12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

hey, just made these. i had a terrible time with the frosting. it was way too runny, i used about 5 cups of powdered sugar, still pretty thin, but i used it to frost them. they're in the freezer now, trying to firm up. looking forward to tasting them, i love lemon! i will eliminate the milk in the frosting next time..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valburke May 09, 2011

and, when i did make these as cupcakes a few different times, they were TOO DIE FOR!!! i & my fam (none of whom are vegan) are HUGE lemon fans & these were INCREDIBLE!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saranac2000 September 22, 2010

I made these for a big family on Easter yesterday and they were a huge hit. They were all shocked they were vegan and so very light. The cake turned out perfect, light and mild in lemon flavor. The icing was a no go the first time as it separated and went clumpy when I followed the directions to the letter. I remade the icing by mixing the sugar with just a little milk, adding vanilla and more margarine. I figured the lemon was causing the separation so I omitted that. The result was a regular vanilla buttercream atop a delicious lemon cake. Will definitely make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgen S. April 21, 2014

These are absolutely amazing!! I think I'm addicted, and this is my new favourite cupcake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GirlWithCats April 25, 2013

These are awesome! I used regular milk and butter (from a cow) and they flattened out when cooled. This did not take away from anything. I added a few tablespoons of milk to the frosting and whipped it for several minutes. The result is a great lemony cupcake. Will be making these again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joseph January 21, 2013

These are incredible. If you love lemon, these are the BEST. Do not take the reviews on the glaze being runny too seriously. Just dust with powdered sugar, do not pass these by. Awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cezarava July 12, 2012

I loved the flavour of the cake and my daughter and I had fun making them, but I did have some of the same issues that other people had. My cakes stuck badly to the paper and the icing is insanely runny. I would advise not to even waste you time with the icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elise_the_vegan December 11, 2011

These really didn't turn out all that good for me. I made mini cupcakes and they stuck so bad to the liners that you barely got any cupcake at all. I added 5 T sugar total to the batter because it wasn't sweet enough and was too tart. The icing was WAY too runny! I added more powdered sugar but it was still too runny to work. They're edible but not the best vegan baked good I've tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
differentdaisy May 12, 2010

Wonderful! I own this book but somehow overlooked this cupcake recipe. I had to make them 2 days ahead of time because I was going out of town. They were still moist and delicious on the day we ate them. A few people asked me what was in them (because they knew there were no eggs...but didn't realize they were vegan). They were impressed that obviously you don't have to ues dairy to produce delicious treats like these. Thanks Kozmic - I love lemon, these don't disappoint and they're easy to make. Made for Veg*n Swap Apr10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner April 05, 2010

Thank you for a delicious lemon cupcake. It is very light and delicate and not to sweet. I used soymilk instead of rice milk, and a bit of lemon extract to enhance the flavor. These cupcakes will certainly be a treat with a cup of afternoon tea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fielder3 April 14, 2009
Lemon Gem Cupcakes