46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my! This was terrific! I halved the butter, lemon and olive oil, kept the garlic as written. It was just superb! Using the full amount of fats would have been too oily for my taste and more than 2 T of lemon juice would have been too overpowering. This is definitely going to the top of my favorite spinach recipes. Thank you sooo much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 26, 2004

Hello,
Even though this recipe was posted 8 years ago, it is timeless. I did not have baby spinach and the spinach I had, contained a lot of dirt. So even though I wasted it several times, I was reluctant to use it without cooking. So I sauteed the spinach leaves slightly and then added the liquid ingredients (butter, lemon, garlic, olive oil). It was perfect and I am sure next time, I will try using young, baby spinach and not cooking it.
Skipper/Sy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skipper/Sy May 18, 2012

I appreciate this recipe because the spinach doesn't have to be cooked. The lemon was a bit much for me and I thought it took away from the garlic flavor, so next time I will use 1/2 of the lemon juice. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Petunia* February 20, 2004

Delicious! I love spinach, and my husband normally prefers creamed spinach. I made it this way tonight and even he thought it was great. I, like another reviewer, sauteed the spinach to wilt it a little before serving and it was perfect. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN June 22, 2010

Niki, this spinach is so fresh and flavorful! The lemon and garlic flavors are great with the spinach, and I liked the fact that the spinach wasn't cooked and all wilted, but it was still warm from mixing it with the warm 'sauce.' I did have to adjust the oil and butter to my tastes. I knew I'd end up eating a ton of this (almost the whole pot!) so I used only 2 heaping wooden spoon-fuls of coconut oil instead. It turned out very nicely, and the coconut oil gave it a bit of a tropical flavor. I hope you don't mind! Thanks for such a great recipe. I think this will be my new favorite spinach:^)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi February 19, 2004

My family loves spinach and I thought, "lemon, garlic and butter how could this be bad". Sooo glad I did, its delicious. We loved it and wished I had made more. thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lblackgoat May 02, 2013

Delicious. I used half the lemon and let the spinach wilt over low heat. Will definitely make this again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp September 13, 2011

This was a great way to eat our spinach. I cut the lemon, butter and olive oil in half since I didn't have a 24 oz. bag of spinach. Delicious! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag Game 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 01, 2011

This is delicious! It was very lemony, just the way I like it. I did saute the spinach for a minute, to get it a little bit wilted. This is so easy and good that it will be made often here. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ April 04, 2010
Lemon & Garlic Spinach