Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Crumb Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Crumb Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! My daughter even said it was "the best fish", and that is a huge compliment considering that she HATES fish with a passion. I did make a few changes though: I substituted olive oil for the veg. oil, Kraft Parm Plus Italian Topping Garlic Herb for the parmesan cheese, and garlic powder for the garlic salt. In Step 2, I added 1 tbsp of the lemon juice to the crumb mixture, and the zest of a whole lemon, and I did Step 8 (sprinkling the fish with the lemon juice) during the last minute of its cook time. We will definitely be using this recipe again repeatedly... Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This recipe was great and perfect for summer - no heating up the house with the oven! I implemented a lot of the changes others had suggested and it turned out wonderful. Changes included: 4 tablespoons cheese, peel of one whole lemon, only 2 T butter total, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. It sounds like a lot of changes, but they are all minor, and your recipe was definitely a great inspiration! I didn't have any problem with the coating falling off. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      We really, really liked this. I didn't like that my crumb didn't stick all that well, but I was fine with that. I make fish every other week, rotating with shrimp, and I'm always looking for a new recipe. Hubby will eat the same thing every week, as long as there's a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This was fantastic!!! Well-seasoned and lovely...I added some freshly ground black pepper and extra oregano to the crumb mixture (plus more lemon zest)... very very very yummy!! Light & fresh... hints of lemon and buttery goodness (but nothing was overpowering)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This is really a very tasty dish. I loved the rind in this, I used a whole lemon. One thing I did do differently was I used about 1 tblspn butter in the pan while it was warming up and threw some crushed garlic to infuse the oil a little bit and I took the garlic out before I out the fish in the pan. I did have a little bit of a problem with the crumbs sticking so I might try using egg whites next time. My 3 yo and 2yo loved this too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Everyone but Mr. Picky really enjoyed this dish (even the cat!). I made a double recipe, using the rind of a whole lemon, rather than measuring it. I also cut back on the butter somewhat, and used olive oil for the pan frying part. It was very easy to throw together and quite flavorful. Into the keeper file it goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This recipe was quick & easy to prepare. I used the zest from one whole lemon & I still hardly tasted the lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I absolutely loved this recipe. The two minor changes I made to the recipe were to increase the amount of lemon zest (I used the zest from 1 entire lemon), and to increase the amount of Parmesan cheese to 4T. I like a very lemony, cheesy flavor to the crust, so I personalized the coating to my liking. The entire dish took 15 minutes to prepare (from pulling the ingrediants out, to having the fish on the table). Thanks aviva!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      Great flavor, lovely new way to cook tilapia =) I am considering baking it instead of frying it next time. My fillets were a little on the thin side and ended up falling apart and were not at all crunchy (oh wait! There WAS a crunchy corner =P). Not sure what went wrong, but they were still delicious. Thanks a bunch aviva!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Very good, extremely easy to prepare and good flavor. I added 1/2 clove of crushed garlic to the crumb mixture and more lemon zest than the recipe called for. The sprinkled lemon juice at the end made the fish have an intense lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      I used about a pound of tilapia fillets, so I increased the breadcrumbs slightly and upped the zest. I had fairly thick fillets so I had to cook them for almost 4 min a side... I only wish my fillets had turned out as beautiful as CarolineCooks!!! Mine were fairly dark and not really that crispy... but the taste was amazing. I will definitely make this again but I might try pan frying with olive oil instead of butter or maybe even baking them to get a better crunchy crust. I am going to add lots more zest too since that really was the star of all the seasonings! I served it with Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf (Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf) and a green salad. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      very delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      My DH and I loved this dish. The zest really made it. I used lime because it's all I had. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      4 Star meal, we enjoyed it very much. I think next time I am going to add some red pepper flakes to give it a little nip. But this one is a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      This recipe is SO easy and I think probably the best fish I have ever had. If you have never cooked fish before, you can't fail with this one!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      This is really good! Very quick and easy! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Very nice. The parm helps to make a great and tasty crust. The lemon and herbs give it just the right flavor. I used additional lemon rind and juice and sauteed them in olive oil and butter. Served with rice and my 24k Carrots 24k Carrots. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Crunchy and yummy! Lovely flavor. I didn't have iItalian flavored bread crumbs, so made my own, adding 1tsp Italian spice mix to plain bread crumbs, could have used 11/2tsp. I will also dobble the lemon rind, next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      This recipe was wonderful! The only change I made was at the end. After I took up the fish, I put 2 TBS. butter & juice of 1 small lemon in the skillet and let it blend for a minute or so, then used as a dip for the fish. I will be fixing this often!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This was very good. I didn't have lemon rinds and did use the canned parmesan cheese, but it still tasted great to us. We browned it a little more than the picture shows (I guess heat was too high) but it tasted really good that way, we thought. My husband and I each had 2 helpings and my 1-year old had several bites. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Crumb Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.4
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    56%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 135.4 mg
    45%
    Sodium 581.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 38.6 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes