9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were great! I made as written except for using one brick of lower fat cream cheese & 1 reg. and then doubled the lemon zest in the crust. I baked mine in an 8" pan and I liked having a taller amount of the cheesecake. I don't consider these cookies, it's just a nice, easy to make cheesecake. The texture is not too creamy or too dry which was a perfect compromise as I like a creamy cheese cake and DH like NY style. He especially loved the crust as he doesn't care much for graham cracker ones. I'll definitely be making these again! Made for PRMRT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet May 12, 2012

I made a half batch this morning and I'm so glad that I only made half! I could just keep on eating these lovely things. Used Splenda and 95% fat free cream cheese so I don't feel as guilty as I could have, lol. Wonderful creamy goodness in a bar. It you like lemon you just can't go wrong with this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 25, 2011

Wow, wow, wow Teresa. These were awesome, so good. Quick and really easy to make. We loved them. I made 1/2 the recipe for the two of us, wishing that I would have made the whole recipe, next time and there will be a next time. The tart lemon flavor is nestled in creamy cheesecake goodness. The bars really satisfied the cheesecake craving we were having, without all the calories and fuss. The lemon flavor is soft and subtle and the shortbread crust is excellent, crispy and perfect. Thank you for sharing your lovely recipe. It was the perfect ending to our wonderful Jamaican feast. Made FYC Tag Game 2015.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 14, 2015

I will be using this crust for anything and everything that asks for graham cracker, cookie or even some pastry pie crusts. One lemon did the trick when it was and rolled it under the palm of my hand to loosen up the juice before zesting and squeezing. The cheesecake was full of flavor and will definitely be made again. I do prefer more of a 'New York' style,more dry than moist like this. To be fair, I live just blocks from the Pacific Ocean and that seems to add moisture to everything I bake. I munched down a quarter of it, before I even considered sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Haven Inn December 02, 2014

These were good and quick to put together, I used the food processor for the crust and the batter for one "bowl" quick prep. I wanted something lemon and wanted to try something different from the usual lemon bars. I have yet to taste any better bar than Scrumptious Lemon Bars, but these were nice with a cheesecake twist. I think I would've preferred more lemon, it just didn't come through as much as I had wanted or perhaps cutting the sugar in the filling may have allowed more tartness to come through. Regardless, they were creamy goodness. Tip: Run a knife around the edge after baking to avoid cracks in your cheesecake as it cools. I did not line the pan with foil; only sprayed with cooking spray. All times were on point, this was enjoyed by all and went quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau August 15, 2014

Easy to make and turned out great. Brought them for our morning coffe gang. Not overly sweet with a great lemon flavor. Lemon desserts are one of my favorites. I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Bawbee September 26, 2012

Yumm! These were so good and easy! I love lemon desserts and these were a definite hit and will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Small Town Cook May 05, 2011

Yummy! Loved these! They were sweet, tart, lemony and creammy all at once. Thanks, Teresa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night January 24, 2010

Made these so that my other half would have something homemade to share at work, but managed to keep 10 of these TASTY COOKIES right here at home! Actually they didn't 'keep' very well at all, 'cause they were gone in no time! These are now a great, new lemon 'fix' for me! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 27, 2009
Lemon Cheesecake Bars