250 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've gotten rave reviews by both my Dad and my MIL on these! They are the best lemon bars I've made--a good combination of sweet and tart with a good, tasty, sturdy crust. I followed the advice of another on using tin foil and greasing the pan well. They were still a bit difficult to remove in one corner. A few had to be sacrificed to the cook! ;) Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky Fizgig February 10, 2010

We really liked these. Everyone though they were great, but I thought they were a little it sweet. I added just under a half cup of lemon juice, but I think next time I'll add a full half cup and cut back on the sugar by a half cup. I accidentally added 1/3 cup of flour but it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I didn't sprinkle the powdered sugar on top, as I didn't want to make them any sweeter. They were super easy and I'll probably be making them again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM February 07, 2010

These weren't quite as lemony tart as I like my lemon bars to be, and I even added an extra two teaspoons of lemon juice. But the crust is VERY good. I would suggest making twice or at least 1 1/2 times the filling as I found it too crusty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali February 07, 2010

o my god these are SOOOOO amazing!! love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Care Bear Caroline February 01, 2010

These lemon bars are excellent! I have made them twice since the holidays, and they are gobbled up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jnet704 January 16, 2010

These really are the best lemon bars I've ever had. They are SO soft and so deliciously sweet, and taste just lemon-y enough. I also use the rind of a whole lemon. These are fantastic and a hit whenever I take them anywhere - family get togethers or work events.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheltiechick December 22, 2009

These taste like lemon at all, and I didn't like the eggy taste they did have. Followed all directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rondastar December 17, 2009

These are really sweet but delicious. I lined the pan with foil and the outside rows all stuck so couldn't use them for serving, but still fine for us to eat! Next time I would try pressing the crust up the sides of the pan to eliminate more of the sticking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akaiserbun December 06, 2009

This recipes is the same as the one passed down through my family from my great aunt. We love it. To make these easier to plate up, we always leave about a 1/2 inch all the way around the edge of the pan when we cut them. (That means I get all those delicious crunchy edges for myself. They have always been my favorite part!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom December 03, 2009

I absolutely loved the flavor of these bars. However, my bars never set up either. I'm not sure if its because my eggs were quite large (farm fresh) or what but it was runny when I cut into them the next day. We still ate them and enjoyed them very much. I love lemon anything so I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 03, 2009
Lemon Bars