out of the oven 11 muffins were gobbled up by four teens and a hubby I'd say these are a definite HIT! I didn't even have time to grab a photo - they were gone! This recipe made 11 cupcakes for me. I did not have time for the glaze as they were eaten as is. The kids did not realize they had lemon in them so I'd suggest to anyone not using the glaze to add some fresh lemon juice or an extract to bulk up that flavor. They are very light in texture and just perfect. Thanks for providing an afternoon snack for my family while I intended to have them as dessert with a glaze! Made for Went to the Market Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Very moist and yummy! Made for the February 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap. I didn't have cupcake liners and hate to clean out the pans. So.... I used a bread pan instead - to make a loaf. I followed all ingredients exactly as written except for the eggs. I have a really hard time using one part of the egg and not the other so I just added 2 eggs. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      You can say these are real good - brought them to my in-laws and between the 4 of us... ate 10 out of 12 - they are quite small...! ;) - Loved the taste, and the fact that they are low in fat helps too! The glaze is wonderful (I did add a bit more lemon juice). Thanks Lauralie! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      These were delicious, although I skipped the glaze. I also did not use the paper liners, and got the nice crunchy texture. I only got six cupcakes, though, and I used the 2-inch size (I usually use a bigger size). I guess I filled them to full, but they turned out great. Can't say the same for photo, so will make again and try to get a better photo! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      These are lovely little cupcakes that satisfy that occasional need for a sweet treat. I did a little playing to make these come out to 2 points per serving. Replaced the butter with light butter because that's all I keep during the year; also replaced the buttermilk with a mix of 2 parts non-fat yogurt and 1 part skim milk. Both these substitutions lowered the calories and fat. In baking these, I used a little cooking spray on the muffin cups and skipped the liners. My personal preference as lower fat cupcakes and muffins tend to stick to the liner, but also I find that they do well with the extra crisping that comes with dirrect contact with the metal (much needed in low-fat baking). The cupcakes were moist and tender and had those nice little air pockets that one likes to see in a baked good. The flavor was really nice and not at all sugary (only used half the glaze so if you added it all you might feel differently). My one critique, and it is small, is the size of the cupcakes. They are really quite small, with the batter not reaching the half way mark on my muffin tins. Even with that I only had enough batter for 11 cupcakes. Since half were destined for friends I made them a more standard size and made mine small -- giving me just 6 regular (not jumbo) cupcakes and 3 smaller ones portioned according to the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon-Poppy Seed Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (553 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    29%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 197.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites