12 Reviews

One of my favorite sides! Simply delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! April 06, 2011

This was wonderful, my family ate the whole thing without leftovers, thanks so much, it's one of my favourites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nygalcooking May 04, 2010

I rarely give one of your recipes a less than stellar rating, Kitten, so it's a sad moment for me to say that this just didn't do it for us. I don't know if I had a particularly bitter lemon but it completely overpowered this dish, although we love lemon in general. It also had kind of an odd aftertaste that kept either of us from finishing our servings. I may tweak this and try again, because I really like the idea, but this one just wasn't for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lena* February 15, 2009

This was wonderful! Even though I made a mistake and forgot to put the chicken bouillon powder in, but it was still great. I added some chopped parsley for color, and used the optional chili flakes, which really gave the dish a nice bite without being too spicy. I'm sure I'll make this many times in the future, as it's easy enough for a weeknight, but classy enough for company. Thanks, Kitten, for another wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH February 10, 2009

I served this as a side to grilled scallops. Just fantastic. I prepared the sauce a few hours in advance and stored it in the orzo serving bowl. When the orzo was cooked and drained, I tossed it with the sauce and added the cheese and a few turns of pepper. Off to the table! Fewer last minute concerns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosmogirl2020 June 07, 2013

Loved this! Threw in some diced broccoli and served it as the main dish for a light lunch. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel June 06, 2010

I made a lot of changes (my printer is broken so I did the recipe by memory and my memory isn't very good!!!). It turned out great. I made the sauce in the pan with some cooked chicken and I used three lemons (I don't know how much juice that is). I used half the amount of pasta and margarine, and also used one cup of the pasta water to help increase the amount of sauce. There ended up be extra sauce. So I think it deserves five stars because even with the changes that I made the idea was still close to the original recipe and it was very tasty. Thanks for another great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flygirl #5 September 08, 2009

Very easy to prepare. A nice side dish for steak or chicken. I think it had just the right amount of lemon flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 23, 2009

wow. As a confirmed lemon lover this just hit the spot. Was out of good parmesan so used aged romano instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba December 19, 2008

This was a really tasty side dish! I loved the flavor of the lemon and parmesan. I increased the garlic by quite a bit but made the rest exactly as stated. I had a bit of a "sticky" issue with the consistency but I won't take away from the recipe for that because I think it was something I did wrong with the actual cooking of the plain orzo. Nonetheless, we really enjoyed this one and will make it again. I made this one in memory of John.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl December 17, 2008
Lemon-Garlic Parmesan Orzo