Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Curd Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Curd

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2013

      Made this yesterday, trying to make a dent in my bumper crop of lemons! Love the less-sweet taste and the simplicity of the method..throw it all together pretty much! However, it did take about twice as long as noted in the recipe (as mentioned by another reviewer), but still great. I experimented with water bath processing my 1/2 pint jars, 10 minutes seemed to do fine, they are all sealed...until I open one tonight! Seems to have set up well enough. Will double recipe next time....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      I chose this recipe because it uses the whole egg rather than just yokes. I used Becal Olive Oil margarine instead of butter and was a little worried when it didn't thicken at first.
      It thickened very nicely after being in the fridge for a while. I used it to fill small purchased pastry shells and they were so pretty and delicious.
      Next time I will put a piece of red cherry on each. Pretty enough for company. This would be great between white cake layers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Perfect. Easy, quick and turned out great. I used in connection for another recipe and unfortunately I have none left. But I have to make some more. Excellent. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Yum! I made this to go with some lemon scones and it was a hit. Love the tart-sweet flavor. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This is awesome stuff! Had lemons and eggs to use up and remembered that you had a real good recipe. I would wear a glove cos hot curds are HOT. I strained it so it is very smooth. I'm keeping the strained stuff because it tastes so good, kinda like thick marmalade. Definitely a keeper. Update: I had a jar of curd in the fridge for three weeks and it still smelled great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This was very easy to make. I only made 1/4 of the amount which was about 1 lemon. Thanks for this lovely lemon curd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Delicious, easy and not too sweet. This is the recipe I will use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      This is the first time I've made lemon curd. I thought it'd be thicker. The lemon was a bit too tart for us, so I'll add less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      This is wonderful. Mine too took almost 20 minutes. I've got it cooling now but of course I had to try it while it was still warm. My plans are to make a white layer cake and to put the curd between the layers. Thanks for posting what seems to be the easiest curd recipe on the site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      I've tried several recipes for lemon curd with good results, but what I loved about this one is that it doesn't have as many steps as some, it makes a lot, and the curd is delicious! It's more tart than some, which makes it perfect as a filling in cakes that are typically very sweet. It's also a bit thicker than some curds, making it an ideal candidate for a cake filling where you need a bit of stability. I paired it with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting between the layers and on top of a plain white cake, and the sweet frosting and tart lemon curd were a perfect combination. The remaining curd will be used as a filling for some white chocolate lemon curd scones. I also found that it took at least 20 minutes on my electric range for the curd to thicken. Thanks for sharing your recipe. --

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      I can't believe I've been toiling over a double boiler to make Lemon Curd all these years! This made a lovely lemon curd although, as noted by Cookgirl, it took a bit longer to cook on my electric hob - around 20 minutes - but still less time than that *@#*! double boiler! I used this recipe for evelyn/athens Strawberry and Lemon Curd Filo Baskets #88853. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      Wow, what can I say that the other reviews haven't, it is absolutely delicious!!! Easy to make and very very easy to finish off. Will be making this quite often, thanks Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      I’ve made many lemon curds over the years, with many recipes, which I’ve then either mislaid or forgotten which recipe book they’re in. This is now my new lemon curd recipe, and it’s one I can’t lose. Not that I want to! This was as delicious as any I’ve ever made: and the friends I shared it with for lunch today agreed! We ate it on scones. I made it with some top quality lemons from a friend’s tree and some free-range eggs. Clear instructions, simple to make and most important of all: scrumptious! Thank you, MarieAlice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      I confess. I cheated and ate this BEFORE supper time. I couldn't help it. This is the best curd I have ever tried! The curd was prepared this morning and I let it set all day in the frig. It took me a bit longer to cook, probably because I use an electric not gas range. What is remaining has been made into parfaits interspersed with pieces of Scottish shortbread (Scottish Shortbread) and lovely yellowy layers of lemon curd then topped with fresh whipping cream and a strawberry slice. Ah! One more thing- very easy directions to follow. cg;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Curd

    Serving Size: 1 (919 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 933.4
     
    Calories from Fat 542
    58%
    Total Fat 60.2 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 36.1 g
    180%
    Cholesterol 390.3 mg
    130%
    Sodium 103.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.5 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 91.1 g
    364%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites