263 Reviews

These were amazing. The only thing I did differently than the recipe stated was that I poured the filling in without cooling the crust and popped it right back in the oven. My topping was absolutely perfect, not runny at all. I found that the crust was really dense and pretty thick, but not disproportionate to the amount of lemon filling. I added in the zest of one lemon and it really gave it that perfect lemon flavor. I am in love with how perfect the filling was, I think it would be wonderful poured into a pie crust for a lemon meringue pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dayna G. May 08, 2016

Wow. Not often do I rate a recipe 5 stars but this one deserves it. Perfectly buttery crumbly crust, divine paired with lemon filling. These are so great. I followed what lots of other reviewers said and used zest of one lemon and juice of 3 large lemons (got about 2/3 cup). Husband thought it was fantastic too - and we're baking goods snobs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana May 07, 2016

Terrible. Will never use this recipe again! Turned out runny and had to throw it away. Don't believe these five star ratings at all. Go to another recipe. I doubt my rating even makes press. Something fishy going on here because I bake all the time. I went verbatim by this recipe and had such disastrous result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 03, 2016

I use this recipe every season! I loveee this so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza December 31, 2015

Fantastic! I get rave reviews when I make these bars. I up the lemon juice to 1/2 cup and I ALWAYS USE FRESH-SQUEEZED LEMON JUICE! There is a huge difference between fresh-squeezed lemon juice and all the from-concentrate options. However, I still have yet to do it right. I just learned that my lemon zest method was incorrect. I've been including the pith (white part of the rind) along with the zest (oily yellow skin). Next time get the zest right and see if I like it better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food December 14, 2015

Very tasty lemon bars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silkster October 06, 2015

I made these lemon squares for a dinner party. I added lemon rind to the crust and doubled the lemon rind in the custard. I thought they were terrible. Too sweet and no flavour. Sometimes they taste better the second day, not really in this case. I would not make again- but they were easy to make! Not tangy or very lemony.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pjbertuzzi August 30, 2015

For a lemon bar recipe, this is great. I got compliments from the people who tried them. The people I made it for must be pretty picky eaters because although there were 2 dz people there, only 12 lemon bars were gone. I followed all of CindyMarie's suggestions to a T including using foil and chilling the bars before cutting. It worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth August 22, 2015

I found the base of these lemon bars *extremely* floury tasting.... but how can you argue with 250 positive reviews? Then it hit me - the Australian cup size is larger than then American. So be warned my fellow Australians: Go with approx. 240g of flour rather than measuring it in your standard cooking measuring cup! https://www.dovesfarm.co.uk/resources/conversion-tables/us-cups-conversion-table/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SophieLovesCupcakes August 16, 2015

I absolutely love this recipe. They are the perfect combination of buttery crust and a perfectly not to tart lemon. This past weekend I tried a little substitution and it turned out amazing. I used 1/2 key lime juice, and no zest, added about 10-12 drops of green food coloring, and they were wonderful. I plan on trying some other citrus juices as well. I will keep posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teamnewbill March 17, 2015
Lemon Bars