250 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just another rave review here: these are fantastic & people request the recipe!

The only thing I do different is add more zest -- I zest all the lemons I use for the juice, so I end up with probably 1 1/2 T. of zest. This does NOT make it sour, I find it just gives a more lemony flavor without impacting the perfect sweet/sour balance of these bars.

Thanks for a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emilysassylime January 06, 2013

The bars are soo easy... love that I didnt have to cook lemon filling on the stovetop first. Just mix, pour, and bake! Thanks for easy peesie bars! Oh and they taste great too! I used one stick salted butter and one stick unsalted in the crust. Used half cup of lemon juice and about 2 tspns zest. They set during baking time and are yummy even warm outta the oven. Thank you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dans La Lune December 03, 2012

Absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS & EASY; my "helper" was a 3-yr old, and we did fine. I doubled the batch (why would you not - some to try when they are fresh from the oven, a supply to bring to friends/a party/etc, and a few extra the next day?). I followed the recipe almost exactly & found the ratio of cookie crust to lemon top perfect (as did a lemon-dessert-fiend I brought these too). One change was to add the zest of three regular lemons, plus the juice of those lemons, using jarred supermarket lemon juice to make up the difference. I reduced the sugar slightly - the doubled recipe unchanged would have required 4 cups sugar for the lemon part, & I used 3 & 1/2. I did find that both the crust and the crust plus-topping needed more time than the recipe indicated - approx 30 min. If you choose to eat the bars warm, the lemon top will not be fully set; it sets when it has cooled fully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caromcg November 19, 2012

these bars are amazing, and, yes...it was hard to not eat the entire pan by myself. my husband tends to not like sweets, but it was a race to the refrigerator after dinner every night...lol...great recipe and one i will use in the family cookbooks i am putting together for the kids for Christas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth olson September 27, 2012

I am very surprised this recipe is so highly rated. The top was so sickly sweet I think the '2 cups sugar' must be a typo... it was so sweet it left that weird feeling in the back of your throat. I followed the recipe exactly yet ended up throwing half the batch out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler September 17, 2012

I made these and can't stay out of them. I won't say how many I have already eaten - but a lot of them! The only question I have is how thick should they be when finished. Mine are only about 1/2 inch high. Is that right? The taste is excellent regardless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tabhop August 31, 2012

Excellent!! Wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is a keeper for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" August 20, 2012

Good! More butter cookie crust than filling, unlike other bars I've tried. Next time I would increase the lemon juice per other reviewers. The whole family loved them, I don't think they lasted more than a few hours. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 16, 2012

Lemon bars are one of my most favorite things and this recipe is one of the best I have used! I took the advice of a few ratings below and used the zest of one lemon as well as 1/2 cup lemon juice as opposed to 1/3 cup. The sweet/tart ratio was just right. I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for an easy, satisfying, refreshing dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BbyBluThghHghs August 13, 2012

I made these and they were a big hit at work. However, I did think the crust was a bit thick. I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice. This recipe is worth trying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissNansee August 12, 2012
Lemon Bars