Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Herb Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Herb Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2003

      This was my first time trying quinoa, and I liked it! This recipe turned out well for me. I used cooking spray instead of all that oil. Tasted good, no strong flavours. Thanks for introducing me to this great new grain!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      We will be making quinoa much more often now that we have this recipe, because it's truly delicious. I was kind of concerned at using water instead of broth thinking that the grain might be too bland, but the herbs and lemon were just strong enough to create a pleasing taste with plenty of flavor. The lemon isn't overpowering either, but just perfect. I have a bit left over and I think I'll try making a salad with it in the morning. I'm passing this recipe on to quite a few family members who I hope will become quinoa converts too. Thanks so much Mirj for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Made this several weeks ago and failed to review it. It was delicious made as per the recipe. Toasting the grain prior to coking really makes all the difference. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      This was great! I replaced one cup of water with broth and it turned out very well. Everyone loved the lemony grains of the quinoa and there were definitely no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      replaced lemon with orange. Was quick, healthy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I love quinoa and I love it even more when it has lemon. For some reason, I found the amount of marjoram and thyme to be a bit overwhelming. I kept picking up a bitter flavor. This recipe is simple and healthy though, so I will tweak the spices and be making this again soon. Oh, my 2yo loved it and kept claiming it was rice and asked for more two or three times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      This was OK at most. I love quinoa. Especially red quinoa which I used. I used extra virgin olive oil or canola oil to be soy free, dried marjoram, no dried thyme, sea salt to taste, freshly ground black pepper to taste, plus the rest of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      I made 1/2 the recipe, used chicken broth instead of water, and put shrimp on top ...served with slice tomatoes for a full meal. I really enjoyed it. My only complaint was rinsing such tiny pods...the holes in my calendar were too big and so i used paper towels to keep the quinona in...and then alas, those tiny things stuck to the wet paper towel. Once i got beyond the logical issues--nice meal for me, a first time eater of quinoa. My husband--wasnt a fan. I was however and so I'll definitely be making more for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      Tasty and easy way to use this healthy grain. I served it cold and it was even better the next day on a salad with some balsamic dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Lots of substitutions for our first Quinoa..but used this as a base. We used a large iron skillet instead of a deep pan, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, chicken broth instead of water, extra lemon juice...and fresh cilantro instead of parsley. Thanks for the outline...we improvised and will make the quinoa that's been sitting in our pantry again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Wonderful! This recipe gets rave reviews everywhere I have taken it - my 16 month old even loves it! We have tried it a few different ways, and each one has turned out well. I have followed the recipe as stated, and served both hot and cold. The flavor seems to come out more when chilled, and builds on the second (or third, or fourth...) day. I have also tried doubling all of the spices/flavorings, and this is our favorite way to eat the salad. I also up the lemon content. Typically, I substitute the 'zest' (I use a rasp) from two lemons, along with the juice from both lemons for a single batch, doubling all other spices. We like a lot of flavor in our house, however, the recipe is superb with any of the variations we have used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      This was tasty but my first experience with quinoa - interesting texture. Kids couldn't' get past the appearance. I should have used Pam instead of all that oil. I only had cilantro or dried parsley. I used the dried parsley. I think I'll get some fresh and chop and add to the cold quinoa for salad tomorrow. Kind of like tabbouleh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      big thumbs up! i thought the rosemary was going to be too overpowering, but it came out so nicely. this made a perfect side for our bbq'd meatless chicken breasts. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I am kinda on the fence with this one. I cut the recipe in half as it was just my DH and myself. I have had quinoa before in salads, but this was the first time I have had it warmed. It is definately an acquired taste. Thanks for the posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This is a fantastic recipe! Light in flavour so it could be combined with a variety of meats or tofu. I only rinsed my Quinoa twice because I was feeling lazy and it was still great. Thanks for a very tast, extremely easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Very good, easy to make and wonderful side dish to most things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

    • on November 19, 2009

      My weight watchers leader is obsessed with quinoa, and because I am making a slow transition to a meatless diet I needed something with lots of protein. This is delicious! I eliminated the oil and just sprayed my pan with my olive oil mister, and I had vegetable stock that I needed to use up so I replaced the water with that, other than that followed exactly! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      We found this surprisingly tasty - our first experience with quinoa really put us off, and we only tried this to use up the rest of the package! I'm so glad we did. I would gladly make this again - even my husband enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This was our first time trying quinoa and we really liked it. I think I probably could have rinsed it a little better - it seems that some bites were a little bitter. I was out of thyme and used fresh rosemayr. I also accidentally put the lemon juice in before simmering for 15 min. I am now anxious to try some other recipes, as even my teenage daughter liked it (but she generally likes this sort of thing). Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Herb Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.0
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    33%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 295.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites