Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / lemon barley pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    lemon barley pilaf

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      Delightful! I love the texture and flavour of barley, and it sooo good for you too! I cooked this in my rice cooker: I started off the butter and onion, and after about 10 minutes I added the barley and chicken stock. I also added the carrot at this time. Later I lifted the lid briefly and put in the red pepper. For the red pepper, I used some Italian red pepper I roasted and bottled last fall, as red Bell pepper often gives me indigestion. It was perfect! Served with stir-fried cabbage and a broiled pork chop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      A fantastic pilaf that's actually better for you than rice. I especially liked the addition of red bell pepper and thought it separated this recipe from the rest. This is going to become a staple in my house. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Great recipe! I think it might be okay with even 1 cup of pearl barley. Tasty and chewy overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Quite delicious. We didn't have any lemons, so I subbed lemon pepper. I think we'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I made this to go with dinner yesterday and it was the perfect side for our left-over roasted chicken. I did everything exactly as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I liked this recipe quite a bit. However, I didn't really enjoy the lemon zest so I would probably leave it out next time. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      I really enjoyed this, and what put me over from 4 stars to 5 was the flavour imparted by the bay leaf. My changes included onion powder (for hubby's indigestion), ommission of red pepper (personal preference), and I used 1 tablespoon of lemon juice instead of the rind. I served this with Smoked Paprika Chicken Breast and brussels sprouts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      This worked out as a terific side dish with grilled chicken. I really enjoyed all the additional texture and flaver added to the barley by the vegetables. The hint of lemon brought all the flavors together nicely. I'm turning the leftovers into a lunch salad adding in leftover grill vegetables and chicken. Should note that my barley was not even close to done the final rest and I eventually retured it to a low simmer another 10 minutes before adding the vegetables in step 6. Thanks chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2004

      Hello Chia, This dish went along perfectly with your "Classic Brisket-Low Carb Crockpot Version #89148" recipe. The barley was soft, moist and tasty. The carrot and green peppers I used added color and taste to the dish. Thanks for sharing this very good recipe. Skipper/Sy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for lemon barley pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.8
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    19%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 212.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites