19 Reviews

Very yummy muffins. I tripled the amount of lemon rind to be added, and the result was wonderful. Very easy to make, and the blueberries remain whole and plump.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany July 09, 2001

This was my first try at muffins from scratch and they were TERRIFIC! Easy to make too!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
henrysmommy February 04, 2001

Very bland. Even with more zest. Needs lemon juice or something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgardner19 July 04, 2015

mild, lightly sweet, lovely texture and crumb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheesynei July 29, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe! I just made them they're not even "cool" yet but they are very yummy! I am a "it smell's done" kind of baker so I baked it at 350 for about 20- 24 min. I did not use paper baking cups but they popped right out with a little spray. ALSO I did not have fresh lemon or blueberries! Frozen blueberries and (roughly guessing) a tablespoon of lemon juice still worked very nicely! I'll use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsironchefnot May 21, 2010

I wanted to make mini muffins for a class snack and gave these a whirl. The only change I made to the recipe was to use the mini muffin pan with paper liners. I would not recommend this change - Completely stuck to the paper and a bit rubbery. Perhaps I'll give them another try (as large muffins) given all the rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skyeblu March 25, 2010

Definately a winner! (Not that I had any doubts.) Used zest of 1 small lemon and added the juice of 1/2 of it, as recommened by others. Substituted chopped toasted hazelnuts for the walnuts, which added a nice finishing flavor to the intial lemon, and bluberry mid-flavor. Will be my new go-to recipe for blueberry muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthworthcookie December 30, 2009

After reading a couple of reviews, I added more lemon zest and added some lemon juice to the mix. They came out oh so moist and so tasty! Made 14 muffins that I baked at 350F for about 25 minutes. Thanks Tonkcats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie September 16, 2009

Yummy muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** July 24, 2009

Really quite an excellent muffin. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the lemon zest, which I increased slightly to accommodate the entire lemon. I also used only the 1/2 cup sugar in the batter and sprinkled the remaining 2 Tbs over the uncooked muffins before putting in the oven. My husband, who is a lemon aficionado, absolutely loved them. Top notch Tonkcats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northwest Suechef July 19, 2009
Lemon-Blueberry Muffins