Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Chess Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Chess Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2004

      This was a very nice recipe, but way too sweet for us. If we make it again, we'll cut back on the sugar to something more like one cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      UPDATE...I tried this with lime and it is DELISH!!! Oh my goodness!! This pie is amazing. If you are lemon lover, this is the pie for you! I prepared the recipe to the exact measurements and it is delicious. I even enjoy the sweetness...that way you don't have to eat a big piece to be satisfied! Bev...this one is a big hit in my house! Thanks for the recipe! I've also submitted a photo because it looks as pretty as it tastes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I'm going to cut back on the sugar next time, as at least one reviewer suggested. It's deliciously lemony, though! However, readers might note that the finished product will not be anywhere level with the top of the crust; I thought I'd made a mistake the first time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I first had this pie in Kentucky at Boone's Tavern years ago and I couldn't get the wonderful lemon flavor out of my mind. I searched for a recipe that tasted like that one for months and by chance an elderly lady brought one to a picnic for my grandmother. I begged her for the recipe and she gave it to me because my grandmother loved it also. While it is easy to make, it is easily made foul. Don't add enough lemon and it is no more than a chess pie, that happens to be okay but misses out on that lemony goodness. I made this recipe, as is, and it was perfectly fine. The recipe I was given years ago added a tablespoon of corn meal and I enjoyed the texture of that addition, but this recipe will do nicely. Make your own shell if you will but a store bought will do, just. Thanks Bev for posting this here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Since I didn't want it too sweet, I decided to use only 1 cup of sugar. But at the end, I decided to use 3/4 cup of Splenda and 1/4 cup of sugar. It work very well. I used the juice of 2 lemons. They weren't the biggest. I used also the zest of both lemons. No salt. I cooked it for 30 minutes. It's delicious and so easy to do. Thanks Bev. Made for Gimme 5 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This is lemon heaven! I did cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 cups, this is more of a custard-like texture, light and fluffy, my lemon-loving DH will enjoy this for dessert tonight! thanks for sharing hon, great recipe!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Very good!! I used a whole grain crust; splenda instead of sugar, and lime instead of lemon- it turned out great inspite of my many changes! I will definately be making a Lime Chess Pie again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      I've made this recipe many times. It is always a hit. I add 1 tablespoon of corn meal. This gives the top of the pie a nice color. Always use fresh lemon juice, not bottled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Chess Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (748 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2653.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1005
    37%
    Total Fat 111.7 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 42.0 g
    210%
    Cholesterol 726.0 mg
    242%
    Sodium 2594.4 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 392.7 g
    130%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 302.9 g
    1211%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites