15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic oatmeal muffin recipe. I doubled the recipe and used a whole lemon (juice zest) and the lemon taste is perfect. As I didn't have poppyseeds on hand, I omitted those and added frozen blueberries. I would definately make these again as they're perfect for a healthy breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconut_chip April 12, 2011

These are a good hearty breakfast muffin, which is what I was looking for. I used soy milk and soy butter because of DS allergies, and it worked. I added 1 1/2 T of lemon juice and 1 T of lemon extract, but I think next time I will go to 2 T of juice and 1 1/2 T of extract because I want the lemony goodness. =) I might put the oats into the processor briefly and sub with applesauce next time. And yes, There will be a next time. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiersten Phae March 26, 2011

These were really good with a few tweaks. Used half white whole wheat and half white flour. Subbed applesauce for the oil, doubled the lemon juice & zest, and skipped the topping. This got 2 thumbs up from the kids and I really enjoyed them too. I'll be freezing them for the morning rush hour in my kitchen. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 28, 2010

The texture is nice but the lemon flavor is definitely lacking. I even doubled the lemon juice to 2T based on other reviews. Not likely I would use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH June 24, 2010

These are definitely a denser muffin with the addition of the oats, so expect your batter to be much thicker than your regular muffin. Like other reviews, I added more lemon juice but the muffin itself still didn't taste really lemony (and that's how I like it in these kinds of recipes). Instead of using the topping here, I made a glaze of about 1/2 cup icing sugar and lemon juice (enough to achieve a thick but liquidy consistency), and drizzled this over the muffins after they cooled a bit. This really upped the lemon taste and made it more like a mini lemon poppy seed cake. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat! Eat! You're skin and bones! April 03, 2009

WOW, these were GREAT muffins! I sub'd the oil for applesauce and doub'd the lemon zest and juice and of corse added flaxseed (thats just what I do =) And they were wonderful! I made a doz mini muffins and froze them for the kids bento lunches! The whole family enjoyed them! Im sure I will make them again next Sunday! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
American mom in Japan March 29, 2009

There are yummy. I used applesauce in place of the oil and it came out fine. They weren't lemony enough for me, so next time I'll add more lemon zest. But generally very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agent_attardo April 02, 2008

Made these for breakfast. I had no lemon zest, so I subbed for 1/2 tsp + 1/8 tsp lemon extract. I'll up it to 3/4 tsp next time for more lemony pucker. Also, I did not make the streusel. Used egg whites and skim milk. I love these soo much more than run of the mill lemon poppy seed muffins - these have much more bulk to them, while still being tender. Mine did get slightly crunchy after 18 minutes in the oven, just requires watching closely as they're approaching that time. GREAT muffins, though. Thanks for giving me another reason to look foward to my morning cup(s) of coffee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen February 09, 2008

Fantastic! I have a weakness for lemon poppy muffins, and I loved these. I soaked the oats in the milk for about 10 minutes, then added the rest of the wet ingredients, then incorporated that mixture into the dry ingredients. My husband didn't even realize there were oats in the recipe until I told him! Best of all, my two year-old loves them too. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 January 31, 2008

These were pretty good. I'll use more lemon next time. I definantly like lemon muffins to be much more lemony. Used applesauce for oil and Splenda for sugar. They baked up great though, only complaint is the lack of lemon. I'll be making more of these next weekend to freeze for quick breakfasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Sarah December 02, 2007
Lemon Oatmeal Poppy Seed Muffins