262 Reviews

These were amazing! I made these for some friends, and they loved them! According to other reviewers' comments I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also used 1/2 cup lemon juice (part from two lemons, part from a bottle), and the zest of one lemon. I did not cool the crust before putting in the filling, and I topped with powdered sugar. So good! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delyanbaggins February 25, 2015

These were great. We added a bit extra lemon juice and zest from a whole lemon and didn't cool crust like other reviewers suggested. The crust is so crispy but just melt in your mouth. The lemon flavor is right on. The only mild complaint is that the filling was a little too soft set in my opinion. Not sure if cooking slightly longer would help? Thanks for the excellent recipe Dib's.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 02, 2015

Yum! Just finished eating one of these, and thinking of going back for more. I followed the recommendation of the reviewer before me - 1/2 cup fresh-squeezed lemon juice, zest of 1 lemon, beat the heck out of the eggs, spray the pan (Pyrex) with Pam - but otherwise followed directions to the letter. These little guys are perfect! Very lemony, tart but not so tart that your taste buds spasm, nice shortbread crust. I've found my go-to lemon bar recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden's Mom May 16, 2014

I did the increased lemon zest and juice, but didn't beat the eggs that long, just until light. After baking these, I cut a quick sample from the end, and I swear it tastes just like those old fashioned lemon drops that I remember as a kid. Since I'm in a commercial kitchen, I didn't have a 9 x 13 pan, so I rigged up foil to shorten the pan length, and revised recipe for 1-1/2 times the ingredients and it still turned out fantastic. This is my new favorite lemon bar; zesty, chess-pie like middle, awesome flavor and texture. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mannfordmom1 May 07, 2014

Definitely too much dough on bottom & not enough lemon-y sharpness. I'd make the crust thinner (maybe reduce the recipe by a tiny amount or maybe just press it tighter or toss a little of the mixture) and add much more lemon zest. That said, my first batch done following the recipe as is was very tasty; my guests liked them. I just like lemon too much, I guess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karwalkers February 26, 2014

Since finding this recipe,I have made it over and over,rach time I tweek it and it is at perfection level now.I add juice of 3-4 good size lemons and their zest(this really intensifies the flavour). SUPREME !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armo19 February 17, 2014

These to me were overly sweet. I didn't use the powdered sugar on top. I also used 1/2 c. lemon juice and the zest of one large lemon. The crust came out on the hard side and was difficult to cut even after cooling. Wish there was more lemon filling to this recipe. Think I may adjust the baking time for the crust and remove it earlier and maybe add an additional 1/2 measure of the filling recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 20, 2013

Used zest of 1 lemon and 1/2 cup lemon juice as others suggested and turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherAnnM November 18, 2013

Following the advice of other comments, I increased the lemon juice to 1/2 cup and lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I also slightly decreased the sugar because I like my lemon bars tangy and not too sweet. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dopestra August 12, 2013

The crust is light and perfect :) I added extra zest too, cause we like it lemony.. this is a great recipe, thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
womanofmystery April 01, 2013
Lemon Bars