Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2002

      This recipe is virtually identical to one that I use. Very lemony and delicious! Every potluck I've ever taken this too has resulted in 3-4 requests for the recipe. One thing about them: my dad made them using real lemon juice (I always use concentrate because I'm lazy), and he said they weren't as good; not as lemon flavoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      Tart and sweet in the right proportions for my taste, and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      The recipe is really easy. Although for the person who is not familiar with lemon bars (as I was), I would like to add:
      -don't be afraid of liquid-looking consistency of the filing. I didn't know how it is suppose to look like as there is no description; I got scared and add extra 4 tbsp of flour. The lemon bars still came out good and not too crazy dry. However, next time I will follow the recipe as I want more juicy taste.
      -the taste came out too sweet for me. So, for someone from Europe or with preference about not too sweet dessert, I would recommend on cutting sugar for the filing.. just a little bit.
      Overall, these lemon bars are very tasty and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Luscious and lemony! I tasted the batter, before baking, by microwaving a very small amount in a cup (I don't eat raw eggs). It was lemony enough for me, but if you decide to add more lemon juice, you need to add more flour. I poured the lemony batter directly onto the pipping- hot crust and then covered the pan with vented foil in order to prevent over-browning. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Perfect amount of lemony tang to this bar. Deleted other lemon bars from my cookbook, will be keeping only this one. Incredibly easy to make, really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Fantastic recipe!! I took the advice of another poster and added an extra tablespoon of flour to the filling and they came out perfect! I will use only this recipe from now on. The other recipe I used to make was good, but I couldn't get it to come out just the way I wanted it to, depsite playing with it a bit. So out with the old and in with the new and now the only!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      These are so good! I used the fresh juice from 4 small lemons. I will make these over and over again. Just the right amount of sweet and tart. The crust just melts in your mouth! I've tried a few recipes for lemon bars but this one has been the best so far.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2014

      Never made lemon bars before and was a little scared but they turned out awesome and coworkers raved about them. This is definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Very good lemon bar and I would definitely make these bars again! I thought it had just the right amount of lemony taste and were great right out of the refridgerator! Thank you gardenz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Good recipe. Next time I will bake for 28 minutes or so as the middle wasn't completely done at 25 minutes. We enjoyed this. The kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      This was my first attempt at making Lemon Bars. My Boyfriend loved LOVED them! Thankfully I read a few comments about the lemon batter might be a bit runny and I left it. It turned out great. TY for the recipe!!
      Next time I think I'm going to melt one of the two sticks of butter to make it easier to blend with the flower and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Not very lemony. Rather runny, so I guess I should have added extra flour like others have mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! This is my new favorite recipe for lemon bars. My old recipe was good, but this one is amazing. I did add one thing: sprinkled powdered sugar on the lemon layer when finished baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      GREAT lemon bars! I sprinkled powdered sugar on them as soon as I took them out of the oven. My whole family loved them! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Just made these easy bars! Very Lemony! I sprinkled powdered sugar on the top as soon as they were out of the oven. They are great. Hope they make it to the party I'm bringing them to tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      A co-worker brought these in to our office. She gave us the recipe off the top of her head and they were so delicious that I wanted to search online to find a recipe close to compare with. This is the exact one! They were a piece of Summer Heaven and I am making them this weekend for a family potluck. Recipe in hand for when they ask!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      These were the best lemon bars that I have ever made. I think I liked them the most because they were so easy to cut, which is not the case always with other recipes. I added a tiny bit of lime zest as I had it on hand and I didn't have any actual lemons on hand. Then of course I sprinkled with a little powered sugar. These are best right out of the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      These lemon bars are excellent. I used bottled lemon juice and left out the zest. I will definitely make these again. Everyone that tried these, loved them. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

    • on December 22, 2004

      For the filling, I use 4 eggs, 2 c. sugar, 1/3 c. flour, 1/3 c. fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. lemon zest, and 1 tsp. baking powder. After all the baking, I dust with 3 Tbs. powdered sugar. These have been on our favorites list for years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.5
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    39%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 87.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    77%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes