17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful light muffin, and it is very forgiving. When I made it I made two mistakes, one involving the melted butter and cold milk, the other was reading the temperature incorrectly. It didn't matter, I adjusted the temperature after cooking for 10 minutes, cooked it a little longer and it turned out fine. I will try this again with limes and also with oranges.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Folk Dancer January 22, 2003

Very good muffin. The lemon flavor was just enough and not too overpowering which I liked. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used all purpose and added 3 tsp. baking powder and just under 1 tsp. of salt. And for those of you who are unsure, 75 mg of butter is 5 TBSP. and I baked at 350 Farenheit for 20 minutes. Will make this again!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubleA's Mom January 18, 2009

Great muffins, I have found one that I actually like and that is not to sweet. Must admit I only used 1/2 cup sugar in the recipe. A very easy and quickly put together recipe as well. I added some cinamon to the lemon and sugar that was poured over the muffins. Will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latchy September 03, 2005

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #52* This was quick, easy, and VERY tasty ! Baked at 350* as listed by another reviewer, and baked almost 20 minutes -- I spooned the lemon/sugar on immediately, then tilted the muffins in the cups before removing to a rack. None stuck, Thanks for posting, Jen. I plan to experiment next week using oil for butter, egg whites, and maybe orange juice fo milk -- to conform to a diet requirement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney May 12, 2011

These were really good. I took a reviewer's suggestion and made them with our limes. I even added an extra couple of tablespoons of juice to really punch up the flavor. I liked that they weren't too sweet, but some people might want to add a little more sugar to them. I did get 12 muffins from this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 07, 2011

These are the muffins that I make when unexpected visitors arrive at tea/coffee time... they are quick, easy and tasty. I also like the fact that they are always impressed with the (so easy) lemon/sugar glaze!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zachana March 21, 2010

These were ok, but nothing spectacular. They didn't rise, so I would recommend filling high. Made 3 doz. mini-muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria June 05, 2009

Started to make this but in the end, did not use the topping. I used all the zest and juice of the lemon in the batter and used oil instead of butter. (no use of the last 1/4 cup sugar) I had all purpose flour so added 2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp soda with 1/4 tsp salt. I put 2 pecan halves on the tops. Baked 15 minutes. Not too bad. Easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gail.lalumiere May 05, 2009

Nice muffin and easy to make. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hanniganfamily January 31, 2009

Wasn't sure where to put the zest, as there was no mention of it in the directions. I added it to the butter/milk/egg mix. Very yummy muffins though. Only yielded 8 muffins, but I think my muffin tins must be bigger than average. Took about 20 min to cook. A very quick, easy, and yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate #2 June 12, 2008
Lemon Muffins