64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will update this review to include stars the next time I make it because I used Splenda (not Splenda blend) instead of sugar. I give my comments in case anyone else considers doing this... I loved the flavour of the filling, but instead of having two distinct layers, mine was more like a light chiffon cake with a lightly browned top after 40 minutes of baking. I would like to also have a curd layer, so I will experiment with a Splenda to sugar ratio to see if it could be acceptable for a diabetic diet and then rate if I achieve success.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo May 23, 2010

This should be called Lemon Cloud Pie! The filling was so fluffy and had a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like mine with less sweetness and more tang so I used only 1/2 cup sugar. It's the only thing I changed and the filling still turned out awesome. I especially like to chill in in the fridge before serving. (Baking note: mine done in 35-40 mins at 350F and in the last 10 mins I needed to cover it with foil cuz the color was becoming too brown.)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp January 12, 2010

Lovely! I used 1 ts zest and 5 tbls juice (zest and juice of one lemon) and 1 1/4 C sugar - could up the lemoniness factor even further the next time. :-) For me, the recipe made just the right amount for a 9" deep pie dish! I covered the cake pie with parchment paper the last 20 minutes of baking to keep it from getting too brown, and it was most definitely done at 45 minutes; will check at 40 minutes or lower the heat just a tad the next time. And there will certainly be a next time! A great recipe, thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee March 03, 2010

I just took this out of the oven ten minutes ago. It's the second one I've made in the past month. My husband who isn't a huge lemon lover loves this cake pie. It is a snap to make and holds well for three or four days. I use less sugar (about 1/4 c. less) and more lemon zest and lemon juice. It browns very quickly so keep an eye on it past the 30 minute mark. Like others here I covered it with foil the last 10 minutes to keep it from getting too brown. I think next time I'll lower the heat a bit.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trishinomaha February 07, 2010

This is amazing. It really doesn't even need the pie crust - my kids ate the ramekins of extra filling without even realizing there was an actual pie cooling off!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalouche October 31, 2010

Such wonderful lemony flavor and so easy to make! I loved how this luscious pie formed separate custard and cake layers as it baked. There's a lot of filling, so be sure and use a deep dish shell. It's also a good idea to cover the pie with foil for part of the baking time. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes May 25, 2010

So easy to make, and soooo good. I used Splenda Blend, and had no problems cutting the amount in half. This is only my second time beating egg whites like this, so it was a little difficult for me, but next time will be easier. Went together quickly. 40 minutes is about perfect, and i like the top browned.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes April 24, 2010

10 Stars is my rating. This was awesome, even with bottled lemon juice. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle January 17, 2010

Outstanding, A Real Keeper! Thanks so much for a fast and easy recipe! I made this today and loved the lemony taste and the way that it just came together so quickly! I took another reviewer's advice and covered it in tinfoil for the first 30 minutes then it browned beautifully! This is definitely one that I will make to impress lemon lovers!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher November 15, 2009

DELISH! Wow was this super yummy! We just couldn't stop eating it! & so easy to make! I used 1 tsp of lemon zest and 6 tbsp of lemon juice after reading the reviews & knowing my love of lemon. It was not too much - either just right or I will add a smidge more lemon still next time - Because there will definitely be a next time!! There was leftover batter that I put into a little ramekin - just remember to pull this out way before the end of your cooking time - it doesn't need as long as the pie :) This was great hot & at room temperature; a refrigerated portion was my least favorite way texturally. Thanks so much for sharing. Placed into my "Zaar *6* Stars" public cookbook. [Made & Reviewed for Everyday is a Holiday Tag]

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 July 05, 2009
Lemon Cake Pie