12 Reviews

I made the diet version with Neufchatel cheese (1/3 less fat) and 1% milk, and also used Splenda sweetener. It froze really quickly, and tasted fabulous! My only complaint is that it turned *rock solid* in the freezer due to the cream cheese, but a quick defrost in the microwave made it palatable again. I'd recommend serving this right away straight out of the machine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey July 22, 2003

I made the diet version, which, for a diet version, wasn't bad, but I'm so spoiled with never having to watch my weight that my tongue missed all those high fat ingredients! The only things I did different were using 2% milk and I added about 2 tsp of grated lemon zest for more lemony flavor. It froze rock solid, so I had to let it sit out for about 20 minutes before I could get the ice cream scooper not to attack me in an attempt to get away from the frozen tundra. (What?) All in all, there was a lot of flavor for having so many "better-for-you" ingredients that I'd recommend this to anyone watching what they eat. And when I try the "regular" version, and I KNOW I will, I'm sure I'll come back with 5 "FAT" stars! ;o) Thank you for posting, Dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) March 17, 2010

I made this for the whole family while we were on vacation. Everyone absolutely loved it. It seemed like the perfect amount of lemon. Before I even told anyone what the name of the recipe was, someone said that it tasted just like lemon cheese cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee August 11, 2009

Delish! DH and I love anything lemon and this was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby September 03, 2008

OMG! I am NOT an ice cream lover, but I was given an electric ice cream freezer for mother's day, so went in search of a great recipe, and did I ever find one! This is the absolute best ice cream I have ever eaten. I made the regular version, doubled the recipe because I have a 4 qt. freezer, used cream instead of half-n-half, and it was just OUT OF THIS WORLD!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Mary- May 20, 2008

Oh my this is so wonderful! I did the diet version, using fat-free cream cheese, egg white powder, and unsweetened almond milk. I used Splenda, and added 1 tsp of Stevia powder, 1 T extra lemon juice, and 1/4 tsp extra vanilla. This is definately my favorite ice cream recipe so far. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear February 22, 2008

I made this yesterday.............OH MY GOD!!!!!!.Love it love it love it. What more can I say. It is so wonderfully creamy and the lemon really comes through.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.C January 21, 2007

This a lovely and light tasting dessert. The addition of cream cheese and lemon lets the mouth feel of a cheese cake come through. I made a slight change though. Since I don't have an ice cream machine, I used the old fashioned GRANITA method. I stirred up the bowl contents in the freezer every 15 mins until its' consistency was just right. I recommend this treat anytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chickapea November 20, 2005

This is the kind of recipe i can keep going back to again and again. I mean that i can make one and eat half of it and not feel fat. I highly recomend the cottage cheese as a replacement for the cream cheese because it's delicious (and I forgot to get cream cheese the last time i went shopping). Great recipe, for the ladies will love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tim Riggi October 01, 2005
Lemon Cheesecake Ice Cream (Regular or Diet) for electric ice cr