258 Reviews

I had a little trouble with all the sifting because I made a massive mess ;) . Seriously, though, the only problem I had was that they stuck to the pan a bit because the cooled crust had spaces around the edges. I will just grease the pan next time. Other than that, I found them extremely sweet. I had a couple of guests tell me that lemon bars are always that sweet. I might try other recipes, but this one will probably be used again. They certainly are addictive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch April 14, 2010

Great. I added about 1/2 Cup finley crushed vanilla wafers into crust mixture. They are Very tasty! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny April 10, 2010

Just made these and the filling was awesome. My crust got really dark and hard--most likely my problem and not the recipe--but the lemon filling was really good. Will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
American in france March 30, 2010

Delicious! I mixed the crust in a food processor and it turned out beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Killerkitn March 23, 2010

This is a great lemon bar recipe! I like that the crust is a bit thicker than some others I've tried. Like other reviewers suggested, I added a bit more lemon juice than the recipe called for, and it came out with the perfect blend of sweet and tangy. I even overbaked it by accident and was worried it would be ruined, but aside from the top being slightly crisp it still tasted divine! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nolan'sMom March 17, 2010

My Aunt Loydean has made these bars ever since I can remember, everyone always looks forward to these at family get togethers. She only uses 2 tbs flour in her lemon filling (it makes it a bit more gooey!) and she has never used lemon rind, but I think I am going to try it next time. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! March 07, 2010

Lemony heaven! I was disappointed that my store was out of the lemon bar mix so I got on Recipezaar and found this recipe. Wow! It is delicious! I took the advice of others and beat my eggs longer...I also used 1/2 c. lemon juice because I like it lemony. These won't last a day at our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SooZeeQ February 15, 2010

OK, but not lemony enough for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sitka Sound February 12, 2010

I've gotten rave reviews by both my Dad and my MIL on these! They are the best lemon bars I've made--a good combination of sweet and tart with a good, tasty, sturdy crust. I followed the advice of another on using tin foil and greasing the pan well. They were still a bit difficult to remove in one corner. A few had to be sacrificed to the cook! ;) Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky Fizgig February 10, 2010

We really liked these. Everyone though they were great, but I thought they were a little it sweet. I added just under a half cup of lemon juice, but I think next time I'll add a full half cup and cut back on the sugar by a half cup. I accidentally added 1/3 cup of flour but it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I didn't sprinkle the powdered sugar on top, as I didn't want to make them any sweeter. They were super easy and I'll probably be making them again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM February 07, 2010
Lemon Bars