263 Reviews

These bars were perfect . . . I actually made mini muffin tarts (just made them in mini muffin pans with liners) and then I had enough crust leftover for a loaf pan . . . the crust is amazing! I used the leftover crust to eat plain (like shortbread), then spread some Nutella over some of the still warm, cut up crust - heaven . . . and then the lemon bars themselves came out . . . Oh My Word!! Delightfully heavenly and the recipe was soooo simple! This is now my go to recipe. Like others, I used 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (roughly 3-4 lemons), and then the zest of 2 lemons, with some left to sprinkle of top of the finished products. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick July 19, 2009

I must be a glutton for punishment! I've made this recipe 3 times, because it tasted amazing...but I'm giving it 3 stars for the simple reason...the lemon curd would NOT SET UP! It was a runny, drippy, awesome tasting bar...we put it with ice cream. After reading other reviews, I wonder if cooking it more time might be the answer. The top was brown and hard when I removed it from the oven, so I didn't want the top black. Very tasty but not the bar i'm still looking for!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxygibbs January 25, 2009

The flavor was amazing and the large amount of crust was perfect for me. The filling's consistency, however, was almost liquid. What did I do wrong?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kap8s March 24, 2008

I'm not putting any stars here because I think I must have done something wrong. My 'bars' didn't come out as bars at all, except for the very edges of the pan. I cut the recipe in half, but otherwise followed it exactly and put it in a 9x9 pan. It came out completely liquid, literally! The crust was still okay, but the 'filling' was liquid still, and I can't figure out why! However, I cut out the edges that had firmed a little after cooling, and my husband is currently scarfing them down, so the recipe must be really good when it turns out right. Can't figure out what I did wrong, sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 February 24, 2008

These bars were just ok. There was not enough lemon flavor and I doubled the juice. The crust was ok, but lacked flavor. Would have been better with some chopped pecans in the crust. I will probably not make this again, but thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geckoluvr2000 September 28, 2007

Dineal, this was one of the first recipes I tried when I stumbled onto Recipezaar. I've been addicted to Zaar since! We had guests that day and the lady requested the recipe!! Thank you Dineal for a zingy-zangy treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam November 30, 2003

I too followed the recipe exactly. As a matter of fact, I made it twice with the same problem, the crust stuck badly. Just to pry some of the pieces out caused it to break up. What causes this? But, that aside it was DECLICIOUS! Probably one of the best tasting desserts I have ever made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Pebbles** August 14, 2003

I was skeptical about it first but this turned out to be great. I did tweak the recipe because, for most desserts, I eat less sugar. As for most recipes, you play around with them, modify, and so on to make them more personal & suitable for your taste. Followed everything else exactly but here are the modifications and it still turned out great, not overly sweet or tart: Added a handful of shredded coconut to the crust (base mixture). (next time, I will add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to see how that works out; or perhaps use graham crackers mixture as the base) Added 1 teaspoon of orange extract to the crust (base). I reduced the crust sugar to 1/4 cup. I feared it wouldn't be sweet enough but it turned out perfect. The thing with sugar is that if it's too much sweet, it's hard to go back once baked, but you can always sprinkle on top later on if needed. Now the filling: As others suggested, use electric beater for 4-6 minutes, till you see some foam. This will thicken your filling and it won't be runny. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup (2 cups of sugar in the original recipe is way too much, start with 1 1/4 cup, dip your finger, see how it tastes, then add more if needed. As I've said, you can always sprinkle on top later on). Kept the same amount of lemon (1/3 cup) and used zest of 2 lemons Baked for 20-25 minutes. Don't over bake. You want some jello like consistency because it will harden further once taken out of the oven. Again, depends on your taste. Further modification for the future, I might add some orange extract or rose water to the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kritt 4. September 03, 2016

I was persuaded by crowd mentality on this one, despite what is easily surmised by scanning the ingredients. These bars are sickeningly sweet. I love all things sweet, I am a true cookie monster. Yet these were beyond sweet. They held their shape just fine and look pretty enough. I followed the directions precisely and they tasted like a sugar ball soaked in lemon pledge, wrapped in spun sugar, topped with powdered sugar covred in sugar syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko June 11, 2016

I also upped the lemon juice to a 1/2 cup and used about a teaspoon and a half of zest. I followed the rest of the recipe. I did beat the eggs with a wisk for about five minutes. Used a glass dish. Also let crust cool a bit but it was still warm when I put filling in. Cooked a half hour and it looked set. Crust stuck on the side but after running a knife around,it was fine. It set perfectly. Is delicious!! I didn't give five stars because as other people stated...the crust to filling ratio is off. Needs more filling. Very great anyway...thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mariellyn25 June 10, 2016
Lemon Bars