17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was incredibly easy and really delicious. I think I've made it through at least half of all of Recipezaar marinades and this is easily one of my favorites. I used four cloves of garlic, 1-2 teaspoons of cumin, and marinaded 1 1/2 lbs of chicken breast, then grilled it an hour later. The hour was just right and everything came out juicy and delicious. I will definitely make this again :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm cookin', good lookin! June 23, 2009

My peoples loved this. About all those great reviews. I wish somone would talk about me like that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 19, 2010

Very simple and quick to prepare. My substitutions (everyone subs something!) were I used about 4 1/2 tablespoons of lime juice (vs lemon), 8 large cloves of garlic and used fresh basil. Grilled it after about 2 hours of marinating. It was very citrusy, garlicky and fresh tasting. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murrayandstacey May 14, 2013

This was tasteless for me.. I used the listed ingredients and marinated for about 8 hours, then grilled in a grill pan. My chicken was pretty thick so it did take some time to cook. Any idea why I couldn't taste garlic nor lemon after cooking?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippocampus April 22, 2013

This was a good basic marinade. I think it would be great if I was using the chicken on a salad. I marinated it for 2.5 hours and thought it was about right. The garlic was quite prominent but I liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC February 12, 2012

Totally love this recipe and it's easy for someone with kitchen phobia like me. My husband even turned leftover marinade in the baggie into sauce - just melt some butter in saucepan, add the marinade, some sugar, black pepper and salt to taste. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elvawenn January 03, 2012

I didn't like this, and followed the recipe down to a "T". All I could taste was the sour lemon and nothing to round it out or give it character. It needs an overhaul, IMHO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Tortellini October 18, 2011

Very lemony! I used a package of tenders from Costco (How much is in those? Pound and a half? Not sure...), and doubled the recipe. My garlic cloves were pretty small, so I used about 5 or 6, and I just ground some pepper into the marinade without measuring, but I'm sure it was more than 1/4 t. Threw in some dried parsley instead of fresh, and also added dried chives. Although this is super lemony, the fiance and I both liked it enough to add to the recipe box. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 December 22, 2010

Good chicken very simple and very tasty, marinated overnight.Thamks for the recipe Jill

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy November 25, 2009

Perfect! Very simple, very tasty! I omitted the parsley as a personal preference, marinated overnight and grilled outdoors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb August 29, 2009
Lemon Garlic Marinade for Chicken