252 Reviews

These were so good that my husband ate half of what I made! Very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potato715 March 26, 2009

I made 1/2 batch of these Bars and they were gone faster than a speeding bullet! I used fresh lemon juice and zest. Everyone wants to know when I will be making them again. I wish I could give this recipe more than FIVE STARS. I made it with relative ease. Absolutely AWWESOME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny Day March 23, 2009

Excellent! I used 1/2 cup lemon juice and the zest of one lemon. They were still very wet at 25 minutes, so I cooked them an extra ten and they were perfect! I found them much easier to cut when I chilled them for a while.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_richmond February 15, 2009

These were pretty good but not as lemony as I would have liked. I liked the crust but the custard was not as tart as I thought it should be. I will still be looking for a better lemon bar recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabel31 January 25, 2009

Very good flavor, however, after 3 attempts I could not get the center to set for anything. Not going to try a fourth time, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jones.2392 January 25, 2009

These are super delicious. This is the same recipe that my mother uses. My recipe card from her is sugar and lemon spackled from much use. I think the most important thing to remember in this recipe is to use real butter and fresh lemons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko January 06, 2009

These are simply Wonderful!!! I brought these over to my in laws on Christmas morning and they were gone before noon. Even my picky sister in law loved these, I kept seeing her sneak back in the kitchen for more. I took the suggestions of reviewers and baked in a glass bowl lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Next I increased the lemon juice to 1/2 cup and decreased the sugar to one cup. I cooled the bars for an hour then sliced up and they came out mostly perfect just a few crumbled but overall I was very pleased with the results and will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris_tam December 27, 2008

THESE are the lemon bars I was looking for. Absolutely perfect. We increased the lemon quite a bit, but I'm a lemon hound, so that's not really all that surprising :) Wonderful! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX December 21, 2008

We loved the flavor of these bars, I can't keep my husband out of them. I did have trouble with the filling never setting up completly. They are still a little runny esp. in the middle. I will have to maybe bake them longer? or perhaps beat the eggs longer? I don't know, but I will make them again because the flavor is awsome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darling76 December 18, 2008
Lemon Bars