24 Reviews

Excellent and so easy! I can see that this will be in the regular dinner rotation through the summer Halved the recipe for 2 breasts. Unlike other reviewers, I felt that the amount of marinade was just right. UPDATE: Made it again on the weekend and now I know why the amount a marinade was just right. I used tablespoons for the lemon juice and soy sauce instead of teaspoons. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeslieMS June 01, 2009

The lemon flavour was completely lost when I made this last night. I was so disappointed. I used low-sodium soy sauce, marinated the breasts in the fridge for 3.5 hours, and otherwise followed the instructions to a T (doubling the marinade). The chicken tasted fine; it just wasn't what the title suggested it would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is it tasty? September 13, 2009

Good way to spice up boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I also used tablespoons for the merinade and added 1 T ev olive oil. Good grill meal on a hot sommer night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gordeensherwood August 25, 2009

I made this for my family and it turned out very well. I did double the marinade except for the basil as suggested in some of the other reviews. I also (since it is the dead of winter and there is several inches of snow/ice) tried to roast the chicken in a roasting pan, I would not recommend this method. The chicken had a wonderful flavor, but the roasting made it very dry and a little tough. I will definately make this again, with out the roasting. Thank you so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pahealthymom February 03, 2009

This is a great marinade, but only enough for 2 breasts, as has been stated. I often run into the problem of chicken that I grill on my George Foreman dries out almost immediately. With this marinade, it didn't! I plan on making this a staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blossomteacher March 29, 2008

This is a good basic marinade, nothing spectacular but we enjoyed it. As others stated I also found there was not enough marinade for 4 pieces of chicken, but just perfect for 2. The marinade had good flavor. However, if you do not like basil you will not like this one. I froze the chicken in the marinade a few weeks ago. I allowed the chicken to thaw in the fridge before grillin on an indoor grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity September 17, 2007

Yum. I followed the directions exactly. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeH September 05, 2007

This chicken was very good. I did not have any lemons so I had to use the reconstituted lemon juice. The flavor was really good. I doubled all the ingredient except for the basil and let the chicken marinate for 2 hours. The chicken browned up very nicely and my picky kids and husband really enjoyed it! Hoooray!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherismiley August 25, 2007

We really loved this dish. I cooked on the stove due to our grill being on the fritz. Just lightly sprayed cooking oil in the pan. It still turned out wonderful. It's a fresh taste and went wonderful with our new family diet of eating healthier. Thanks a lot really enjoyed and will make again. Hopefully we can try the grill one of these days!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud Veteran's wife March 20, 2007
Lemon Chicken