Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Layer Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Layer Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2003

      I thought this was a wonderful cake. We made it for my step-dad's birthday. It was very moist and the flavor was great. I would really recommend this recipe for anyone. I think the problem Anita had was she maybe baked it too long. I kept a close watch on mine while it was baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      Although this cake had a good lemon flavorI was disappointed in this recipe. I found it to be time-consuming and the results weren't what I thought they would be. I followed the exact directions but the frosting was too thick (so had to add more lemon juice to make it spreadable) and the cake itself was too "dry".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Moist cake. The frosting was a little too "lemony" for my taste. Next time I would switch off some milk for the lemon juice to balance out the flavor more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      This recipe is overleavened. I am a professional baker and suspected it had too much baking powder but followed the directions anyway. The cake fell in the middle as I feared. I can't comment on taste as I made it for a customer's birthday cake. I filled it with pastry cream and covered in fresh whipped cream. I'm sure it tastes fine -- will have to ask customer for feedback.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Really good, I made mine with lemon curd filling and cream cheese icing. The texture was a little too crumbly though. Great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is an excellent lemon cake. It has a nice crumb and is very moist with a good lemon flavor. The recipe was very easy, fast, and turned out perfectly. This is definitely a recipe I'll make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This was a very easy cake to make. I loved the cake and frosting. The person who felt the recipe was difficult should stick with cake mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This cake was wonderful, the cake itself has just a perfect hint of lemon and the icing itself is absolutely wonderful, it has a stronger lemon taste, but not overpowering it is wonderful, and the cake itself is beautiful! I had no problem with sagging it turned out beautiful! I think it is imperative to let it cool exactly as instructed! Thank you for such a wonderful lemon recipe. This is the single best lemon recipe I have ever made! I will make this time and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This review is for the frosting as I wanted to use up a boxed lemon cake mix. The frosting turned out wonderfully! We love buttercream frosting and this had great flavor. I only had 1/8 cup of lemon juice so I added 1/8 cup orange juice which tamed the lemony tang very well while delivering a nice citrus flavor. Also added a little yellow food coloring. I think this could easily be converted to Orange Layer Cake. Next time I promise to try the cake recipe too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      This is a large, impressive cake with a nice texture and taste. I would have liked it to be a bit finer-grained and stronger tasting (more zest would help). Also, it sagged a bit in the middle despite being fully cooked. However, I'd still recommend it because it is pretty good and there are so few lemon cakes out there this simple that use everyday ingredients and no boxed mixes or lemon gelatin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      OMG...This cake was fantastic!! My family loves anything lemon and they gave this cake two huge thumbs up. I will be definitely making this cake again, it is a keeper. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. Congrats Fauve on your football pool win!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      An excellent cake. Five stars for flavour. I did slightly over bake it, forgetting that I had a fan oven. Next time I will remember to drop the temp. by 10 degrees. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      It's rather odd that Anita found this cake to be lacking. This is the moistest cake that I've ever made "from scratch" (Important here to remember that most from-scratch cakes are usually a little dryer than store-bought cake mixes --alas, technology!) But the reward of this cake is its far-from-store-bought exceptional flavor. As for the comments on icing? I can't explain....In my case, the icing usually winds up a bit thin for my satisfaction, and I find myself adding just a bit more confectioner's sugar. I do stand by this recipe, and I hope that others who are looking for a great-flavored lemon cake with luscious icing will not be deterred by the bad rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Layer Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2037 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6961.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2335
    33%
    Total Fat 259.4 g
    399%
    Saturated Fat 158.0 g
    790%
    Cholesterol 1210.7 mg
    403%
    Sodium 5024.9 mg
    209%
    Total Carbohydrate 1116.0 g
    372%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 797.3 g
    3189%
    Protein 70.4 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes