Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2013

      These to me were overly sweet. I didn't use the powdered sugar on top. I also used 1/2 c. lemon juice and the zest of one large lemon. The crust came out on the hard side and was difficult to cut even after cooling. Wish there was more lemon filling to this recipe. Think I may adjust the baking time for the crust and remove it earlier and maybe add an additional 1/2 measure of the filling recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Used zest of 1 lemon and 1/2 cup lemon juice as others suggested and turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Following the advice of other comments, I increased the lemon juice to 1/2 cup and lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I also slightly decreased the sugar because I like my lemon bars tangy and not too sweet. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      The crust is light and perfect :) I added extra zest too, cause we like it lemony.. this is a great recipe, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      With so many lemon bar recipes out there, sometimes it's hard to find just the right one. I made these bars for Easter weekend, they were delicious. I made a couple of changes though. I only used 1 1/2 cups of flour for the crust, and cut down on the butter...using 3/4 cup instead. I'm wondering if next time I might cut the sugar in the filling down to about 1 3/4 cup too, as they seemed really sweet. I used about 1/2 cup of real lemon juice too. Very tasty lemon bars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      A colossal failure!! I have made a couple of different recipes for lemon bars. I have never, ever had one fail like this. I followed the instructions exactly. Crust was OK, but filling NEVER set. It was totally liquid, even when browned on top. I tried putting back in the oven on 325 for another 20 minutes, thinking that would help. After refrigerating, there was a little bit of gel on the top and bottom, but the interior was again, totally liquid. I am disgusted. Wasted 2 sticks of real butter, Meyer lemons off my tree, and 4 fresh eggs. Had to throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Just another rave review here: these are fantastic & people request the recipe!

      The only thing I do different is add more zest -- I zest all the lemons I use for the juice, so I end up with probably 1 1/2 T. of zest. This does NOT make it sour, I find it just gives a more lemony flavor without impacting the perfect sweet/sour balance of these bars.

      Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      The bars are soo easy... love that I didnt have to cook lemon filling on the stovetop first. Just mix, pour, and bake! Thanks for easy peesie bars! Oh and they taste great too! I used one stick salted butter and one stick unsalted in the crust. Used half cup of lemon juice and about 2 tspns zest. They set during baking time and are yummy even warm outta the oven. Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS & EASY; my "helper" was a 3-yr old, and we did fine. I doubled the batch (why would you not - some to try when they are fresh from the oven, a supply to bring to friends/a party/etc, and a few extra the next day?). I followed the recipe almost exactly & found the ratio of cookie crust to lemon top perfect (as did a lemon-dessert-fiend I brought these too). One change was to add the zest of three regular lemons, plus the juice of those lemons, using jarred supermarket lemon juice to make up the difference. I reduced the sugar slightly - the doubled recipe unchanged would have required 4 cups sugar for the lemon part, & I used 3 & 1/2. I did find that both the crust and the crust plus-topping needed more time than the recipe indicated - approx 30 min. If you choose to eat the bars warm, the lemon top will not be fully set; it sets when it has cooled fully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      these bars are amazing, and, yes...it was hard to not eat the entire pan by myself. my husband tends to not like sweets, but it was a race to the refrigerator after dinner every night...lol...great recipe and one i will use in the family cookbooks i am putting together for the kids for Christas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I am very surprised this recipe is so highly rated. The top was so sickly sweet I think the '2 cups sugar' must be a typo... it was so sweet it left that weird feeling in the back of your throat. I followed the recipe exactly yet ended up throwing half the batch out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      I made these and can't stay out of them. I won't say how many I have already eaten - but a lot of them! The only question I have is how thick should they be when finished. Mine are only about 1/2 inch high. Is that right? The taste is excellent regardless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Excellent!! Wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is a keeper for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Good! More butter cookie crust than filling, unlike other bars I've tried. Next time I would increase the lemon juice per other reviewers. The whole family loved them, I don't think they lasted more than a few hours. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Lemon bars are one of my most favorite things and this recipe is one of the best I have used! I took the advice of a few ratings below and used the zest of one lemon as well as 1/2 cup lemon juice as opposed to 1/3 cup. The sweet/tart ratio was just right. I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for an easy, satisfying, refreshing dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      I made these and they were a big hit at work. However, I did think the crust was a bit thick. I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice. This recipe is worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      We loved this recipe. I lined my pan with parchment paper because it is better for the environment than foil. I beat eggs 7 minutes until frothy. I used zest of one lemon and lemon juice from that. I used agrave syrup in place of the sugar since I am a a diabetic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      This is the exact same recipe and method that I have been using for yrs. Very popular and many, many versions almost the same here on this site. On occasion, I have added a cream cheese icing with lots of lemon rind. This is also very popular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      We make this recipe all the time. It's easy and delicious! No need to cool the shortbread either just pour it on in. I add a dash of lemon extract to the dough and use the zest of however many lemons i juiced to make the half cup. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      simple to make and the flavor is sweet but good. Only thing I didn't like is they fell apart easily. I was looking for a bar that wasn't chocolate to bring to a family gathering. These fell apart too easily for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    39%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 262.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes