15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Daniele, this sauce certainly is easy to make, and very tasty, also! I served this over pasta as a serving for one, as my husband was away on business. Make sure that if you use this sauce over pasta, that you use a thicker pasta such as linguini or fettuccine as this is a very rich and heavy sauce. The basil added just the right touch! Thank you for the lovely supper tonight, Daniele! Even dining alone, one can still enjoy their meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 07, 2003

I substituted a can of fat-free evaporated milk and cut the chicken broth to 1/2 cup as the milk was a 12oz. can. Also threw in a package of frozen lobster meat and served over egg noodles. This was fantastic!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle TH October 20, 2007

Yummy!! I baked some halibut (with lemon slices on top), boiled some penne (small tube pasta)and steamed some frozen spinach. Then I made the sauce- keeping to the recipe except that I only had whipping cream-no half and half (so I got the FULL FAT version!!) and I added about a 2 Tbsp of white wine right before the lemon juice (Next time I will try adding more wine). So I tossed the pasta with the spinach and Lemon Basil Cream Sauce and placed a hunk of fish on top- YUMMY!! Oh, I halved the recipe and had the perfect amount for my DH, one child and me- (I don't like a lot of sauce, so some might think it was not enough??). Yes, my daughter ate it- but she is not a picky eater so I can not say for sure that it is kid friendly. Thank you- I will definitely make this one again. I plan on experimenting with fat free half and half (now that I gained all those calories from the fuller-then-fat version that I made!) and with chicken- baked and then cut up and tossed in. I'm thinking about trying like a baked ziti- combining chicken, spinach, pasta and sauce and baking it for 15-20 mins with some cheese sprinkled on top??? Hope you enjoy as much as I did!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 November 07, 2006

I loved this sauce!! I used it over pasta shells stuffed with a mixture of 2 cans of crab, 15 oz. of ricotta, and 1 (square) pkg. of frozen spinach, thawed and drained. I sprinkled another can of crab over the sauce and baked it for 30 minutes at 350. I topped it with diced roma tomatoes and fresh basil just before serving. It tastes very similar to a ravioli dish at Johnny Carino's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eerickson October 24, 2006

Yum yum! Very very good! I used dried basil and it was delish - I bet fresh basil would have been even better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish May 20, 2003

Made this tonight and used it over pasta and added lemon zest and some spinach, mushroom, katamala olives and artichokes. It was simple and delicious! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelleigh1729 March 11, 2015

This is exactly what I was looking for!! Made enough for a few nights. Followed the recipe exactly but followed the advice of some other reviewers and added a couple tablespoons of white wine with the lemon juice. Super yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brynnak February 21, 2013

Careful with the lemon juice. I should have used fresh sqeezed, but used 1/4 cup bottled instead. If using bottled lemon juice and you don't want the dish to be too overpowering, cut the amt in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Jo 829 September 05, 2008

I used more garlic and basil, probably doubled both. I sauteed Chicken breasts and put the pasta and sauce in a serving dish topped with sliced chicken basil then fresh shaved parmesan reggiano cheese. Thanks :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend April 02, 2008

I was amazed at how great this was and it was just like Cheesecake factory's sauce in it's bistro shrimp pasta dish. Wow, nice and peppery, thanks for this easy and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb O February 05, 2007
Lemon Basil Cream Sauce