Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Gem Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Gem Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2011

      hey, just made these. i had a terrible time with the frosting. it was way too runny, i used about 5 cups of powdered sugar, still pretty thin, but i used it to frost them. they're in the freezer now, trying to firm up. looking forward to tasting them, i love lemon! i will eliminate the milk in the frosting next time..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      and, when i did make these as cupcakes a few different times, they were TOO DIE FOR!!! i & my fam (none of whom are vegan) are HUGE lemon fans & these were INCREDIBLE!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      I made these for a big family on Easter yesterday and they were a huge hit. They were all shocked they were vegan and so very light. The cake turned out perfect, light and mild in lemon flavor. The icing was a no go the first time as it separated and went clumpy when I followed the directions to the letter. I remade the icing by mixing the sugar with just a little milk, adding vanilla and more margarine. I figured the lemon was causing the separation so I omitted that. The result was a regular vanilla buttercream atop a delicious lemon cake. Will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      These are absolutely amazing!! I think I'm addicted, and this is my new favourite cupcake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      These are awesome! I used regular milk and butter (from a cow) and they flattened out when cooled. This did not take away from anything. I added a few tablespoons of milk to the frosting and whipped it for several minutes. The result is a great lemony cupcake. Will be making these again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      These are incredible. If you love lemon, these are the BEST. Do not take the reviews on the glaze being runny too seriously. Just dust with powdered sugar, do not pass these by. Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I loved the flavour of the cake and my daughter and I had fun making them, but I did have some of the same issues that other people had. My cakes stuck badly to the paper and the icing is insanely runny. I would advise not to even waste you time with the icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      These really didn't turn out all that good for me. I made mini cupcakes and they stuck so bad to the liners that you barely got any cupcake at all. I added 5 T sugar total to the batter because it wasn't sweet enough and was too tart. The icing was WAY too runny! I added more powdered sugar but it was still too runny to work. They're edible but not the best vegan baked good I've tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Wonderful! I own this book but somehow overlooked this cupcake recipe. I had to make them 2 days ahead of time because I was going out of town. They were still moist and delicious on the day we ate them. A few people asked me what was in them (because they knew there were no eggs...but didn't realize they were vegan). They were impressed that obviously you don't have to ues dairy to produce delicious treats like these. Thanks Kozmic - I love lemon, these don't disappoint and they're easy to make. Made for Veg*n Swap Apr10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Thank you for a delicious lemon cupcake. It is very light and delicate and not to sweet. I used soymilk instead of rice milk, and a bit of lemon extract to enhance the flavor. These cupcakes will certainly be a treat with a cup of afternoon tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      These will be some of the best things you ever put in your mouth- especially if you are a fan of lemony cakes. They are just divine, while at the same time, still light. I took these to work once and all of my milk and cream loving co-workers just swooned over them. You don't have to be vegan to love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Did use soya milk instead of the rice milk & was also generous with the lemon zest (having included some in the frosting, as well), since I do like the taste of lemon! These cupcakes are just as indicated, GEMS, in every sense of the word! Thanks for a tasty, healthy keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed for a teammate in my vegan group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Gem Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (788 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.3
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    19%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 145.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 33.2 g
    133%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice milk

    vegan margarine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites