Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2008

      These are incredible. I've made them ever since the book came out! Everyone always asks for the recipe. Follow the recipe exactly. Lemon juice from a bottle is not the same as freshly squeezed lemon juice. I tried. It sucked. It's a pain to squeeze all the lemons, but totally worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I absolutely loved this recipe. I made this last night and it turned out great. I had no problems making it. The only thing I didn't do was dump the dough onto a board since I didn't want to dirty anything else. :) So, all I did was put flour on my hands and gather it while it was still in the bowl then put in the dish and spread it out and it worked perfectly. One less thing to dirty. Anyway, they are the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      A very simple recipe, and the lemon filling tastes so fresh and delicious. I did have trouble with the crust. I wasn't sure if the ingredient list was exactly right, or if I did something wrong. It did not come together in a ball - it was still like the powdery pea stage of a pie crust before you add water. So, I added some water and I was able to gather in a ball to get it into the pan to press into a crust, but it didn't seem right. It tasted fine in the final product, though, and the lemon filling is outstanding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      These truly are perfect lemon bars: simple, delicious, perfect texture and good ratio of curd to crust. Everyone at church said these were the best lemon bars ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      So, so good! This is my new recipe for lemon bars. My Meyer lemon tree is going crazy, so have been looking for great ways to use the fruit. These bars were definitely a good pick. I messed up and used a 15x10 jelly roll pan, which I only realized after baking the crust. My bars were thinner than intended but still had plenty of lemon flavor. I can only imagine the bars would be even more delicious with a thicker tart lemon layer. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      So delicious and lemony! I skipped the chilling time for the crust...but otherwise, followed the recipe. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      I used Meyer lemons, just because that's what I had. These are delicious and rich lemon bars. I found the cooking times, both for the crust and for the filling, to be a bit longer than stated in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I love this recipe. Best lemon bars I've ever had, period. They're sweet without losing the zing from the lemons. I didn't chill the crust before baking it, maybe next time I will, but I wish there was a minimum time allotted for chilling. Then again all the zesting and juicing leaves plenty of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Absolutely the best lemon bars ever! I have used this recipe for years and I love the thick, almost custard style filling. I made them for my lemon lover husband, and found I love them, too! I have used egg substitute for 3 of the eggs without a problem. Also, have filled in with regular lemon juice if my 4-6 lemons did not give enough juice. Although, I would never substitute all bottled lemon juice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      These were a huge hit! I made them for Easter dessert and my husband didn't believe I made them from scratch! The only thing I didn't do was use the zest since it's not something my family likes, other than that I followed it exactly, a little longer cooking time, but that's my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This is a VERY good recipe! The only trouble I had was getting them to set up well. I had to bake them additional 15 minutes, but I think that was an issue with my over, not at all with the recipe. VERY YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      My crust turned out pretty tough. I was slightly disappointed with the way they turned out. But, I guess, since this was the first time I'd ever made lemon bars, I didn't really know what to expect. Juicing the lemons was pretty laborious and I accidentally zested my finger. Oh well, that's what band-aid's and disposable gloves are for. Anyway, contrary to my disappointment, every one who tried them gave them rave reviews. If I ever find myself crazy enough to make lemon bars again, you can bet I'm turning here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      really really delicious. the crust was buttery and crumbly, the lemon part was absolutely amazing. i was going to hunt around for the best lemon bar recipe but i think ill stop at my first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      My favorite lemon bar! My mother started making these and they are by far the best I've ever had!! They are very rich and Yummy!! LOVE them!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I had just received some beautiful lemons from my neighbor, thin skinned and juicy. This is the first time I tried this recipe and it won't be the last. I was out of white sugar, used brown instead and they were perfect. Folks will be getting these in their Christmas boxes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      These lemon bars are to die for!!! Very lemony and sweet at the same time. My 5yr old grandson loved them as well. Very Good!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      These bars are incredible! Made them for the first time for a baby shower I was hosting. I'm always confident with Barefoot Contessa recipes and don't need to try them out before serving them to others. The bars were perfect. I cut them in squares and then halved diagonally to make triangles. Placed them in muffin cups (elongated/flattened a bit to accomodate the big bars). Very pretty display, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      These are my favorite lemon bars/bars ever! The filling is gooey and full of flavor, I wouldn't recomend wrapping these in syran wrap. My only complaint is that these addicting bars are a dieters nightmare, but they are super for a gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Absolutely the best ones I have ever had/made! Great recipe; crust is just right ~ make sure to build up your sides high to hold all the lovely filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      These are the absolute best lemon bars! In past attempts I'd been disappointed with the lemon filling practically disappearing in the crust. These are mammoth size lemon bars with a huge layer of lemon filling. They cut great, too. I'd never make another recipe! Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1859 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.8
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    31%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 89.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 38.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 39.3 g
    157%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites