13 Reviews

This recipe is yummy. Tastes just like lemon chicken from my favorite restaurant. I have tried it made exactly like the recipe and I have also cut the chicken into small chunks. Both ways are very tasty.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upsidedown Again August 27, 2002

I may have done something wrong, but I didn't like this receipe. It didn't taste like the lemon chicken in chinese restaurants. It was ok. Thought it would be better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_goddess September 08, 2007

I had been looking for an authentic and simple lemon chicken recipe for ages. This is it. For those who tried and were disappointed because they had trouble with the sauce, i have submitted a correction to zaar. The author just forgot to put the addition of stock,sugar,salt and cornstarch into the directions, and if you forget the cornstarch it will be to runny. this was superb. Love using the slices rather than just juice, all the oils from the peel surround the sauce then. 5 stars even with the error in the directions as it was clearly an oversight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba July 04, 2007

The sauce came out runny and not thick at all. I'm not sure what i did wrong,but i was disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitntrip March 19, 2007

I might have done something wrong -- the batter was great, really nice and crispy (but would lessen the salt). The sauce was a mess; maybe I have to try using the juice instead of slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 12, 2006

Excellent! It was tasty, crispy, and completely unhealthy (but oh so good). Double-fried = yums! I strongly suggest this recipe for any "sanity" meals, when steamed veggies don't do it for ya. -j

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John J. O'Sullivan? April 26, 2006

One of my absolute FAVORITE dishes at a Chinese restaurant is Lemon Chicken. Just the name makes my mouth water. I've been looking for this type of recipe to make at home, and after looking through several published here, came across this one. Aha! I thought! This one is the ticket! So I made it up for supper tonight. (I used chicken pieces, rather than chicken breasts...and it worked very well) I deep fried the battered chicken pieces, then placed them in a 9 x 13 pan, covered them with the sauce and continued baking for about 20 minutes. It was absolute heaven! THANK YOU SO much for publishing this recipe. My husband rated it as well and loved it very much. We will definitely try it again. It deserves more than a five star rating!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern_Reflectionz April 23, 2006

Made this for supper tonight and both my wife and i loved it and she will be rating it later. It has such a fantastic flavor and i know we will be trying it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluenoser April 23, 2006

I made this for dinner last night.The recipe was really easy to do and it turned out quite well!I did not add in the scallions because of my daughter and instead of putting in the lemon slices, I just squeezed out the juice.And used 2-3 of the slices as garnishing instead.I found the batter a little too thick for me, but will try this again next time but with a slightly lighter coating.But this was quite good and really so easy to do!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syltel September 20, 2005

I made this last night, and it was exactly the lemon chicken recipe I was looking for. I used 3 chicken breasts, and cut them into about 4 pieces each, I also pan fried them, since I don't have a deep fryer, but it still turned out perfect! I'm definately going to be making this again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The D August 27, 2005
Lemon Chicken