Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2013

      I was very pleased with how these turned out, although I was concerned with the setting up because of some reviewers difficulties. I did not increase the lemon juice as some suggested but did increase the lemon zest to 2 teaspoons. I lined the pan with foil and sprayed with Pam. There was a bit of leakage at the corners resulting in a little sticking, so the corner pieces were not pretty; we just took care of those immediately! I did beat the eggs, sugar, and lemon juice for 7 minutes as many suggested. Although the recipe says 12 servings I found this to be a very rich lemon bar and cut them into 32 "fingers". Give the pan a 180 half way through to ensure even baking. It seems a bit complicated the first time you make the recipe changes but the next time it'll be easy and well worth the care. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I made this last night with a few changes. I divided into two 8x8 disposable aluminum pans, using 1 stick butter and 1/2 cup ghee for the base, and also incorporated the zest and juice of 1 lemon, making up the rest of the 1/3 cup juice with bottled. I also didn't wait for the base to cool, but pored the filling onto the still hot bases and stuck back into the oven. It did stick on the sides but running a knife down the side releases it easily. I liked the idea of lining the pan with foil so to lift out and cut into squares, but a little spray would probably take care of the sticking issue. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I thought they tasted good even though I don't like lemon flavored things...My hubby loves lemon..says the crust was too buttery..I realized I let the butter soften before I mixed it with the flour...Did I goof??? also I cooked the crust 25 min and it looked cooked.then when I cooked the rest for another 25 min it came out burnt tasting..HELP!!!! how could I have done this better

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      Nom nom nom

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      Made these for a group of ladies and they disappeared! I myself don't really care for lemon flavored anything, but I actually thought these were quite good. Made them exactly as directed. Not too sweet and just the right amount of lemon flavor. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      This is delicious! I actually feel a little sick because i've eaten so much already before it's cooled down. I made the base the 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 margerine as the fat in butter will raise your blood cholesterol like crazy. I used 1/2 c of lemon juice and 1 1/2 c of sugar and it was still a little sweet and not quite lemony enough so I could change that ratio next time and maybe double the lemon top if I have enough eggs! Used a silicon dish so sticking wasn't a problem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      These lemon bars taste delicious, but I had quite a few problems with the recipe. First, they never set up completely even after beating the eggs first as other reviewers suggested. The tops and sides were browned but the middle was still runny. Also, they stuck to the pan even though I sprayed it liberally with PAM. I added more zest for flavor. These can easily be a 5 star recipe for taste, but I was not able to cut and serve these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I don't know what I did wrong... I followed the directions, but it came out goey, and didn't set up??? Any suggestions?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      These tasted really, really good. My only problem was that they didn't set up all the way. They were runny. I'm going to try these again with the suggestion of whipping the eggs longer. They taste fanstastic, so I really want this to work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      These bars were perfect . . . I actually made mini muffin tarts (just made them in mini muffin pans with liners) and then I had enough crust leftover for a loaf pan . . . the crust is amazing! I used the leftover crust to eat plain (like shortbread), then spread some Nutella over some of the still warm, cut up crust - heaven . . . and then the lemon bars themselves came out . . . Oh My Word!! Delightfully heavenly and the recipe was soooo simple! This is now my go to recipe. Like others, I used 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (roughly 3-4 lemons), and then the zest of 2 lemons, with some left to sprinkle of top of the finished products. Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I must be a glutton for punishment! I've made this recipe 3 times, because it tasted amazing...but I'm giving it 3 stars for the simple reason...the lemon curd would NOT SET UP! It was a runny, drippy, awesome tasting bar...we put it with ice cream. After reading other reviews, I wonder if cooking it more time might be the answer. The top was brown and hard when I removed it from the oven, so I didn't want the top black. Very tasty but not the bar i'm still looking for!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      The flavor was amazing and the large amount of crust was perfect for me. The filling's consistency, however, was almost liquid. What did I do wrong?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I'm not putting any stars here because I think I must have done something wrong. My 'bars' didn't come out as bars at all, except for the very edges of the pan. I cut the recipe in half, but otherwise followed it exactly and put it in a 9x9 pan. It came out completely liquid, literally! The crust was still okay, but the 'filling' was liquid still, and I can't figure out why! However, I cut out the edges that had firmed a little after cooling, and my husband is currently scarfing them down, so the recipe must be really good when it turns out right. Can't figure out what I did wrong, sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      These bars were just ok. There was not enough lemon flavor and I doubled the juice. The crust was ok, but lacked flavor. Would have been better with some chopped pecans in the crust. I will probably not make this again, but thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Dineal, this was one of the first recipes I tried when I stumbled onto Recipezaar. I've been addicted to Zaar since! We had guests that day and the lady requested the recipe!! Thank you Dineal for a zingy-zangy treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      I too followed the recipe exactly. As a matter of fact, I made it twice with the same problem, the crust stuck badly. Just to pry some of the pieces out caused it to break up. What causes this? But, that aside it was DECLICIOUS! Probably one of the best tasting desserts I have ever made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      Yum! Just finished eating one of these, and thinking of going back for more. I followed the recommendation of the reviewer before me - 1/2 cup fresh-squeezed lemon juice, zest of 1 lemon, beat the heck out of the eggs, spray the pan (Pyrex) with Pam - but otherwise followed directions to the letter. These little guys are perfect! Very lemony, tart but not so tart that your taste buds spasm, nice shortbread crust. I've found my go-to lemon bar recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I did the increased lemon zest and juice, but didn't beat the eggs that long, just until light. After baking these, I cut a quick sample from the end, and I swear it tastes just like those old fashioned lemon drops that I remember as a kid. Since I'm in a commercial kitchen, I didn't have a 9 x 13 pan, so I rigged up foil to shorten the pan length, and revised recipe for 1-1/2 times the ingredients and it still turned out fantastic. This is my new favorite lemon bar; zesty, chess-pie like middle, awesome flavor and texture. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Definitely too much dough on bottom & not enough lemon-y sharpness. I'd make the crust thinner (maybe reduce the recipe by a tiny amount or maybe just press it tighter or toss a little of the mixture) and add much more lemon zest. That said, my first batch done following the recipe as is was very tasty; my guests liked them. I just like lemon too much, I guess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Since finding this recipe,I have made it over and over,rach time I tweek it and it is at perfection level now.I add juice of 3-4 good size lemons and their zest(this really intensifies the flavour). SUPREME !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    39%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 262.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes