Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2009

      Taking other's suggestions; I used 1/2 c. lemon juice, the zest of one lemon, and beat the eggs for about 7 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I did not cool the crust before adding & baking the filling. They turned out great! They were completely set after 25 minutes in the oven. I think it helped to add the filling when the crust was still hot. I also lined the pan with foil (sprayed lightly with pam), leaving the edges long so that I could use the foil to lift the bars out of the pan once chilled. I do this with a lot of baked goods, so that I can put them on a cutting board and use a large, straight pizza cutter to cut them into nice bars. I found that they were easier to lift out and cut if they were chilled. Once lifted out of the pan and cut, I then let them come to room temperature before dusting with powdered sugar and serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Absolutely delicious. I too increased the lemon zest, using the zest of one lemon. Nothing else to change. Easy and the taste is divine. As suggested by Mirj might give orange a go next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      "I BETCHA CAN'T EAT JUST ONE" These are not only EASY but if you like the taste of real lemon this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      Di, I made these for my brothers fiancee, she just had minor surgery. So do you think she will notice the 3 that are missing? I had to taste them to be sure they were delicious! And then I got a tall glass of milk and helped myself to 2 more, heck it's the thought that counts :-) Great, simple, delicious recipe, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      Hi Diana, I made these tonight for my hubby for a special treat, he loves lemon. These were just perfect, not too tart and not too sweet, just PERFECT. Thank you for sharing it with the Zaar family. I'll make this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This is a very good, very dependable recipe. I'm actually reviewing a duplicate of this recipe which has since been deleted from the site. The only differences were that the butter in the crust was melted (which makes it very easy to incorporate) and he specified a glass baking dish. I used bottled juice and omitted the zest and it came out fine; however, next time I will use fresh lemons and include the zest (it was a last minute baking need). This sets up fairly soft (don't stack the bars). If you have trouble with this recipe not setting up, try moving your oven rack higher in the oven by one position.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      wonderful and i can't stop eating them. it's a good thing i doubled it and made two 9x13's!! i used fresh meyers lemon juice from my tree and the lemon flavor was great - lemony, a little sweet and a little tart. i'll be making these over and over again. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      This is like heaven in a pan. I made them last night and just woke up and had one and then two pieces, I had to sneak away and write you a review because I am just going to go back and have another piece. These are delicious, they just melt in your mouth the lemon flavor is just right not to much not to little. Thank you so much for posting this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      Really delicious. I used freshly squeezed lemon juice and you could really taste the difference. My sister-in-law wouldn't wait for me to cut it into squares, she was scooping it out with a spoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Definitely an addiction for my family. These lemon bars are fabulous. Sweet-tart, just the way we like em. Thanks Diana. Definitely can't eat just one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      Fantabulous! That is what one of my guests said when he tried these. They are very delicious and so easy to make - thanks Diana for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      My first attempt at lemon bars and I thought they turned out pretty well. I followed the recommendations of several reviewers 1) I beat the eggs by themselves for approximately 7 minutes until they were frothy and then I added the remaining ingredients according to the recipe and the lemon filling cooked and set nicely in the recommended cooking time 2) I increased the zest to one whole lemon, I used 1/2 cup lemon juice (half fresh-squeezed, half from a bottle) and I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, which resulted in a tart, lemony bar and 3) I used a glass baking dish which seemed to help with the sticking problem, although it was still a delicate process in getting them out of the pan. I did run a knife around the edge right after I took them out of the oven. I let them cool in the pan for approximately 1 hour before attempting to cut them and that seemed to work pretty well. Going forward, I will probably lightly grease the pan, but it was certainly doable in the glass dish. While I could have served without the dusting of powdered sugar, the bar looked a bit bare without the topping. This is definitely a recipe I will keep on hand as it was relatively easy to put together and the result was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      I followed the recipe exactly. The crust was fine but the lemon topping did not set up. I left it 10 extra minutes and it was still runny. Then I couldn't get it out of the pan. The crust stuck. Overall it was not an attractive dessert. The taste made up for the difficulties. I used freshly squeezed juice. It was good just not a 5 star recipe for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Good, but not perfect. The only changes I made were to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (plenty) and not cool the crust before pouring the filling over and putting it back in the oven.

      The recipe would be perfect if the crust were halved (or even less) and the filling doubled. I will make this again, but with this change. The flavor of the filling was nearly perfect; there just wasn't nearly enough of it to balance out the very thick crust.

      Thank you for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Love these! I was torn about which recipe to try since there are so many on this site and another site I frequent. I'm very happy I chose this recipe. When eating them while still warm (by the spoonful) I thought they might be too sweet but the next day they were perfect. I sprayed the glass 9x13 with Pam and they didn't stick on the bottom but the sides did so next time I'll use parchment paper. I thought the crust was perfect for the size of the pan and was thicker than I first thought. I used the zest of 1 lemon and used the juice from 3 large lemons which still was just over 1/2 cup. I took another reviewer's advice and mixed the eggs with the mixer for 7-8 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I'm not 100% sure I needed to mix it that long since it looked the same after about 4 minutes of mixing but I'm not a skilled cook so I kept mixing. Very happy with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Very good! This was my first attempt at making lemon bars. I loved the crust, but the lemon filling could be more lemony for my tastes. I definitely prefer my lemon desserts to be on the tart side. Next time, I would at least double the amount of lemon juice and maybe decrease the sugar a bit. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      These are so good!! Easy to make, and they taste great. Just the right amount of tartness for our tastes. I made exactly as directed and will definately make again. The only problem I had was that the sides stuck to the pan so I'll do as another reviewer suggested and use parchment paper next time, instead of just greasing the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      I, too, added more lemon juice (1/2 c total) and more zest (1 T). I did not let the crust cool before baking the filling. The hot crust helps cook the filling, just like with meringue! I used fresh lemon juice and zest from Meyer lemons.
      They were delicious with these modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      These are amazing! Not that you need another review saying so ;) But I do agree with some of the other reviewers - the crust to filling ratio is a bit off. Don't get me wrong, it's still absolutely delicious! But I think I will play with it a little to get a little less crust and. I decreased the sugar a little, and it is still plenty sweet enough. Might even decrease that a bit more next time. I also used dried lemon peel, and will probably leave that out in the future. I'm sure it added flavor, I'm just not so sure I like the texture it added. I fed these to four other people, and they all said they were incredible! Will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I made this last night for a potluck and didn't bring it to the poluck because I was embarrassed of the taste. It turned out horribly and I made almost exactly as the recipe was written. My only difference was that I used splenda instead of powdered sugar in the base. the base was too think and the top wasn't enough. I think it will taste better if the top part is doubled and the base is halved. Also the cooking time was way too long. If I make again, which I haven't decided if I will, I will start checking the base at about the 10 min marker. The top also needed way less cooking time. Ther recipe wasn't at all like a luscious lemon bar, but with tweaking there is promise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    39%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 262.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes