Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Chive Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Chive Rice

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2008

      Even DH the proclaimed rice-hater liked this dish. I sauteed some matchstick carrots with the onions and stirred in green peas just before serving to make this an all-in-one side dish. Not a curry eater, I used the turmeric to give the rice a beautiful color and finished it off with fresh chives. The lemon really shines through. Thanks for sharing your easy and tasty recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Excellent lemony rice! I added both the curry and the turmeric, and it turned out very tasty. Yummy! Thanks BK!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Delicious! I am one who often chooses a rice dish with the main course when eating out - this is so similar to one of my favorites! The addition of curry along with the turmeric gives this a beautiful color. The combination of seasonings made for great aroma and taste. Other then using freeze dried chives instead of fresh which I didn't happen to have on hand - I made as posted using Basmati rice and wouldn't change a thing. No left overs with this one. Thank you BK - the recipe is in my file right along with the repeatables.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I used olive oil. Since I don't like curry, I used turmeric. I used dried parsley instead of chives. Thanks Baby Kato for a delicious rice. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      this went well paired with a shrimp dish, I added in some fresh minced garlic and used 2 tablespooons butter and 1 teaspoon olive oil in place of the margarine and lots of fresh ground black pepper, thanks for sharing Baby K!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Delicate and delicious flavor without being overbearing. I did use a bit more curry and lemon than called for as I like both flavors and a lot of spice, but I didn't over-do and it was delightful. My MIL visiting enjoyed it as did my kids - what a versatile dish - great to compliment so many meals - I would make this for guests or even for a potluck etc! Great recipe BK!! You did it again! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This is a WONDERFUL rice! So easy to make, pretty and aromatic to the nose and mouth. I used red onion, jasmine rice and the curry option. I also used 2 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp olive oil. This is just fine as is but I may try adding lemon juice in the future for a more intense lemon taste. I served this with Microwave Lemon Garlic Broccoli and Kittencal's Easy Moist Salmon Steaks for a delicious lemony meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I enjoyed this lively lemon rice side! I used 1 1/2 tablespoons butter and 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, red onion and both full amounts of the curry and tumeric, did replace the chives with scallions. Thanks you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Lovely rice dish. I used saffron in place of the curry or turmeric as DH wants milder flavors. I made a smaller amount using 2/3 cup of jasmine rice and 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock and I used the juice from a large lemon wedge. This made a beautifully rich yet delicate rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      I made this recipe for a friend. Of course you try new recipes out on friends. Instead of curry or tumeric I used italian seasoning. It was fabulous!! I love this it went great with the fish I made. Baby Kato, thanks for posting this recipe, it is a great change from the norm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      it smelt nice as cooking but i thought it needed more lemon in it and added 3 tablespoons of lemon juice. Terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      After trying a lemon pasta recipe recently (Stacky5LRC's Lemon Spaghetti Lemon Spaghetti) as well as this, I'm coming to realize that lemon makes a dynamite combination with starches. The combination with curry powder is unusual and very tasty. I used low sodium chicken bouillon for the broth, but the curry powder, turmeric and chives kept it from being bland. As I'm on a very low sodium diet right now, this will be an excellent recipe for me to make many times over this summer. Thanks, Gerry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      This was a lovely rice dish and really was a change from just plain rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it. The chives are going crazy in the garden, and there are always lemons on the lemon tree. This has great flavor and is a nice change of pace from plain white rice. We loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This is sooooooo delicious! It brings you running to the table:-)!! I have just finished making it and tasted the first spoon - mmmmm so so good!!! I used was Pure Wesson Canola oil instead of margarine. I also used Maggi vegetable broth with onions instead of chicken broth. Thanks so much for a nice side dish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Chive Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.4
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    19%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 441.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes