Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2010

      Delicious & simple frosting recipe. I was out of yellow food coloring, but I'd recommend it--it was a pretty plain off-white color. Yellow would have been so much prettier. This made plenty to generously cover a 12-cup bundt cake. It was a little on the stiff side, so have a little extra lemon juice or milk on hand in case you need it. Thanks for sharing, Molly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Wonderful frosting - tastes like you are eating lemonade! At first this didn't seem to have the intense lemony flavor I was hoping for and it seemed too grainy. However, when I served the cake the next day it was smoother and had a nice lemon flavor. I also grated more lemon rind and sprinkled the top of the cake with it for decoration and flavor which was nice. I used it to frost a double layer 9 inch cake and there wasn't quite enough. The frosting is so sweet though I think next time I'll use a lemon filling in the middle and this frosting on the top and sides.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This recipe is awesome! I wanted more flavor to my frosting so I added a tablespoon of limoncello liqueur, and it turned out perfect. I added the frosting to lemon cupcakes that had a raspberry filling and my coworkers (for whom I had made these for) couldn't get enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Yuummyy! Not too tart and not too sweet. Just delicious! Paired it with my coconut cream cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Used this to frost Extreme Lemon Bundt Cake Extreme Lemon Bundt Cake for my husband's birthday. Delicious !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Great Frosting. I'm even gonna try it sometime with key lime, or orange juices and peel just to see how they taste. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Ehhh... I wasn't a big fan. The rest of my family liked it, but I found that the amount of lemon rind in it was way to high. Maybe decrease the lemon rind by 1/4 tsp. and the lemon juice by 1 tbsp.? Anyways, I wasn't very happy with the way it turned out. Maybe it was just me, though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Delightful frosting - very lemony and light. I made a birthday cake for a friend - everyone raved about this frosting. I made is as written with a bit more lemon zest - it looked lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      WONDERFUL frosting! I used it to frost a lemon bundt cake. I did, however, add a little more milk to get the right consistency. I also added two tiny drops of yellow food coloring to give it a light lemony look. This frosting will definitely go in my recipe repertoire. I took it to a New Years Eve party and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Delicious! Lemony with just the right combination of tart and sweet.Cool Monday's picture is what convinced me to try this recipe, though I didn't add any food coloring so my frosting was barely off-white. I also used this with the lemon cake, but it would be fantastic with any cake...like white cake with raspberry filling..Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Awesome frosting!! I loved it. I love lemon and this was just what I was for, to make a wedding cake for some friends. They loved it to!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      I needed a lemon frosting for a lemon cake ( Extreme Lemon Bundt Cake ) and this was sure it. It's nice and lemony, as requested by my daughter for her birthday. Very easy to make and spreads beautifullyu. I saved a little before adding the yellow food color, to use for decorating. Thanks for the recipe Molly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This frosting was to die for! I used it for my Lemon Passion Cake for Easter. Try it, it's so easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (628 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.6
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    32%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 27.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 109.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 49.4 g
    197%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites