8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very nice recipe, but way too sweet for us. If we make it again, we'll cut back on the sugar to something more like one cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 January 05, 2004

UPDATE...I tried this with lime and it is DELISH!!! Oh my goodness!! This pie is amazing. If you are lemon lover, this is the pie for you! I prepared the recipe to the exact measurements and it is delicious. I even enjoy the sweetness...that way you don't have to eat a big piece to be satisfied! Bev...this one is a big hit in my house! Thanks for the recipe! I've also submitted a photo because it looks as pretty as it tastes! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WoodysChef March 17, 2010

I'm going to cut back on the sugar next time, as at least one reviewer suggested. It's deliciously lemony, though! However, readers might note that the finished product will not be anywhere level with the top of the crust; I thought I'd made a mistake the first time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole January 11, 2010

I first had this pie in Kentucky at Boone's Tavern years ago and I couldn't get the wonderful lemon flavor out of my mind. I searched for a recipe that tasted like that one for months and by chance an elderly lady brought one to a picnic for my grandmother. I begged her for the recipe and she gave it to me because my grandmother loved it also. While it is easy to make, it is easily made foul. Don't add enough lemon and it is no more than a chess pie, that happens to be okay but misses out on that lemony goodness. I made this recipe, as is, and it was perfectly fine. The recipe I was given years ago added a tablespoon of corn meal and I enjoyed the texture of that addition, but this recipe will do nicely. Make your own shell if you will but a store bought will do, just. Thanks Bev for posting this here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paolo Presta September 09, 2009

Since I didn't want it too sweet, I decided to use only 1 cup of sugar. But at the end, I decided to use 3/4 cup of Splenda and 1/4 cup of sugar. It work very well. I used the juice of 2 lemons. They weren't the biggest. I used also the zest of both lemons. No salt. I cooked it for 30 minutes. It's delicious and so easy to do. Thanks Bev. Made for Gimme 5 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 03, 2009

This is lemon heaven! I did cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 cups, this is more of a custard-like texture, light and fluffy, my lemon-loving DH will enjoy this for dessert tonight! thanks for sharing hon, great recipe!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen June 28, 2006

Very good!! I used a whole grain crust; splenda instead of sugar, and lime instead of lemon- it turned out great inspite of my many changes! I will definately be making a Lime Chess Pie again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 27, 2006

I've made this recipe many times. It is always a hit. I add 1 tablespoon of corn meal. This gives the top of the pie a nice color. Always use fresh lemon juice, not bottled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hokie59 February 25, 2004
Lemon Chess Pie