26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Husband and I LOVED this recipe !!! It was so easy to make and turned out beautifully. I used lemon cake mix instead of white for an even lemonier flavor. It is delicious ! Thank you for such a great recipe !!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl July 18, 2011

This is delicious! I used about 2/3 of the can of lemon pie filling in the cake.My only complaint is that the lemon sunk to the bottom. Next time I will try to swirl it in and see how that comes out. I didn't have canned frosting so I took the remaining 1/3 can of filling, mixed it with about 4 oz. of softened cream cheese and 3 Tbsp. of powdered sugar, and folded in 12 oz. cool whip. This made for a yummy topping. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annchiaro August 22, 2012

I followed the directions, except when it came to the pudding. As another reviewer suggested, I put the pudding in a plastic bag and piped it on top of the batter in the pan. I also did not use the entire amount. The cake came out perfectly. It was moist and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of Five May 02, 2010

This cake was fabulous. It was so soft and creamy. It just melts in your mouth. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 09, 2012

Wow this is a 10 star cake. It turned out great! Ate it just as it cooled. Anxious to try once it is cold. Creamy, gooey and just a nice light flavor of lemon. I will definately make this again probably many times. Thank you for such a wonderful dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolynn D's August 07, 2010

This recipe almost got a 2 star...it looked terrible and sank in the middle for I don't know why...however the taste was great! I used a small box of instant lemon pudding with the cool whip as suggested by another reviewer and that was a good choice. I tried to swirl the pudding/filling around as suggested but it seemed to cave in the cake only in the middle?! Still would make it again though...maybe use a different brand of pudding?...thanks for posting...made it for Easter Sunday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 April 13, 2009

Although everyone liked the taste of the cake, my filling sank to the bottom. I mixed a small box of instant lemon pudding with 12 oz cool whip for the icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cle428 January 30, 2009

This was a good recipe for something different. The only change I made was to frost with chocolate frosting to be reminiscant of chocolate lemon pie which DH loves. The only thing, tho, is that my lemon didn't sit in the middle, it sort of went to the bottom. I used my small cookie dropper to drop the lemon in, maybe it was just too big a drop. Will try it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 March 07, 2008

Delicious! I've made this twice...once as recipe directed, and again as cupcakes. Worked out perfect, to everyones delight.Ahh!Another success! made additional cupcakes, using a lemon cake mix, and #80246 - Clear Lemon Jelly filling...to replace the canned lemon pudding and pie filling. Made a powered sugar icing with a "dab" of lemon extract, and the suggested cool whip, and it was delightful! Highly reccomend, and Thanks again, Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mares C. February 07, 2008

This is great!! A very nice treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MOM-2 January 18, 2008
Lemon Pillow Cake