250 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I must be a glutton for punishment! I've made this recipe 3 times, because it tasted amazing...but I'm giving it 3 stars for the simple reason...the lemon curd would NOT SET UP! It was a runny, drippy, awesome tasting bar...we put it with ice cream. After reading other reviews, I wonder if cooking it more time might be the answer. The top was brown and hard when I removed it from the oven, so I didn't want the top black. Very tasty but not the bar i'm still looking for!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxygibbs January 25, 2009

The flavor was amazing and the large amount of crust was perfect for me. The filling's consistency, however, was almost liquid. What did I do wrong?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kap8s March 24, 2008

I'm not putting any stars here because I think I must have done something wrong. My 'bars' didn't come out as bars at all, except for the very edges of the pan. I cut the recipe in half, but otherwise followed it exactly and put it in a 9x9 pan. It came out completely liquid, literally! The crust was still okay, but the 'filling' was liquid still, and I can't figure out why! However, I cut out the edges that had firmed a little after cooling, and my husband is currently scarfing them down, so the recipe must be really good when it turns out right. Can't figure out what I did wrong, sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 February 25, 2008

These bars were just ok. There was not enough lemon flavor and I doubled the juice. The crust was ok, but lacked flavor. Would have been better with some chopped pecans in the crust. I will probably not make this again, but thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geckoluvr2000 September 28, 2007

Dineal, this was one of the first recipes I tried when I stumbled onto Recipezaar. I've been addicted to Zaar since! We had guests that day and the lady requested the recipe!! Thank you Dineal for a zingy-zangy treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam December 01, 2003

I too followed the recipe exactly. As a matter of fact, I made it twice with the same problem, the crust stuck badly. Just to pry some of the pieces out caused it to break up. What causes this? But, that aside it was DECLICIOUS! Probably one of the best tasting desserts I have ever made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Pebbles** August 14, 2003

I absolutely love this recipe. They are the perfect combination of buttery crust and a perfectly not to tart lemon. This past weekend I tried a little substitution and it turned out amazing. I used 1/2 key lime juice, and no zest, added about 10-12 drops of green food coloring, and they were wonderful. I plan on trying some other citrus juices as well. I will keep posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teamnewbill March 17, 2015

I love the limited ingredients for this recipe and relative ease...however these would be unremarkable in lemon flavor as written. You really do need to add a full 1/2 cup of lemon juice and lemon zest to give this great lemon flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggyblue March 12, 2015

These were amazing! I made these for some friends, and they loved them! According to other reviewers' comments I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also used 1/2 cup lemon juice (part from two lemons, part from a bottle), and the zest of one lemon. I did not cool the crust before putting in the filling, and I topped with powdered sugar. So good! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delyanbaggins February 25, 2015

These were great. We added a bit extra lemon juice and zest from a whole lemon and didn't cool crust like other reviewers suggested. The crust is so crispy but just melt in your mouth. The lemon flavor is right on. The only mild complaint is that the filling was a little too soft set in my opinion. Not sure if cooking slightly longer would help? Thanks for the excellent recipe Dib's.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 02, 2015
Lemon Bars