9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So delicious!!! I've been looking for a recipe to make the dill rice from my favorite Middle Eastern restaurant at home. This is perfect - and perhaps even more fragrant! The "parching" of the rice with the sauteed onion (a new technique to me) added so much flavor. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added chicken bouillon (used 2 tsp of Better Than Bouillon brand which I prefer over the cubes) in place of the salt. The recipe didn't specify what kind of onion so I used minced shallots and it was delicious. Dill is a really subtle herb and blends with lots of flavors so you can pretty much serve this with anything. I served it with salmon in a maple/soy/garlic sauce and it was a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madelinekh April 10, 2014

Very good. Nice accompaniment to kebabs or grilled chicken breast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe Rick August 04, 2013

This recipe is a keeper! Only thing I do different is sub 2 chicken boullion cubes for the salt and pepper. It gives it an extra dash of flavor. This goes great with almost any meat and my family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonmom2 May 05, 2012

I made this for dinner along with Lemon Butter Tilapia#147551 and a green salad...DELICIOUS! I did cut the recipe in half and used chicken broth for the water. Going into my Favorites of 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf August 21, 2011

Very tasty! "Parching" the rice was new to me and I'm not sure if I did it right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max's Grandma May 25, 2010

This is an amazing dish. The lemon and dill compliment each other. I put this dish with a maple glazed salmon. Bon Apetite! You will love this dish! Kudos to the creator

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comet8817 October 26, 2007

This makes a nice rice side dish. It has a lovely tart flavor from the lemon & dill. I served it with a sesame coated baked tilapia and a slaw. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for PAC Fall '07.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D October 14, 2007

Rice is always welcome at my table. It is one of DH's favorite sides and I love to find new and different ways to prepare it. I took the advise of the previous reviewer and cooked the rice in chicken broth. It is nicely seasoned and went very well with fish. Made for *PAC September 2007*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 26, 2007

The next time I make this, I'll use canned chicken broth in place of the water. This was good, but it did seem to be missing something. I believe that the chicken broth will make it taste like lemon chicken soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods September 14, 2007
Lemon Dill Rice