71 Reviews

I have just finished this recipe on the stovetop. Great instructions - I chose to strain the butter mixture to remove the zest to give a smooth finish to the curd. I also used electric mixers to beat the eggs together and cooked it for exactly 11 minutes on medium heat. I noticed that there was a foam on top that once it thickens and is done disappears -so that is a guideline to when its cooked. I got 2 jars and a ramekin full of it out of the recipe. Thanks

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mortar&pestle May 29, 2011

Rita, this Lemon Curd recipe was fantastic! It was the first time I've made it, and I absolutely loved it. It tasted so much better than the store-bought stuff. I used some of it immediately in making some lemon chicken, and it was wonderful. I saved the other half and my wife and I don't see it lasting in the fridge for long.

Rita, I've loved any recipe I've tried of yours, and I feel you should have your own cooking show. Perhaps even web-based. I think I'd be safe in saying you'd have a large following of fans! Thanks so much for posting your recipes.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bryn May 28, 2011

This recipe is so delicious, easy and versatile! A wonderful balance of sweet and tart. Besides using it as a filling for cakes I make Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (#100943), pour 1/2 the batter in, spoon a tsp. of lemon curd in centre and top with remaining 1/2 of batter. My family loves the moist little surprise centre. I am dying to try the orange version.Thanks so much Rita for a great recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mauriann April 17, 2011

Rita, I can't believe how easy this recipe was. I always thought lemon curd would be a hassle to make, but this was amazingly simple. Your recipe appealed to me because of the high lemon and egg-yolk content, plus the photos made it look nice and thick; and it was indeed thick, spreadable, and vividly lemony, just as flavorful as what you can buy in the stores. I'll never have to buy lemon curd again! The only change I might make would be to strain out the lemon zest before serving it; I thought I'd really like it, but the texture alarmed me the first time I bit into a piece of it ;) Still, the bright tart flavor is just unbeatable.

Also, I owe you big time for the tip about piping a rim of frosting around the edge before filling a cake layer. I've never even considered doing that before, and now I think it's going to revolutionize the way I fill cakes! No more filling glopping over the edges and ruining the frosting, or unfilled gaps between the layers! I'm delighted. It worked brilliantly on the cake that I made with this lemon curd. Thanks a ton!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM March 13, 2011

Absolutely fantastic. The best I've tried and no alterations made. I make orange curd regularly as I have a chocolate orange tart recipe my family love and we can't buy orange curd in South Africa. Brilliant - the other recipes can go into the bin! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieBlue1947 December 14, 2010

First try at lemon curd and GREAT!!!!!!!!!! Awesome! Used in tart Lemon Cookie Tarts. Total hit! **Re-review** Made again with lemon, lime and orange with AMAZING results!! Thanks again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay February 20, 2009

My guests loved this recipe (I did the stove top version). I used it instead of the lemon curd recipe provided with a fresh berries and biscotti crumbs dessert recipe. This curd was way easier to make. The dessert was heaven. In 6 clear glasses, layer biscotti crumbs, a dollop of the lemon curd, then mixed summer berries. Top with whipped cream. Fabulous!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaarina August 20, 2008

Yum!! this tastes like lemon meringue pie filling!! nice and tart but not too tart, still some sweetness there. Made to use in Sarahsmomi's Strawberry-lemon Parfait Strawberry-Lemon Parfait.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K September 27, 2005

Review is for Stove Top method: My first attempt at lemon curd I made Sydney Mike's Lemon Curd. In my review, said that it wasn't dense enough but I seemed OK with the sweetness. His recipe used 6 yolks and only 1/4 cup sugar. I liked this one much better for texture and overall flavor was very good. The egg ratio is much better, not so yolky. I think that I may be able to get away with reducing the sugar. I will try 1 cup next time. Also I doubled the recipe but not the zest. A double recipe made 5 cups (!) so I won't be doing that again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 06, 2013

I was tired of straining my lemon curd recipe to remove the egg white strings and decided to try your recipe. This method of boiling the sugar, lemon juice and peel was different and I felt candied the finely shredded peel. I added the eggs to the cooled mixture and finished cooking the curd to reveal a smooth lemon curd. This is a good balance of flavors and is rich and addictive. Your recipes are very reliable Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureen McFarlane March 31, 2013
Lemon Curd (Stove Top or Microwave Method) Lime or Orange Curd