40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! These were absolute heaven. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefbeebo January 22, 2012

Excellent recipe! I will be making these again and again. The lemon juice was just the right amount to give it that fresh tart taste, yet the condensed milk was sweet enough just not to overpower the flavor. These are so addicting. I took one reviewer's suggestion and omitted the pecans and used coconut instead. It turned out delicious! Thanks for sharing such a grand recipe with us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodenthusiast June 11, 2010

These were really good! I made half a recipe and used flaked coconut in place of the pecans. I think lemon and coconut are meant to be eaten together! The only reason I am not giving this five stars is because I found the crust too crumbly - it needs to be a bit wetter so it doesn't fall apart so easily when it comes time to serve. Perhaps brown sugar would help it stick together better - next time I might try adding a bit of the condensed milk to the crust. I used the grated zest of one small lemon as others have done and I found the cheesecake perfectly sweet and tart. Since I halved the recipe, I opted to cook for only 25 minutes in my oven...that was a mistake - 5 more minutes would have given it a better cheesecake-like texture. Finally, to address the criticism about the bars being too thin: I put my half recipe in an 8 X 8 casserole. I think the thickness was perfect. For a full recipe, I'd say a 9 X 13 pan is the appropriate size to use. I think others that found these bars too thin were wanting the thickness of a cheesecake, but this isn't a cheesecake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thunder Bay Laura January 02, 2010

Easy and good. I think I would add 1 tsp of lemon zest next time. These were a hit at our party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianEmily March 15, 2009

Lemon and cheesecake are my favorites too, Lori. These cheesecake bars were wonderful. Very easy to make and tasted like I made a big effort. I used fresh-squeezed lemon juice and the taste was rich and very refreshing. The texture was creamy and my family sure enjoyed it. I took the left-overs to work so my co-workers could get a taste. They loved them too. Thanks Lori, for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 23, 2003

My DIL is severely gluten intolerant so I have to be careful esp when baking.I substituted crushed corn flakes instead of using graham crackers.To my surprise,it took care of the crumble problem that sometimes happens with graham crackers.Also it has a more neutral taste than graham crackers so the lemon and cream cheese really were the stars of the recipe.I used it for one thing but loved it better than the original.I'm going to try this with magic cookie bars too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LSchuell S. November 18, 2014

ive made these three times for big family events, and each time 2 dozen disappeared & left all other desserts mostly untouched.they are really fuggin good.each batch had a different substitution for the pecans(below) becuz my sweetie is allergic to them.i also overcook the crumb crust for approx 3 to 5 minutes which gives it a slightly harder, crunchy, candied texture-as well as adding a little richness of flavor that is prolly missing w/o the pecans. <br/> the variations were, in equal amounts and recipe direction to the gone pecans: 1) belgian ginger thin cookies-(im using almond thins 2mrrw for a fourth variation option) 2) candied walnuts 3) toasted coconut (spread a layer of un-or sweetened shredded coconut on a cookie sheet and put in a toaster oven or under the broiler for a few minutes-keeping watch until the shred is golden brown)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mischef69 April 19, 2014

Fabulous! Easy to throw together. I will probably make this in an 11 x 9 pan next time so the cheesecake will be a little higher. Also might add a bit of lemon zest. But this recipe can stand on it's own as deserving of 5 stars. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ January 16, 2012

Yum! I made these using Low Fat Cream Cheese, Fat Free SC Milk, bottled lemon juice (it's all I had)and subbing walnuts for the pecans (again what I had on hand)and they were so very good. I know they'd have been even better with fresh lemon juice and full fat everything but there's really not much room for improvement even with my substitutions. The crust was a perfect texture and not overly sweet. The cheesecake was creamy yet firm enough to hold it's shape when cut. This ones a keeper for me. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete November 18, 2011

GREAT dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere October 21, 2011
Lemon Cheesecake Bars