Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Curd (Stove Top or Microwave Method) Lime or Orange Curd Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Curd (Stove Top or Microwave Method) Lime or Orange Curd

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2011

      I have just finished this recipe on the stovetop. Great instructions - I chose to strain the butter mixture to remove the zest to give a smooth finish to the curd. I also used electric mixers to beat the eggs together and cooked it for exactly 11 minutes on medium heat. I noticed that there was a foam on top that once it thickens and is done disappears -so that is a guideline to when its cooked. I got 2 jars and a ramekin full of it out of the recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Rita, this Lemon Curd recipe was fantastic! It was the first time I've made it, and I absolutely loved it. It tasted so much better than the store-bought stuff. I used some of it immediately in making some lemon chicken, and it was wonderful. I saved the other half and my wife and I don't see it lasting in the fridge for long.

      Rita, I've loved any recipe I've tried of yours, and I feel you should have your own cooking show. Perhaps even web-based. I think I'd be safe in saying you'd have a large following of fans! Thanks so much for posting your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This recipe is so delicious, easy and versatile! A wonderful balance of sweet and tart. Besides using it as a filling for cakes I make Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (#100943), pour 1/2 the batter in, spoon a tsp. of lemon curd in centre and top with remaining 1/2 of batter. My family loves the moist little surprise centre. I am dying to try the orange version.Thanks so much Rita for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Rita, I can't believe how easy this recipe was. I always thought lemon curd would be a hassle to make, but this was amazingly simple. Your recipe appealed to me because of the high lemon and egg-yolk content, plus the photos made it look nice and thick; and it was indeed thick, spreadable, and vividly lemony, just as flavorful as what you can buy in the stores. I'll never have to buy lemon curd again! The only change I might make would be to strain out the lemon zest before serving it; I thought I'd really like it, but the texture alarmed me the first time I bit into a piece of it ;) Still, the bright tart flavor is just unbeatable.

      Also, I owe you big time for the tip about piping a rim of frosting around the edge before filling a cake layer. I've never even considered doing that before, and now I think it's going to revolutionize the way I fill cakes! No more filling glopping over the edges and ruining the frosting, or unfilled gaps between the layers! I'm delighted. It worked brilliantly on the cake that I made with this lemon curd. Thanks a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic. The best I've tried and no alterations made. I make orange curd regularly as I have a chocolate orange tart recipe my family love and we can't buy orange curd in South Africa. Brilliant - the other recipes can go into the bin! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      First try at lemon curd and GREAT!!!!!!!!!! Awesome! Used in tart Lemon Cookie Tarts. Total hit! **Re-review** Made again with lemon, lime and orange with AMAZING results!! Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      My guests loved this recipe (I did the stove top version). I used it instead of the lemon curd recipe provided with a fresh berries and biscotti crumbs dessert recipe. This curd was way easier to make. The dessert was heaven. In 6 clear glasses, layer biscotti crumbs, a dollop of the lemon curd, then mixed summer berries. Top with whipped cream. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Yum!! this tastes like lemon meringue pie filling!! nice and tart but not too tart, still some sweetness there. Made to use in Sarahsmomi's Strawberry-lemon Parfait Strawberry-Lemon Parfait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      Review is for Stove Top method: My first attempt at lemon curd I made Sydney Mike's Lemon Curd. In my review, said that it wasn't dense enough but I seemed OK with the sweetness. His recipe used 6 yolks and only 1/4 cup sugar. I liked this one much better for texture and overall flavor was very good. The egg ratio is much better, not so yolky. I think that I may be able to get away with reducing the sugar. I will try 1 cup next time. Also I doubled the recipe but not the zest. A double recipe made 5 cups (!) so I won't be doing that again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I was tired of straining my lemon curd recipe to remove the egg white strings and decided to try your recipe. This method of boiling the sugar, lemon juice and peel was different and I felt candied the finely shredded peel. I added the eggs to the cooled mixture and finished cooking the curd to reveal a smooth lemon curd. This is a good balance of flavors and is rich and addictive. Your recipes are very reliable Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      Yum! I finally got around to trying this recipe last night and now I'm wondering why it took me so long. I made it in the microwave and followed the directions exactly. Very easy and wonderful results! I'd like to make a few batches as gifts along with some homemade pound cake; Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      This was my first time making lemon curd and it won't be my last! So good! I used the stove top instructions and followed the recipe to a tee. I got about 2 cups out of it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I can't wait to try lime and orange!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Simple to make. Turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      Granny had a lemon curd competition and couldn't find her recipe, so we went on a hunt for one that would be just the ticket. This was highest on the RecipeZaar bet rated list, so it made our short list - and weren't we glad. Not too sharp, not too sweet, a lovely bright yellow (yes, they actually mark them on colour!)... and it won 3rd prize in the Ballantrae Flower Show 2011. Full marks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe! I thought the curd was going to be too sweet with so much sugar compared to lemon juice, but it's fantastic. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
      UPDATE: I have made this recipe several times now, with both lemon and lime. It never fails to disappoint. I've used it on pancakes, as a swirl in cheesecake (FANTASTIC!) and as the filling in thumbprint cookies. Excellent and never a disappointment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Awesome! Quick and easy to make and tastes fantastic. I make it in lemon and even my husband who hates lemon was impressed. My only problem is keeping it stocked in the house. Whenever friends and family see it in the fridge it suddenly disappears without a trace-jar and all...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      SUPER easy and so tasty!! I've never made lemon curd before, used to always buy it at the store for $4-$5 a jar - no more!! This came together in a snap and far less expensive than store-bought! I used it to fill my lemon meringue cupcakes :)
      Thanks for posting, this is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Thank you for this great recipe. I've been buying this for 8.00 a bottle and no I can save money. Came out great. I put this in my cheesecake and then bake it with the lemon curd inside what a great flavor it had in the cheesecake not like store bought.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Not only did I quadrupile this recipe, I messed up the process and it still came out delicious! I will keep this in my cookbook to use in the future:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Easy to prepare. Really good. I am going to use with Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezie All-In-One Lemon Drizzle Cake! At first I was going to make only 1 cup but put in the full amount of sugar so made 1 1/2 cup I might be happy I did it is soo good. It is tart but I like tart and what else can you expect from lemon? UPDATE: The next day my of my out of this world I am upping the review to 5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Curd (Stove Top or Microwave Method) Lime or Orange Curd

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.1
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    44%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 63.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 58.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites