Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Layer Cake With Lemon Curd and Mascarpone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Layer Cake With Lemon Curd and Mascarpone

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2008

      This cake is delicious and impressive! I had a bit of a time cutting the layers because the cake was so spongey, the knife I used to score the edge wanted to push through it rather than cut through it. I made the curd on day 1 (and then trasnferred the required 2 cups to my 2 cup measure), the cake on day 2 and then assembled on day 3 (presentation day!). The only changes I made were using 1 x 475gm tub of mascarpone plus 1 x 250gm block of regular cream cheese (our mascarpone in Canada comes in tubs, not 8oz containers) and instead of piping, which I find tedious, I decorated the cake with strawberries from my garden. I covered the entire top with whole berries, tips pointing up, and then I cut the biggest berries in half lengthwise and stood them up around the base of the cake. Also, there's a typing error for the syrup. It should read brush 1/4 cup on each layer, not 1/2 cup. To do this accurately, I poured the cooled syrup (which was exactly one cup) into my 1 cup measure so I knew when to stop brushing (when the liquid got to the 1/4 mark). Needless to say, with this cake, I continue my reign as dessert maker extraodinaire! Thanks for posting this one, spatchcock! M&Mers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Not sure what I did wrong but trying to assemble this was just a sloppy disgusting mess. Layers sliding and lemon curd oozing out. I'm trying to put the whole thing in the fridge to see if I can rescue it from looking like a 4 year old made it. Edit: I managed to rescue this by scraping, chilling, shifting etc etc. In the end it was delicious but very messy. The frosting ended up extra liquidy since I scraped it and a bunch of oozing lemon curd out. Maybe next time I will make sure everything is very well chilled and chill the whole thing until solid/hard between adding layers?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      My son made this & it was easier than it looked & it tasted amazing! Not too sweet or sour. It got rave reviews. We did use jarred lemon curd due to time restraints, but I am sure it yielded the same end results. Definitely a go-to recipe for all lemon cake lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is a wonderful cake, with a beautiful presentation. I really, really enjoyed the icing...I could eat it by itself as a dip for vanilla wafers..mmm. Next time I would pair the ingredients with a denser cake (personal preference); maybe almond flavored and use less lemon curd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Very good. The only difference is that I bought lemon curd, everything else I followed the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I didn't make this myself but enjoyed the cake at my friend's birthday party - gorgeous, gorgeous cake! The sweetness is beautifully balanced by the lemon and the mascarpone cheese; I'm definitely adding this recipe to my collection! Much thanks to spatchcock for sharing the recipe and to my friend Ms H. for making it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Oh......my.......GOD! This cake is so good. It is totally worht the effort. I made it for a baby shower and it got the whole party enthralled! MAKE THIS CAKE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was an outstanding recipe that everyone who ate it loved. One thing to watch for; don't overbake the cake, 11-12 minutes would have been fine in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      I have had this exact recipe for several years. It is one of my mom's favorite birthday treats. I usually make a raspberry sauce to serve with it. It's delicious, and looks almost too pretty to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      I just finished making the lemon curd in your recipe. I have a glut of lemons. (I'm in California). The recipe was easy, I added some lemon zest just because I have it. I also used a revereware double boiler that I got at a yard sale for a dollar. Works fine. Yum Bubbasmom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Layer Cake With Lemon Curd and Mascarpone

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.9
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    40%
    Total Fat 23.5 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 275.5 mg
    91%
    Sodium 167.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 53.0 g
    212%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mascarpone cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes