Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-220 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2007

      These are the best lemon squares I have ever made. The texture, flavor, and appearance are all perfect! One hint: I had trouble pressing the base into the pan because it kept sticking to my fingers, so I dipped my fingers in flour each time the dough started to stick, and it worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Wowsers were these delicious. I sprayed my foiled lined pan with PAM and had no trouble getting them out. They are so, so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      I made these for a bake exchange and followed the directions exactly, using fresh lemon juice and zest. I lightly greased the pan like other reviewers suggested but they still stuck and were hard to remove...so they looked ugly and I couldn't use them for the exchange. My family also wouldn't eat them so I ended up just throwing them out, they were too sweet with a weird texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I lost my favorite lemon bar recipe (it was a modified Sunset Cookies and Bars cookbook recipe) so I used this as a guide. I remember from past experience with the other recipe to beat the eggs with an electric mixer for 5-8 minutes...this eliminates the need for extra baking time or runniness...I did this before adding the other ingredients and the mixture ends up thick and smooth...also doubled lemon zest for topping and added additional zest to the crust also substituting Earth Balance non-hydrogenated margarine for half the butter , a little more lemon juice, a little less sugar, a bit of lemon oil flavoring, and a glass baking dish works well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      These luscious lemon bars come from the July '01 issue of Southern Living magazine. They are died-and-gone-to-heaven fabulous. As other reviewers have mentioned, they will stick to the pan unless you lightly grease it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      These are yummy and easy. I doubled the recipe and they didn't last. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      I doubled this recipe plus added extra zest and lemon juice along with 1/4 cup extra flour 1/2 tsp corn starch it set up great. A friend made it with lime and it was very refreshing. Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Easy, tasty recipe. Bars were a hit at a work BBQ - even on my first try! Used fresh lemon juice but might try a more concentrated version next time for even more lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      AWESOME recipe!!!! Easy to follow directions and great lemn flavor. I did as others did in their reviews and sprayed the pans with pam, then wiped out. I also added about 1/2 tsp of cornstarch as I was afraid they may not set up. They did, perfectly. Also used fresh squeezed lemon juice and zest of entire lemon. Outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Dib's made these exactly as your recipe directed. These were very easy and delicious, and besides the family I have here, took some as a gift to DH's Granddaughters to celebrate the arrival of his first Great Great Granddaughter. They we consumed so fast we didn't get any, sure glad we ate some here...lol. Next batch I will be increasing the lemon as we enjoy a stronger than most would care for lemony taste. Also have a slight hint for Rapvnzle who had problems getting them out of the pan...immediately upon removing from the over run a dinner knife along the edges of the pan, then put the powdered sugar on top. Also, she could have not pressed the crust in firmly enough, I wound up having to prick my crust a bit with a fork to avoid it bubbling up during the baking process. But for sure everyone you truely must try these easy and delicious bars. And Thank You so very much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      The bars are good from the remainder pieces that were stuck to the bottom of the pan. I made these for a bake sale and it was IMPOSSIBLE to get the darn things out of the pan in one piece. Half the crust is stuck to the bottom of the pan. Guess it's on the clearance table.. poo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Easy and excellent! One of the best recipes for lemon bars I have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      I found the original recipe too sweet, so I cut the sugar (for the top) to around 1 1/4 cup, which was good. Other than that, it was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      These are GREAT! Since I made them with my RM in mind (who loves citrus), I increased the fresh juice to 1/2 C and the zest to 1 TBS. Delicious filling, full of tangy, lemony flavor! The crust is fabulous, too-- good enough to stand on its own! Despite the fact that I sprayed my pyrex dish with Pam (I wiped off the excess, which may have been a mistake), I still experienced some sticking, especially around the sides. I found that the bars split if sliced and removed from the pan too soon, yet tended to stick even more the longer they cooled in the pan (especially after a night in the fridge). Next time I make them, I will grease and flour the pan, then line it with two overlapping sheets of parchment paper. That way, I can use the paper to lift the bars out of the pan, then peel it away and slice the bars after they've fully cooled. I'm going to give them an hour to cool next time, since they were still a bit fragile after just 30 minutes (and naturally, we couldn't WAIT to eat them!). Many thanks for a terrific recipe. I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      The taste is excellent! However, I had the same problem as others ... the bars stuck to the pan. Next time I will Pam the pan first. Additionally, they need to have the powdered sugar top as they aren't pretty with the leeching effect of the base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Made these to take to friends on the week-end and they were gone in no time.Will make them again for sure.I also put extra lemonzest in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

    • on January 06, 2006

      Wow! I never knew what lemon bars were comprised of. I thought they were just some canned lemon gooiness. I was surprised to see that I had every ingredient (including real lemons) on hand and that I was able to make these so easily! They were great!! Made me feel like a real Martha Stewart. Oh - spray or grease the pan before pressing in the crust. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      So easy and so yummy! I followed another reviewer and used the zest of a whole lemon - perfect. Also, I made the mistake of softening the butter before mixing (which made patting the sticky dough very tricky). I liked that this recipe did not require any equipment. Simple to make yet so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      These are perfect. I chose to use the zest and will do so in the future as it added so much flavor. Very rich but very delicious. Sliced beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    39%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 262.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites