Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Fusilli With Arugula Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Fusilli With Arugula Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2011

      Made this tonight because of an abundance of arugula (on clearance at the grocery store as it was about out of date) SOOO YUMMY!!! I did add 2 avacado's and about 1lb of grilled chicken to it to make it a little more of a 'full' meal for our family. This makes a very large meal! The sauce is so flavorful while at the same time not being too rich or thick. I used a little less than what it called for of cream since I didn't have quite what I needed but it was wonderful. Will definately add this to the make again and potluck cookbooks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Delicious. Easy. Family favorite - just toss in whatever veggies need to be eaten. I was surprised the cream didn't curdle - we practically licked our bowls clean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      Saw Ina making this on her tv show! Great meatless dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I wanted to like this, I really did. It was just way too acidic. 3 lemons was just way too much. I couldn't even finish my serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      We really liked this. Even though it has quite a bit of cream, it somehow still tastes light. I too added some chicken that I sauteed with garlic, basil and oregano. What a great one pot meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      This recipe by far is over the top! My husband raved about it all through the meal. The lemon is a perfect pairing with the arugula and broccoli. I was looking for a recipe using arugula as our garden is brimming over with it right now. My husband loves watching The Barefoot Contessa because he says her recipes are the best and found this one on her site. A big thumbs up on this one people!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Oh my goodness - this was great!! I never really thought about lemon and cream in the same sauce - delicious! I made a few minor changes, but of very little consequence. I used a 14.5 oz box of whole wheat penne, diced fresh tomatoes instead of cherry or grape tomatoes, and I kind of forgot about the zest until it was time to add it and only had 1 lemon left to grate into the sauce (the same one I sliced and used at the end). Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I knew this was going to be tasty by the ingredients, but this is one of those recipes that surprise you with how much flavor you get for so few ingredients. I sauteed some chicken tenderloins I needed to use and then sauteed the garlic in the same oil, scraping up the little bits of chicken. I used half and half instead of the heavy cream to try to lower a little of the fat and calories. When I first added it to the pan, it almost curdled a bit but I just kept stirring quickly and it wound up working and tasting great...I may even push my luck and try whole milk next time. I also used spinach rather than arugula because I already had some in the fridge. As I'm writing this, I realized I also forgot the cheese! We didn't miss it at the time-BF, DD and and I all loved it and it was unanimously voted into the make-again files. In retrospect, I do think the cheese would balance the brightness of the lemon and tomato flavors and would be a great addition...but it's good to know if I need to cut the calories and fat even more, I can leave it out. This makes a beautiful dish that would be suitable for company but easy enough for a weeknight family meal. One note about the servings...we are pretty good eaters and this was easily 8 portions for us. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Wow, so good! I made half the recipe and excluded the lemon zest. It was perfect! Thank you so much for posting. Ina's recipe also had 1 bunch of broccoli florets cooked crisp tender which I included. I will definitley make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Excellent and very easy recipe! This is one of the first recipes on zaar that I've made exactly as written (I usually add my own ingredients) and it was totally perfect and didn't need a thing. Don't forget to add the lemon slices at the end because they really do add additional flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I had fresh baby arugula and lemons I needed to use up and was in search of a new recipe when I found this. Outstanding! I didn't have any cherry tomatoes on hand so used diced fresh tomato. I used whole wheat corkscrew pasta. Served alongside Chicken Piccata #8648. My husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This is great! This is a really tangy, lemony pasta and it just highlights the flavor of the arugula so well! It makes a ton so I am freezing some of it to see how that turns out. Another great one from Ina!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I've made this before. Perfect comfort food! I would rate it beyond 5 stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This is a delicious recipe and I'm already dreaming up new ways to use that sauce and the technique of cooking a flavor down in a cream base - tarragon is next perhaps? BTW, Ina used steamed and shocked broccoli florets in this recipe when she made it on tv and I think that they are needed - a little more texture and crunch and green in that yummy sauce! Highly recommended and very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      AMAZING!!! So delicious! We're in LOVE with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This was amazing and easy! I used fresh roma tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      This was delicious, thanks for posting cookiedog. I substituted organic diced tomatoes for the cherry tomatoes, that was my only change. I will make this again. It was so easy and I love arugula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Fusilli With Arugula Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 960.5
     
    Calories from Fat 480
    50%
    Total Fat 53.3 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 30.4 g
    152%
    Cholesterol 174.0 mg
    58%
    Sodium 263.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.6 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes