34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I may be sorry I discovered this lemony delicious recipe, it's incredibly addictive!! Chocked full of rich lemony flavor! I made in a 9x9" pan, adjusting the baking time as needed, otherwise making as directed. It's very likely I will be making this a lot!! Thank you so much, MaeEast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 01, 2008

This recipe was the best! Our family has recently been on a diet, and we have cut out most sweets. I made the Lemon Cake Squares for them and they loved it. Everyone fought over the last piece! It was so easy to make, and I had everything I needed. No special trips to the store for this recipe! It also was so easy to make my four year old did most of it. Thanks for submiting this wonderful recipe. It's a new family favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virgo916 May 16, 2003

Hubby loves this! I took other reviewers' advice and only put 1 cup sugar in the cake. (2/3 cup in the lemon juice.) As such, the cake part tastes a LOT like my mom's barely-sweet version of shortcake. But the lemon juice soaking down in makes it special! I found it necessary to poke holes in the cake with a fork so that it didn't all run down the sides.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn April 08, 2014

We love this recipe. I use 5 Tbsp of oil instead of the margarine and I cut the sugar in the cake down to one cup (it really doesn't need more than that). I've experimented with Splenda and I find that if I use one full cup of Splenda, the cake is much heavier and won't rise as much. So instead I use about half a cup of sugar and half a cup of Splenda, which comes out fine. I also use half a cup of water instead of the milk. This comes out great and I make it very often. Thank you for a lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cime1900 July 12, 2013

This turned out fabulous! I used my favorite gluten free flour and decreased the sugar to 1 cup. My teenage sons loved it. Thanks for a new family favorite, so quick and easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GF Deb April 13, 2013

I followed the suggestions to reduce the sugar & added lemon zest & lemon essence to the cake batter. I baked in a round cake tin as wanted a traditional looking cake. We intitally tried the cake without the lemon/sugar topping - it was nice enough but nothing outstanding. So I decided to make the topping (which I made 50/50 juice & sugar) - omg - talk about a different cake - it was divine & made it incredibly moist. I will definitely make it again with these changes - but will also use Apostolic's suggestion! I have given the recipe 4 stars because I think without the zest & essence in the cake, it wouldnt have been quite as good - but with them, it was definitely 5 star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustGemsOfNZ April 17, 2012

We liked this ok. We were craving my grandmas lemon cake, but I didn't have any lemon jello around, so I thought that we would try this instead. I would give the batter 4 stars...I could have drank the stuff, but the cake was only so-so. I added extra lemon on the side to dip it in, and that tasted pretty good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko January 25, 2009

These were fantastic!! I did make a few changes though, so I'll just leave comments. First off, I was out of granulated sugar. AND brown sugar. (I don't know how this can happen, but there you are!) So, I used soft demerara sugar; 1 cup for the batter and 1/3 cup for the topping. This was still plenty sweet, so I think the amount listed would be a bit much for me! Also, I used half lemon and half lime juice as my citrus fruit situation = 1/2 lemon and 2 limes. Baked in a glass 20 cm x 28 cm pan for a few minutes longer than listed. Incredibly delicious results for such a simple ingredient list! Thank you MaeEast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee July 05, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly except for the topping, where I used 1/3 cup lemon juice concentrate (made from real lemons though), lemon zest and 1/3 cup sugar. It turned out just lemony enough for me, but too lemony for my sister, so I guess it's up to taste. Extremely easy, and tastes ace with hot tea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syin July 02, 2007
Lemon Cake Squares