10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this chicken a couple of nights ago, and was disappointed at how dry it was. I cooked it on High for 6 hours. Maybe I will try a shorter cooking time when I try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Bakery Mouse February 20, 2011

This was just okay. Taking the advice of some of the other reviews, I put the onions inside of the chicken and tossed the squeezed lemon in the pot too. Then I cooked the chicken on low for 10 hours. DH liked it, but I thought it had a bit of a funny flavor (maybe from the lemon peel?)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra January 24, 2008

I've made this recipe for years, and I've always used more lemon and seasonings then called for in the recipe. I also agree with adding some lemon slices to the inside cavity along with the onion. I've gotten nothing but rave reviews over this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debala August 19, 2007

This didn't work out all that great for me. I used a 4 lb Perdue oven roaster, stuffed the cavity with lemon slices and onion, used 2 juices of lemon along with lemon zest and the rest of the ingredients as the recipe calls for. The flavor of lemon was faintly there...I cooked my chicken on LOW for 7 hours and on HIGH for 1 hour...the outside of the chicken was not near crisp yet the inside was on the dry side??? I'm sorry this didn't turn out and I wish I could've given it more stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 12, 2007

This was easy and good. Did cook quicker than anticipated - in about 7 hours (falling apart done!) on low. Wonderful light flavor, and good texture. Will make often -- keeps the kitchen cool during hot weather, and the aroma is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook August 28, 2006

This was so easy to get ready for the crockpot! I put everything in the crockpot, let it sit in the fridge overnight, then turned it on before work. I let it cook on low for 10 hours and it was falling apart when we took it out for dinner. I used the juice of 2 lemons and 1/2 tsp. of salt, thyme and paprika, instead of the suggested 1/4 tsp. It had a nice flavor, but next time I think I'll add some zest to the butter and put the lemon slices inside the chicken as someone else suggested. I didn't taste much lemon, but it was still a great tasting chicken. Thanks for sharing! I served it with corn on the cob, scalloped potatoes and biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 May 02, 2006

I put this on to cook this morning and after 4 hours on high my chicken was falling off the bones. It was so tender and juicy. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea November 12, 2005

I made this for dinner tonight for us and our friends that are staying with us. Everybody loved it and the best part was it took me 10 minutes to put together this morning. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smashmac November 09, 2005

This had a nice flavor. I think though that next time I will either add some lemon zest to the butter or I'll add some lemon slices inside. Looked very pretty though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl August 24, 2005

I had defrosted a 4 lb chicken, but a few days went by and I didn't get around to roasting it, so last night I decided to use this recipe for the crock pot. I let it cook on low all night and this morning it was done. I let it cool for awhile and then I took all the meat off the bones. I used some of the chicken for sandwiches for lunch today. The chicken was so moist and tasty. I have alot of chicken left over which I'll be using in other recipes. I am using the broth, which has a nice touch of lemon flavor, and the cavity to make some chicken stock. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat February 15, 2005
Lemon Herbed Roasted Chicken (Crock Pot)