36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful and very simple rice!!I scaled it down for 3 pax and instead of margarine I used olive oil and butter everyone loved it.Served with http://www.recipezaar.com/Flaming-Garlic-and-Whisky-Gambas-King-Prawns-Giant-Shrimp-269315.Thank you baby kato

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy August 29, 2009

I used Jasmine rice and it was so good. Loved the lemon along with the mix of other flavors. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ August 25, 2009

Yummy, wonderful flavour and very simple. I couldn't find fresh chives :( So I had to leave it out, but I did use garnish of corriander, the lemon flavour in this was wonderful (I'm a lemon fan). I used turmeric and it gave such wonderful colour, I wanted to use curry but Little Miss (DD) wouldn't complained about the spice's. I will be making this again but trying it in the rice cooker. Thank you Baby Kato

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer August 03, 2009

Excellent recipe! I used olive oil instead of marg, and added some chopped fresh garlic to the onions and tumeric and basmati rice. This one is a keeper, thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lezlie May 04, 2009

Yummy! I did not have chives so omitted. I followed the directions but used my rice cooker and butter instead of margarine with the tumeric option, and it turned out quick and delicious. I will be making this again. The aroma was intoxicating and taste was delicate and mild. Beautiful color. I used 2 cups of jasmine rice and one can of chicken broth. Perfect. THANK YOU.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 30, 2009

NICE! It has a fresh and light taste to it. And the color is beautiful. This would be great to serve to guest. It went wonderful with my grilled chicken. I used both curry and tumeric. The curry has a tiny bit of after taste. So the next time, I will just use turmeric. I also added about 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice. Dont' leave out the lemon zest. It made the rice tastes fresh. Very good. It is a keeper. Thank you for your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 16, 2009

This rice is top notch! I opted for the turmeric instead of curry, as we are not all that crazy about curry dishes. We had it along side peas with mushrooms and steak on the grill. So darn good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickyferland63 November 20, 2008

This is fabulous, thank you. I cooked entirely in my rice cooker and it worked perfectly. Used the turmeric option.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies October 16, 2008

Great tasty way to serve rice!! Didn't add too much onions as I was bringing the leftover for lunch the next day!! and used turmeric instead of curry for a nice change!! Thanks BK! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 14, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing this easy to make and delicious recipe, Baby Kato! A truly wonderful blend of flavours which for me qualifies this as an often-to-be-made recipe. I made a few small changes, using 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil in place of the margarine - as I prefer the flavours of these - and I added some finely minced garlic (a must-include ingredient for me). I used turmeric rather than curry and just slightly reduced the amount of chicken broth so that I could squeeze in some lemon juice (about two teaspoons). I also added a cup of sliced mushrooms in step two. We thoroughly enjoyed this rice with Miss Annie's Orange Cinnamon Chicken Orange Cinnamon Chicken. This recipe could be also be made as a delicious stand alone light meal simply by adding some more vegetables, or by adding both your favourite vegetables and, for example, a can of salmon. I'll certainly be making this recipe in different ways such as this in future. I'm thinking peppers, and perhaps kalamata olives. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 17, 2008
Lemon Chive Rice