Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      I love the taste of lemons, and these lemon bars have a really nice lemon taste. I did have some trouble making them, but it was no fault of the recipe. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed. Thanks for the recipe DiB's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      These are really tasty. I am not a huge fan of overly lemony desserts, but these were the perfect balance of rich buttery shortbread and sweet lemon. I left off the lemon rind, and would do so next time as well. They were really quite simple to whip together, and they were enjoyed by everyone who ate them at a family gathering! Thanks for posting; I'd definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      These are amazing and addicting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      These were amazing and so full of lemon flavor. I followed the recipe exactly (for once) and even my sweets-hating hubby can't stop eating them. I'm making another batch this week because they're that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      okay, I don't even like Lemon Bars and these are amazing. This recipe made a believer out of me! I followed the advice of another reviewer and replaced 1/4 cup flour with 1/4 cup nuts (walnuts, sent through the processor first). Also grated rind of an entire lemon into filling. Best lemon bars I've ever had (which isn't that many because, as I said, I have never liked them until NOW). A new family favorite. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I agree that there was not enough tart lemon flavor; I like mine more on the sour side. I increased the zest but there was still just something missing. I thought the crust was delicious. Next time I might add more juice and make them in a smaller pan because mine turned out very thin unlike the bars in the photos. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Yummy and just what I was craving. Haven't eaten these in a few years and this was exactly as I remembered and was hoping for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      This recipe is very much like the recipe I have been using for years, the difference being my recipe calls for 1 3/4 c. sugar and 1/3 c. flour in the topping. I will keep using my recipe, but these were very good. Thanks, DiB's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      These were great! So easy. I don't really like lemon, but these were not overly strong. The bottom crust is delicious! Tastes just like shortbread. The first bake only took 20 minutes for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Finally found a good lemon bar recipe! Just the right amount of tartness for me. I did not add any fresh lemon rind, and I even thought I kind of overbaked the topping a bit too much, but it still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Great recipe, my husband can't keep his hands off of them. I have made these twice and each time they were gone in a flash. I received many compliments. This is easy to do too, I did increase the amount of lemon rind though for a stronger lemon flavor. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Loved it, great easy recipe with almost everything on hand. I cooked it for the time listed and the topping did not set so I sliced it width wise and cooked 10 more minutes. still not done, slice twice more width wise and they came out perfect. Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

    • on July 09, 2007

      I suspect I will be giving these bars a 5 star the next timea around. I followd the directions exactly, using bottled lemon juice and leaving out the zest. I like sweet things, but these were WAY to sweet , even for me. I could barely taste the lemon flavor. Next time around, I will tweek the recipe a bit..Increase the lemon as others have and possibly decrease the sugar. Still, these were very easy to make, comvenient as I already had all ingredients on hand. I know these will be fabulous once they are prefected, and I will be making them much too often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      These have just the right amount of tartness, and a crumbly/smooth/chewy texture mix that elicits raves from co-workers and friends. I would advise from personal experience to make sure they're cooked all the way; to me, they appeared done long before they were cooked in the middle! Delicious---thanks, DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      You can't beat this lemon bar recipe. It is my opinion you must use real butter, sift your flour and use good, fresh lemons when baking this. Everyone wants the recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Just a helpful tip........ use kittencal's professional pan coating and there will not be any sticking.. works better than any coating you can use when grease and flour pans are required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Okay, so I won't blame you! Actually chose this recipe as I couldn't find the one I've got lying around, and I figured 79 reviews couldn't be wrong. Delicious! I didn't have quite enough real lemon juice, so I used what I had and supplemented with some of that fake lemon juice from concentrate and upped the amount of lemon zest to the zest of one lemon. I also decided to experiment with that 1/4 cup or so of my brother's homemade black raspberry jam by spreading it over the cooled crust before pouring the lemon filling into the pan. I may never make plain lemon bars again! Thanks, DiB, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Wow, these were amazing. I made them for family and friends, but couldn't stop myself from putting a couple aside for me! They were absolutely wonderful and will be made again and again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Wow, these smelled soooo yummy baking: just the crust! This is my first time on "the Zaar", and all I have to say is, "what a great place!" I LOVE being able to read all the reviews prior to cooking. From this, I learned to try lining the pan with parchment paper (bars came out perfect), and that some alterations would be fine: mine was making it lemon-lime instead of just lemon: most of the juice was lime, and the zest was lemon. Looking forward to trying more recipes and hanging out here! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    39%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 262.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes