23 Reviews

Used a lemon cake mix, that was all I had! Added closer to 3 tsp of lemon juice. Wish I had doubled the cream cheese mixture so it would be thicker, but it was great.
Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell August 29, 2010

Very easy, didn't measure the lemon juice and probably used a lot more than a teaspoon. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese just because that is what I had on hand and about a 1/3 cup sour cream because I had it in the fridge and it sounded good to add in. I'm not rating because of the changes. It was a very good bar, I think I would have liked a less sweet crust but I still think it tasted and looked great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisandabby.com August 25, 2009

These were great and simple! I made them with lemon cake mix, as others here suggested, to punch up the lemon flavor. Also used strawberry cream cheese, and I topped the bars, just before serving them, with cut up strawberries that had been coated in a tblspn of sugar and sat for a 1 minute or two. Made a very yummy pink lemonade flavor; all were gone in 2 hours! Thank you for the great recipe - fun and easy to play with. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
perryn.reyelts April 25, 2009

I have to admit, this was pretty easy. I forgot about making a dessert for a function we were attending and this whipped up very quickly and looked really good. I was however disappointed in the lack of lemon flavor. I used more lemon juice than the recipe called for like some reviewers suggested, but I guess it wasn't enough more. Other than that. This was a hit! Thank you for the great 'in-a-pinch' recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iovinos April 10, 2009

These bars are wonderful! I used a french vanilla cake mix because that's what I had in the cupboard. I used 1/3 cup butter, melted instead of the oil. I also added a splash of vanilla and lemon extracts to the cream cheese layer. DD wanted to know, "When are you making that again, Mommy?" Definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita June 14, 2008

These are great! I added 1/2 stick melted butter to the crust mixture and used a lemon cake mix. Also I increased the lemon juice to make them extra tart - everyone loved them - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connor's Mom January 20, 2008

Made these for Christmas this year. They were pretty good. I don't know what they are missing, but they just weren't quite 5 star worthy. I did add more lemon juice to the cream cheese mixture because I really wanted to accent the lemon component. I also used lemon cake mix. I might make these again and try and tweak them a bit. Not bad though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katwomyn December 28, 2007

Oh, these are so yummy and pretty! I combined some hints from other reviewers and I had fabulous resutls. I used a lemon cake mix, added lemon zest to the cake mixture, plus a full tablespoon of fresh lemon juice to the filling. My kids were mad that I planned on taking the majority of them to work. Will definitely make these again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick December 11, 2007

Yum! I bet these would be even better made with lemon cake mix instead of yellow. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover June 14, 2007

Easy and tasty recipe but not very lemony as-is. I'd add a little lemon juice to the cake mix and more to the cream cheese filling. A sprinkle of powdered sugar on top made it pretty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenheard222 May 09, 2007
Lemon Cheesecake Bars