41 Reviews

We will be making quinoa much more often now that we have this recipe, because it's truly delicious. I was kind of concerned at using water instead of broth thinking that the grain might be too bland, but the herbs and lemon were just strong enough to create a pleasing taste with plenty of flavor. The lemon isn't overpowering either, but just perfect. I have a bit left over and I think I'll try making a salad with it in the morning. I'm passing this recipe on to quite a few family members who I hope will become quinoa converts too. Thanks so much Mirj for sharing this recipe with us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema July 01, 2003

This was my first time trying quinoa, and I liked it! This recipe turned out well for me. I used cooking spray instead of all that oil. Tasted good, no strong flavours. Thanks for introducing me to this great new grain!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner July 13, 2003

Made this several weeks ago and failed to review it. It was delicious made as per the recipe. Toasting the grain prior to coking really makes all the difference. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 31, 2013

This is my new favorite way to eat quinoa. I have made it twice now. I serve it with a broccoli stir-fry on top. Delicious and filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin February 05, 2015

My family was torn on this dish. We liked the flavors, just not sure we like quinoa. I'm glad we tried it, we will try again to see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 09, 2014

This was great! I replaced one cup of water with broth and it turned out very well. Everyone loved the lemony grains of the quinoa and there were definitely no leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimocracy March 16, 2013

replaced lemon with orange. Was quick, healthy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel January 02, 2013

I love quinoa and I love it even more when it has lemon. For some reason, I found the amount of marjoram and thyme to be a bit overwhelming. I kept picking up a bitter flavor. This recipe is simple and healthy though, so I will tweak the spices and be making this again soon. Oh, my 2yo loved it and kept claiming it was rice and asked for more two or three times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 11, 2012

This was OK at most. I love quinoa. Especially red quinoa which I used. I used extra virgin olive oil or canola oil to be soy free, dried marjoram, no dried thyme, sea salt to taste, freshly ground black pepper to taste, plus the rest of the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 07, 2012

I made 1/2 the recipe, used chicken broth instead of water, and put shrimp on top ...served with slice tomatoes for a full meal. I really enjoyed it. My only complaint was rinsing such tiny pods...the holes in my calendar were too big and so i used paper towels to keep the quinona in...and then alas, those tiny things stuck to the wet paper towel. Once i got beyond the logical issues--nice meal for me, a first time eater of quinoa. My husband--wasnt a fan. I was however and so I'll definitely be making more for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dallas Chef W/Out Time July 23, 2012
Lemon Herb Quinoa