34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Super simple. The only thing I changed was grease and SUGAR the pan, instead of grease and flour the pan. Lovely little sparkley cake!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apostolic May 10, 2010

YUUUMY Delicious.. I listened to every one and only put in 1 CUP of sugar and the cake was plenty sweet enough. I also used a ½ teaspoon of lemon extract in the cake mix. I will make this often it is simple and like MaeEast says most of the time these ingredients are on hand. This is a good dessert because you don’t have to wait for it to cool.. Thank you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia January 11, 2009

I made these for a wedding shower this weekend and got lots of compliments! They had a nice lemon flavor and were nice and moist! I made a few slight changes. I made a double batch and baked it in a 9x13, but I think it was actually too much batter (maybe 1 1/2 batch would be better). I also added lemon zest to the batter, which was a really nice touch. Finally, I cut down the sugar (my habit) to 2 cups (1 per batch). I look forward to making these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparkle_eyes May 26, 2008

I can't say how delighted I am to have found this recipe! Once I started munching I couldn't quit & they couldn't be easier to make (maybe not such a good deal:o) I cut the recipe in half, baking it in a round cake pan & it turned out wonderful. A yummy light cake w/ a little zing of lemon. (Just a note: the vanilla is not in order with when to include it) Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff April 09, 2003

My daughter requested lemon cake for Thanksgiving this year... I'm not sure the cake will last that long. It's fantastic!! I followed the recommendations and added 1/2 tsp of lemon extract to the batter. I also reduced the sugar that goes on top (1/3 cup lemon juice + 1/3 cup sugar). It's fluffy and light and a great balance of sweet and tart. I'll definitely make this again - probably before Thanksgiving gets here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma November 27, 2013

Since discovering this recipe I've made it many times and am surprised I haven't reviewed it already. I use 1/4 c. sugar with 1/4 c. milk, 1 1/4 c. sugar and a 13x9 pan which makes a thick enough cake for us. I also use 1/4 c. lemon juice with 1/4 c. sugar for the topping . Thanks for the recipe cuisinebymae...as well as my family having it often, I take it to a club's monthly meeting and there is never any left to take home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck Genie... August 24, 2013

I love this recipe. It is my new go to recipe when I want a quick lemon dessert. I improvised a little by adding the juice of half a lemon and lemon zest from one lemon in the batter also. This is so light and fluffy and extremely habit forming. I have a Meyer lemon tree so I use those. They are juicier and are almost a cross between and orange and a lemon. Makes this cake wonderful!
If you like lemon, you will love this cake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breadbaker plus February 28, 2011

Gluten Free Version: I was in the mood for something lemony. I made a double reciple cake in a Bundt pan instead of the square pan. My husband and my sister, who is picky, loved it. I substituted All Purpose Gluten free flour instead of wheat flour, used (less sugar) one cup Stevia in the Raw and one cup sugar. Added an extra 1/4 teaspoon baking powder because of the change with the stevia. I also added two teaspoons almond extract because I love the taste of almond. For the topping, I had a lot of grapefruits so I used 1/3 cup grapefruit juice and 1/3 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice. I also added a teaspoon of the almond extract. What can I say? This is an excellent recipe. Thanks so much and thanks everyone for posting your substitutions. It really helped.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OdessaStone February 24, 2011

Lovely. This is especially nice made with fresh Meyer lemons. I used real butter, and halved the sugar. Also, rather than the vanilla, I scraped the seeds from a one inch length of vanilla bean and added the zest of my lemon to the batter. In my first attempt, I tried reducing the sugar by half in the topping and it ended up tasting like lemonade concentrate on top of the cake. The next time I used equal parts (scant 1/3 c) Meyer lemon juice and sugar. Meyer lemons, a cross of lemons and mandarin oranges, are not as tart as regular lemons. This was a nice combination. Neither too sweet, nor too sour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CTRmom January 20, 2009

I like it, but next time I will use a little less sugar. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manzana July 11, 2008
Lemon Cake Squares