14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious & simple frosting recipe. I was out of yellow food coloring, but I'd recommend it--it was a pretty plain off-white color. Yellow would have been so much prettier. This made plenty to generously cover a 12-cup bundt cake. It was a little on the stiff side, so have a little extra lemon juice or milk on hand in case you need it. Thanks for sharing, Molly!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 26, 2010

Wonderful frosting - tastes like you are eating lemonade! At first this didn't seem to have the intense lemony flavor I was hoping for and it seemed too grainy. However, when I served the cake the next day it was smoother and had a nice lemon flavor. I also grated more lemon rind and sprinkled the top of the cake with it for decoration and flavor which was nice. I used it to frost a double layer 9 inch cake and there wasn't quite enough. The frosting is so sweet though I think next time I'll use a lemon filling in the middle and this frosting on the top and sides.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari August 06, 2007

This recipe is awesome! I wanted more flavor to my frosting so I added a tablespoon of limoncello liqueur, and it turned out perfect. I added the frosting to lemon cupcakes that had a raspberry filling and my coworkers (for whom I had made these for) couldn't get enough.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kikidavis February 15, 2012

Yuummyy! Not too tart and not too sweet. Just delicious! Paired it with my coconut cream cake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kamy December 30, 2011

Great Frosting. I'm even gonna try it sometime with key lime, or orange juices and peel just to see how they taste. I love it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Childers February 25, 2010

Ehhh... I wasn't a big fan. The rest of my family liked it, but I found that the amount of lemon rind in it was way to high. Maybe decrease the lemon rind by 1/4 tsp. and the lemon juice by 1 tbsp.? Anyways, I wasn't very happy with the way it turned out. Maybe it was just me, though...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyMuffin February 15, 2010

Delightful frosting - very lemony and light. I made a birthday cake for a friend - everyone raved about this frosting. I made is as written with a bit more lemon zest - it looked lovely.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer March 21, 2006

WONDERFUL frosting! I used it to frost a lemon bundt cake. I did, however, add a little more milk to get the right consistency. I also added two tiny drops of yellow food coloring to give it a light lemony look. This frosting will definitely go in my recipe repertoire. I took it to a New Years Eve party and everyone loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn Helen January 01, 2006

Delicious! Lemony with just the right combination of tart and sweet.Cool Monday's picture is what convinced me to try this recipe, though I didn't add any food coloring so my frosting was barely off-white. I also used this with the lemon cake, but it would be fantastic with any cake...like white cake with raspberry filling..Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 07, 2005
Lemon Buttercream Frosting