Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Cake Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Cake Pie

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      I will update this review to include stars the next time I make it because I used Splenda (not Splenda blend) instead of sugar. I give my comments in case anyone else considers doing this... I loved the flavour of the filling, but instead of having two distinct layers, mine was more like a light chiffon cake with a lightly browned top after 40 minutes of baking. I would like to also have a curd layer, so I will experiment with a Splenda to sugar ratio to see if it could be acceptable for a diabetic diet and then rate if I achieve success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This should be called Lemon Cloud Pie! The filling was so fluffy and had a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like mine with less sweetness and more tang so I used only 1/2 cup sugar. It's the only thing I changed and the filling still turned out awesome. I especially like to chill in in the fridge before serving. (Baking note: mine done in 35-40 mins at 350F and in the last 10 mins I needed to cover it with foil cuz the color was becoming too brown.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Lovely! I used 1 ts zest and 5 tbls juice (zest and juice of one lemon) and 1 1/4 C sugar - could up the lemoniness factor even further the next time. :-) For me, the recipe made just the right amount for a 9" deep pie dish! I covered the cake pie with parchment paper the last 20 minutes of baking to keep it from getting too brown, and it was most definitely done at 45 minutes; will check at 40 minutes or lower the heat just a tad the next time. And there will certainly be a next time! A great recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I just took this out of the oven ten minutes ago. It's the second one I've made in the past month. My husband who isn't a huge lemon lover loves this cake pie. It is a snap to make and holds well for three or four days. I use less sugar (about 1/4 c. less) and more lemon zest and lemon juice. It browns very quickly so keep an eye on it past the 30 minute mark. Like others here I covered it with foil the last 10 minutes to keep it from getting too brown. I think next time I'll lower the heat a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      This is amazing. It really doesn't even need the pie crust - my kids ate the ramekins of extra filling without even realizing there was an actual pie cooling off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Such wonderful lemony flavor and so easy to make! I loved how this luscious pie formed separate custard and cake layers as it baked. There's a lot of filling, so be sure and use a deep dish shell. It's also a good idea to cover the pie with foil for part of the baking time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      So easy to make, and soooo good. I used Splenda Blend, and had no problems cutting the amount in half. This is only my second time beating egg whites like this, so it was a little difficult for me, but next time will be easier. Went together quickly. 40 minutes is about perfect, and i like the top browned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      10 Stars is my rating. This was awesome, even with bottled lemon juice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Outstanding, A Real Keeper! Thanks so much for a fast and easy recipe! I made this today and loved the lemony taste and the way that it just came together so quickly! I took another reviewer's advice and covered it in tinfoil for the first 30 minutes then it browned beautifully! This is definitely one that I will make to impress lemon lovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      DELISH! Wow was this super yummy! We just couldn't stop eating it! & so easy to make! I used 1 tsp of lemon zest and 6 tbsp of lemon juice after reading the reviews & knowing my love of lemon. It was not too much - either just right or I will add a smidge more lemon still next time - Because there will definitely be a next time!! There was leftover batter that I put into a little ramekin - just remember to pull this out way before the end of your cooking time - it doesn't need as long as the pie :) This was great hot & at room temperature; a refrigerated portion was my least favorite way texturally. Thanks so much for sharing. Placed into my "Zaar *6* Stars" public cookbook. [Made & Reviewed for Everyday is a Holiday Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      So yummy! I much prefer this to a meringue pie; it doesn't weep and it lasts longer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      WOW! Deep-dish, frozen pie crusts are sold only in pairs at my grocery store. I know from experience that leftover frozen pie crusts get beaten up in my freezer, so I increased the recipe by half and had the right amount of filling for two pies. Use 'Zaar's "change servings and units" feature to change the number of pies from 1 to 1.5. What to do about 4 1/2 eggs? I just used five eggs, separated. Do watch the pies toward the end of baking. I let mine over-bake a bit and I plan to start checking earlier than I did this time (at 45 instead of 50 minutes). The pies were terrific even over-baked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      This is an extraordinary recipe - thank you so much Engrossed! As a pie it was delicious, yet I preferred it when I baked the excess filling in buttered ramekins. I set the oven at 365 degrees F and baked the ramekins with the pie and removed them from the oven after 25 minutes, yet I should have taken the ramekins out a bit earlier - at 20 or 22 minutes depending on the browning on top. When I baked the filling in the ramekins the consistency was incredible - almost like a sticky lemon pudding/custard - and the taste was heavenly. The pie was very, very good too, yet next time I'm filling all my ramekins and baking them for 20 - 22 minutes at 365 F. <br/><br/>By the by, I followed the suggestions to cover the pie with foil after 25 minutes in the oven, and it was a great idea. My total baking time was 42 minutes, and the crust was just slightly soft in the middle.<br/><br/>Either version is scrumptious, yet I have a thing for desserts with a gooey, custardy consistency. I'm making it again later this week, and I'll use the buttered ramekins. Wow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Tonight I went to a pot luck dinner and was quite smitten with this lemon cake pie that
      was offered. Sooooooooo I decided to see if I could find it on line and here it is.........
      I promise you won't be disappointed. It is very plain looking but don't judge a book by
      its cover. A little sprinkle of 10x sugar would pretty it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Excellent recipe!! It was very easy to make, especially since I used a pre-made frozen crust. It browned in 45 minutes and it was perfect. My husband asked if it was a cake or a pie, I told him it was called a "Lemon Cake Pie" - he enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      yes, love it! have made this a couple times now. when i have lemons in the fridge, i think of this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Soooooo easy and oh so delicious! Came out perfect on my first attempt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I actually made this for Easter this year but am just now getting around to reviewing. This was so delicious! All 10 family members in attendance agreed that this was wonderful! I baked this with foil over the top for the first 37 minutes and then took it off so that the cake-pie browned for only a short while - just a personal preference!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I made these in a MINI TART pan from Demarle. I just cut rounds from store bought pie dough, and put a rounded tsp of filling in each one, and baked for approx. 15 minutes. I made these to take to a party. Usually there's desserts left-over, but NOT this time! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I followed the recipe but reduced the sugar to 1 cup based on many recommendations from previous reviewers. It was still too sweet. The flavor was nice but the texture was not smooth. It didn't have distinct layers either. I think I did not blend the eggs whites mixture into the the rest of it well enough in fear of over mixing, which might be why it didn't turn out well. I think I'll go back to lemon meringue pie? it always turns out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Cake Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.6
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    30%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 233.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 38.5 g
    154%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes