Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Pillow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Pillow Cake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2012

      This is delicious! I used about 2/3 of the can of lemon pie filling in the cake.My only complaint is that the lemon sunk to the bottom. Next time I will try to swirl it in and see how that comes out. I didn't have canned frosting so I took the remaining 1/3 can of filling, mixed it with about 4 oz. of softened cream cheese and 3 Tbsp. of powdered sugar, and folded in 12 oz. cool whip. This made for a yummy topping. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      My Husband and I LOVED this recipe !!! It was so easy to make and turned out beautifully. I used lemon cake mix instead of white for an even lemonier flavor. It is delicious ! Thank you for such a great recipe !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      This cake was fabulous. It was so soft and creamy. It just melts in your mouth. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      Wow this is a 10 star cake. It turned out great! Ate it just as it cooled. Anxious to try once it is cold. Creamy, gooey and just a nice light flavor of lemon. I will definately make this again probably many times. Thank you for such a wonderful dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I followed the directions, except when it came to the pudding. As another reviewer suggested, I put the pudding in a plastic bag and piped it on top of the batter in the pan. I also did not use the entire amount. The cake came out perfectly. It was moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This recipe almost got a 2 star...it looked terrible and sank in the middle for I don't know why...however the taste was great! I used a small box of instant lemon pudding with the cool whip as suggested by another reviewer and that was a good choice. I tried to swirl the pudding/filling around as suggested but it seemed to cave in the cake only in the middle?! Still would make it again though...maybe use a different brand of pudding?...thanks for posting...made it for Easter Sunday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Although everyone liked the taste of the cake, my filling sank to the bottom. I mixed a small box of instant lemon pudding with 12 oz cool whip for the icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was a good recipe for something different. The only change I made was to frost with chocolate frosting to be reminiscant of chocolate lemon pie which DH loves. The only thing, tho, is that my lemon didn't sit in the middle, it sort of went to the bottom. I used my small cookie dropper to drop the lemon in, maybe it was just too big a drop. Will try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Delicious! I've made this twice...once as recipe directed, and again as cupcakes. Worked out perfect, to everyones delight.Ahh!Another success! made additional cupcakes, using a lemon cake mix, and #80246 - Clear Lemon Jelly filling...to replace the canned lemon pudding and pie filling. Made a powered sugar icing with a "dab" of lemon extract, and the suggested cool whip, and it was delightful! Highly reccomend, and Thanks again, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This is great!! A very nice treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I have made this twice and have been meaning to rate it. For a cake that is this simple… there is no denying how delicious it is. I used yellow cake mix (all I had on hand) and everyone quite enjoyed it, even my dad- and he hates everything! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I have made this cake numerous times already and it is ALWAYS a crowd pleaser. I've had nothing but positive feedback from friends and co-workers. I even had someone tell me that this was one of the best cakes he's ever had but I think my favorite compliment was when someone told me that this is the best thing that they have ever put in their mouth! LOL :) It truly doesn't get any better than that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I made this using lemon curd. The lemon pillows did not happen. The lemon curd was absorbed into the cake, some of it settling to the bottom. Absolutely delicious failure. Rich and lemony with whipped cream instead of icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Definitely 5 stars! I've made two of these so far. One my family ate without even any icing. The second I took to work tonight for a co-worker's birthday. They all asked when was I bringing another one! I think I'm going to try chocolate cake with coconut cream filling next time. ***The chocolate & coconut cream variation is fantastic too!***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      How wonderful! I had a can of key lime pie filling so I used that rather than lemon & added grated lime zest to the icing. Moist, tart cake & I love the icing idea. Thanks for posting this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      I made this cake today and it was very good. I did change the frosting though due to too much sugar in the canned frosting. I took the cool whip and mixed in one box of lemon sugar free pudding mix and then frosted the cake. It turned out really good, I'm sure your frosting would have tasted wonderful but I can't have that much sugar and I felt the cake was enough for me. Thank- you I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I made this for easter, and wow! It was a hit!!! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I added about 1 tbsp. Of lemon juice to the cake mix. Will definitely make it again. A winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      Easy, simple and tastes wonderful! I made this and took to the office. They were digging into it at 8:05am and all were asking for the recipe by 8:10 (even the guys). The frosting is absolutely wonderful. This goes directly into my favorites cook book. Thanks Marie for such an easy and great tasting cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      My family enjoyed this cake! I couldn't find lemon frosting in a can (perhaps not available in Ontario Canada?), so I used buttercream with a few drops of lemon extract which was still nice. With regard to the review from vfranc2, I didn't place 'blobs' of lemon pie filling on the top of the batter, I swirled it in the cake mix (like you are making a marble cake mix when you swirl the chocolate batter with the vanilla) so there wasn't blobs throughout, but streaks of lemon in the cake. I also added a package of dry vanilla pudding mix to the batter to make it even more moist, which worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      I made this for DD who doesn't like choclate! The cake was good but I loved the frosting! Everyone raved about the frosting. Thank you for posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Pillow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.5
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    47%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 307.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 28.1 g
    112%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pie filling

    lemon frosting

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes