11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These came out so bad the first time, I made them again because I thought I had to have done something wrong. Well, it wasn't me. The texture of these cupcakes is nothing at all like an actual cake or any cupcake I have ever eaten.They completely sink in the middle, they are airy and eggy with absolutely no crumb. I did not want to give such a bad review and that is why I remade them. Followed directions to the T, especially the second time. So upset I wasted all those ingredients. The taste was actually not bad at all, but the texture and mouth feel was so off, they ended up in the trash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj July 25, 2011

I made a slightly different lemon cream cheese frosting, so I can't speak to the frosting. The cakes themselves were divine. My husband gave them 10 stars and lemon cake is his favorite. I was using bottled juice, so I doubled the juice and did not have any zest, the lemon flavor was still very subtle. The cakes are like a pound cake, and for the 5 days that we had leftovers after a birthday party, they stayed moist and delicious in the fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowgurWife March 04, 2011

Very tasty! I filled mine with homemade lemon curd and made a buttercream frosting instead. I think next time I will make the cream cheese frosting as the buttercream is just a little to sweet. Also, I think I will try a little less butter next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Gee Thaz Mee! January 09, 2011

On a scale with 3 stars as good, 4 as very good and 5 as excellent I would give these a three. The light lemon flavor of the cupcakes was absolutely delicious, but the strong flavor of cream cheese frosting overpowered the flavor of the cupcakes. I think a lighter powdered sugar frosting would be better. The cupcakes, although delicious have a somewhat coarser texture than I am used to in cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Last Ember April 22, 2010

Both the cupcake and the frosting are delicious! I added a cream filling which made the few cupcakes that the icing didn't cover as delicious as the rest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunip July 12, 2009

WONDERFUL Cake! I LOVE lemon desserts...and this didn't disappoint. While it's not super lemony, it has a delicious soft light lemon crumb and sweet tooth satisfying frosting. I made mine in a 9x13 baking dish and added extra lemon zest and frozen plump blueberries. The blueberries ended up being the perfect match for this cheery cake that adds a smile to your day. Made for the Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 20, 2009

I made these last week. These were so good. So moist. I made these for company coming and everyone enjoyed them so. I had to print out the recipe and give to them. Thanks for posting this recipe that I will be using again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 24, 2009

My sister made this for my birthday cake - I love lemon cake! It was superb. She added extra lemon juice to the frosting. It worked well as a cake and everyone couldn't get enough. When I make it again I might reduce the sugar just a bit and see what happens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jesika* April 20, 2009

These were wonderful! Made them to take to work and everyone enjoyed them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse April 12, 2009

This is a great recipe that I just made for Easter Sunday. I followed the cake itself to the letter. The only thing that could've been better is I prefer a bit more lemon and this is more work than I'm used to for a cake (I'm a box girl). The frosting is really good, but I had a little mixup with the cream cheese. I wasn't paying attention and used 2 6 oz packages rather than the 3oz. So, take note, it's not that much. :) I just dumped half of it and finished up the rest. Thanks for the recipe! If I make it again, I'll add a bit more lemon, which is just my preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKC3094 April 12, 2009
Lemon Cupcakes With Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting