8 Reviews

Lightly sweetened carrots is one of DH's favorite dishes. This was super quick since the carrots were microwaved. The butter, brown sugar and lemon peel was added to the cooked carrots and allowed to stand until melted. Everything was transferred to a saucepan and cooked just until lightly glazed. I did reduce the brown sugar by half but that is my personal preference. Made for *PAC Spring 2009*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 26, 2009

I love carrots, but am sure I don't eat enough of them :) This recipe may just be the solution. I prepared this recipe as directed, boiling baby carrots. It only took about 10-12 minutes to boil them. I just love the fresh sunshine flavor the lemon zest adds to the carrots. I may even add a bit more next time. This is so easy and definitely a keeper, Thanks Axe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail November 14, 2011

We loved this dish. I just discovered my steamer, and these were wonderful to start with. Loved the contrast of sugar to lemon.( I used fresh zest) Went great with your Gala Meatloaf (Crock Pot). Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 30, 2009

We really appreciated the taste of these glazed carrots ~ A great way to dress up this underrated veggie! I did use a bit more zest than indicated, but then I like the stuff! And, I'll be keeping this recipe around! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my adopted chefs at the tail end of the current Pick A Chef]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 01, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I used regular carrots, since that's what I had, chopped up and steamed them first and then tossed them in a pan with the butter mixture till the sugar dissolved and the carrots were nicely coated. I also added in a squeeze of lemon juice. LOVED it! I served it alongwith Sydney Mike's Canadian Firefighter's Meatloaf. Thank you, Axe, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum July 14, 2008

I made this for the kids one night when DH and I were out and they loved it. The only negative is that the servings are very optimistic. I sliced up a full lb of carrots (the amount of glaze in the recipe stretched just fine), and my 3 kids complained that there hadn't been enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs October 09, 2007

Axe, Where has THIS recipe BEEN all my life????? I always have far far prefered my carrots raw and this recipe is endangering that preference :) Carrots, plain boiled were up there top-of-the-list next to caluiflower in the how boring can it get ? table.. UNTIL NOW ! I took the other reviwers advice and upped the lemon zest, probably closer to 2 teaspoons and since I had no space on the stove top I microwaved the sugar mixture (covered) in 30 second blasts until 1.5 minutes, stirring each 30 seconds.... 45 minutes seems way too long to boil carrots too (maybe THATS what my mother did to put me off them??? LOL) and found that 12 minutes fast boil was perfect for me... drained, and then mixed well with the nuked sugar/butter/lemon it was soooo hard not to nibble them before the photos were taken. If you hate carrots I dare you to try these ! Please see my rating system, I rate recipes harder than most but praise given where praise is due, these are WONDERFUL ! Thanks for the carrot conversion :) edited to add: I had quite a lot of the sugar mixture in the bottom of my dish, so if you would like this to be slightly healthier and a bit less sweet you could add more carrots without increasing the sauce and it would be just fine. Please do not decease the lemon zest thought, it really makes this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch September 25, 2006

Yum! This is a very tasty, speedy side dish. I steamed the carrots for only 15 minutes (they'd be too mushy for my taste if I'd steamed them longer); otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter. Next time I make these, I'll probably add some more lemon zest, but this recipe is great as written, too (I just really love lemon). Thanks for posting, Axe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie September 09, 2006
Lemon Glazed Carrots