11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good but wish it had more of a sweet lemon favor. Next time I will try adding lemon extract and coating buttered loaf pan with sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biscuits03 June 05, 2009

This was good, but the vanilla and cinnamon seemed to overpower the bread; I will try it again for sure but leave out the vanilla and cinnamon. I took Chef SEvans recommendation and added some lemon zest and lemon juice. I made mine into muffins, cooking them for 25 minutes at 360; I think it would be much better as bread. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 27, 2009

I only used 1 pkg. of pudding and added a little fresh lemon juice and lemon zest. Very moist and tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SEvans February 24, 2009

This loaf was delicious and very easy to make. I added the juice and zest of one fresh lemon. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pcarriere February 11, 2009

Wow is this bread good. I used 3/4 cup oil and cut out the applesauce. Very moist. I barely got it out of the oven and a whole loaf was gone. I made three small loaves in the aluminum loaf pans and they came out great. My younger son who doesn't even care for lemon stuff had two pieces this morning for breakfast. YUM. God bless.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemonurse93 September 18, 2008

For the moment, at least, i have a container of starter residing in my frig, so this recipe is made-to-order, beside which, I like the taste of lemon AND poppy seed together! This was very easy to put together & the combo of the cinnamon, poppy seed & lemon was great! AND, I did add one thing ~ about 1/4 teaspoon of finely minced lemon zest, 'cause I REALLY, REALLY love the taste of lemon! Thanks for sharing your recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my adopted orphan chefs at the end of the current PAC]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 22, 2008

Love it ! I enjoyed this with my tea, and was in lemon/poppyseed heaven !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macera44 February 22, 2010

This bread was perfect! It made 2 nice moist loaves that are perfect for breakfast. My brother, who insists on putting butter or cream cheese on everything ate the bread as is, which is saying something. Even though I don't eat lemon poppy seed stuff, I made this for the family, and I loved it as much as they did! Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Druid Queen July 17, 2009

This is excellent bread. I only used 1 pkg. of pudding and added a little lemon zest. Very moist and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpope7802 February 01, 2009

LOVE, LOVE LOVE IT! Of all the Amish Friendship Bread recipes I've tried in the past 3 months this one is by far the best! I took it to a church meeting & they passed up a gourmet apple pie from the local bakery & devoured the bread....everyone raved about it! I might try another reviewers recommendation of 1/4 tsp lemon zest next time....Many Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldigal January 15, 2009
Lemon Poppy Seed Amish Friendship Bread