Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Chewsies (Chewy Lemon Bars With Lemon Frosting) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Chewsies (Chewy Lemon Bars With Lemon Frosting)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2008

      I felt as if my taste buds were DANCING in my mouth when I first bit into these! The flavor is so surprisingly fresh and tangy and the chewiness of the cookie layer is incredible. I have made this recipe twice within the past week for parties. It has been a MAJOR hit...and it's so easy! I used old fashioned oats vs quick-cooking. I don't know what,if any effect it may have on the outcome, but it surely didn't do it any harm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      I've been looking for a recipe like this for years! I don't like regular lemon bar because they taste too eggy, but these delightful bars solved that problem. Not one egg in the recipe. These bars are heavenly and I love that you can spread on the icing while still hot. Thank you Little Turtle. . .you are my new best friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This is an amazing recipe! I have made it several times and it tastes great every time. The oat cookie bar has a subtle lemon flavor and is moist and chewy. My husband just loves the lemon frosting and even has me make extra to put on. It is zesty and goes perfectly with the bar. Make sure your using Eagle Brand sweetened condenced milk!
      Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      The cookie part was good. But the frosting.. ALL but 2 of my kids pulled the frosting off. They didn't like it. The cookie base has more of an oatmeal cookie flavor, NO lemon flavor in the cookie part. The frosting is just sour, no real lemon flavor. I will make this again, with out the lemon zest and frosting. UPDATE: We tried this again. Sorry. They are just gross. Kids hated them, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Wish I could give this more than 5 stars! My boys beg me to make these and are now a "must" for the Christmas dainty platter. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I made this the other day and it's unbelievably delicious!! I love the chewiness. This will definitely be one of our favorite Lemon desserts to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      these are sooooooo scrummy, you can also freexe them (although they don't freeze solid they are better eaten from frozen!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      we LOVED THEM!!! so good! wonderfully chewy! definitely a keeper! thanks so much ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      There was just something in the flavor we didn't care for. Just didn't care for them sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Very easy to put together, but the base didn't taste very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I made these on a 2/3 scale (to fit into a 25 x 16cm brownie tin) and they were quite good. The mixture was very sticky and hard to spread into the tin, but it did expand a lot during cooking and rose to fill the tin, so don't worry if you have the same problem. It is nice and chewy, but slightly too sweet for my taste. I'd adapt it next time to use a bit less sugar. The other slightly odd thing about it was why you needed to ice it while hot. I had some small lumps of butter that hadn't mixed in properly (I beat it by hand) so they just melted and it all looked really ugly once you poured it onto the hot base, but it tasted OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      It was easy recipe to make, but no one in my family like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Fantastic- loved the texture and tart flavor- have made several times but I use 13x9 pan. Reminded me of a bar that I had at a bakery once and could not determine how they were made. Had to pass this recipe along to my mom once she tasted them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      we were a little panicky when we saw how little batter we were supposed to spread in how big a pan, but it was all fine and we loved these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      Despite my balky oven,this turned out very well. Next time I will add a bit more butter/marg to frosting.I love the tangy lemon flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Chewsies (Chewy Lemon Bars With Lemon Frosting)

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    27%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 75.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes