17 Reviews

Wonderful muffins! I make muffins every week for work and these are a favorite. I try to make low fat muffins and these were perfect. I added some lemon extract to the batter as I was short on lemon zest.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 February 07, 2009

Great muffins!!! Thankyou for this Fab recipe.
I've made these muffins twice now as they were such a hit! First time i did what the recipe says-1/2 oatmeal 1/2 coconut.
This time i did 1 cup coconut.
I would suggest trying 1 cup Greek style yoghurt instead of the milk. I love the Vaalia yoghurt.
Also this time i also dipped the top of the muffin in the syrup which worked well as mine rise a lot which makes getting the syrup to soak in difficult.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCrabbers October 18, 2010

These are excellent!I made a few changes/additions to mine.I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat.I also added 1/4 ground flax seed.I also used 1/2 tsp coconut,lemon and almond extracts.And one more thing,I had some frozen vanilla eggnog that I just thawed out and used that instead of the milk.The glaze adds a very nice zing to the muffin,the lemon zest is great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny January 23, 2010

These are wonderful! i did change the glaze by using icing sugar and then i poked the tops of the muffins with toothpicks and slowly poured the glaze on. WOW, amazing flavor! These are so good i hope i dont eat them all myself tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
notinoz January 07, 2009

Yum! I loved that they had oatmeal in them (I used old-fashioned), and you couldn't really tell because the coconut makes them chewy anyways. I used about 1 tsp of lemon extract. I didn't use the glaze, and they were yummy without it. This recipe made 16 normal sized muffins for me (and I was glad it made more!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mich26 October 22, 2008

I had trouble with this recipe. If Saturn is making 12 muffins, they're those large ones because my batch made 24. That's a nuisance because I had to wait for a batch to finish before I could make the other half, which I hadn't planned on. Then, because the pan was sticky from the topping of the first batch, I had to let it cool so I could wash it. Everyone at my table complained about the sticky topping. Tasted good, though, about like one would expect. I probably won't make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vnfelix February 05, 2007

These are definitely worth five stars and more. I made them for my family this morning. We all loved them. I love the addition of oatmeal because you feel more virtuous although I did use a whole cube of butter...MMM. Any way...Outstanding. It felt like a special day just eating them. Would be great to bring to a brunch buffet. Thanks for the great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn January 12, 2007

These were a delight! Changes: 1/3 c Meyer lemon juice and the rest almond milk to make 1 cup. Did not add water to the glaze and used less sugar. I would add that using muffin papers is probably not a good idea....The glaze bled through, leaving a sticky mess in the bottom of the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson November 04, 2012

Made these last night and took to work today. Got rave reviews from everyone. Actually my milk was a tiny bit on the sour side but my thought was that some cakes call for sour milk so I went with it and they were great,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb April 20, 2012

Great recipe! I used the half cup of coconut as that was all I had on hand but I also added some craisins which added a nice touch. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC July 23, 2011
Lemon Coconut Muffins