14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this yesterday, trying to make a dent in my bumper crop of lemons! Love the less-sweet taste and the simplicity of the method..throw it all together pretty much! However, it did take about twice as long as noted in the recipe (as mentioned by another reviewer), but still great. I experimented with water bath processing my 1/2 pint jars, 10 minutes seemed to do fine, they are all sealed...until I open one tonight! Seems to have set up well enough. Will double recipe next time....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jwally January 24, 2013

I chose this recipe because it uses the whole egg rather than just yokes. I used Becal Olive Oil margarine instead of butter and was a little worried when it didn't thicken at first.
It thickened very nicely after being in the fridge for a while. I used it to fill small purchased pastry shells and they were so pretty and delicious.
Next time I will put a piece of red cherry on each. Pretty enough for company. This would be great between white cake layers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patric April 16, 2012

Perfect. Easy, quick and turned out great. I used in connection for another recipe and unfortunately I have none left. But I have to make some more. Excellent. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook April 12, 2010

Yum! I made this to go with some lemon scones and it was a hit. Love the tart-sweet flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre March 08, 2010

This is awesome stuff! Had lemons and eggs to use up and remembered that you had a real good recipe. I would wear a glove cos hot curds are HOT. I strained it so it is very smooth. I'm keeping the strained stuff because it tastes so good, kinda like thick marmalade. Definitely a keeper. Update: I had a jar of curd in the fridge for three weeks and it still smelled great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption October 16, 2009

This was very easy to make. I only made 1/4 of the amount which was about 1 lemon. Thanks for this lovely lemon curd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose May 23, 2008

Delicious, easy and not too sweet. This is the recipe I will use from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream September 27, 2007

This is the first time I've made lemon curd. I thought it'd be thicker. The lemon was a bit too tart for us, so I'll add less next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cooky December 13, 2006

This is wonderful. Mine too took almost 20 minutes. I've got it cooling now but of course I had to try it while it was still warm. My plans are to make a white layer cake and to put the curd between the layers. Thanks for posting what seems to be the easiest curd recipe on the site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl May 10, 2006

I've tried several recipes for lemon curd with good results, but what I loved about this one is that it doesn't have as many steps as some, it makes a lot, and the curd is delicious! It's more tart than some, which makes it perfect as a filling in cakes that are typically very sweet. It's also a bit thicker than some curds, making it an ideal candidate for a cake filling where you need a bit of stability. I paired it with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting between the layers and on top of a plain white cake, and the sweet frosting and tart lemon curd were a perfect combination. The remaining curd will be used as a filling for some white chocolate lemon curd scones. I also found that it took at least 20 minutes on my electric range for the curd to thicken. Thanks for sharing your recipe. --

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sadielady August 03, 2005
Lemon Curd